We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub in a great location”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Beer
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub in a great location”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Everything is good about Beer, the village that is, and this pub offers good food and drink. The beer garden over the road is the perfect place to relax and a warm day. This place is a must visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    255
    127
    58
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Wonderful location, super service and hearty food menu!
Never fails to please us, will be back again soon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gpd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food - reasonable price”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The view from the beer garden overlooking Beer beach is fantastic. Our food (we all had different things) was lovely and it wasn't expensive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Pretty good pub food”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The pub was busy on Saturday lunchtime and it just wasn't quite warm enough to sit outside in the garden, which was a shame as the setting was much nicer.
Inside it's a fairly typical English pub. The crab (sandwich) was fantastic, very fresh and a generous portion. The more "standard" pub food was OK. Wine was fine and there was a decent selection of beers.
It has the nicest setting in Beer if you are able to sit outside, wrap up well and enjoy the view.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and portions”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to eat and this place was very busy, which means the locals use it, always a good sign. We were not disappointed.
We were found a table in the bar area, then we placed our order at the bar. My husband asked for a recommendation on a not too dry red wine and was directed to one of the cheaper bottles on the menu and offered samples to try to see their suitability.
The food was fantastic. The cheesey garlic bread is highly recommended as it was a large doorstep of a loaf smothered in cheese and garlic and between us more than enough. I had the haddock which covered one end of the plate to the other, the light crispy batter encasing light freshly caught fish with chunky chips and the best mushy peas I've had in a long time. My husband had the sirloin steak which looked a little thin but had a wonderful flavour. We couldn't make the desserts as we were too full but they seemed to have a reasonable selection. The staff were efficient and helpful even bringing a jug of ice water to the table as well as the wine. Will return if we visit the area again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing