We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best B&B we ever stayed in”
Review of Colebrooke House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colebrooke House
Ranked #2 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at Colebrooke house We love it here.
Its set in a beautiful location , a few minutes walk away from the picturesque Beer harbour with the pretty beach huts, deck chairs and fishing boats.
Wendy and Dave always greet you like old friends and you immediately feel at home as soon as you step over the threshold.
The rooms are SO clean , and so spacious and the bathrooms are so prisitine.
The breakfast is divine !
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone and can't wait to go back again .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarebeahodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Colebrooke House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 173 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Colebrook House for one night while on our way down to Cornwall, it was an excellent choice the reception we got from Wendy was first class, and the accomodation was very good value for money. The rooms were spotlessly clean & the rooms are larger than normal B&Bs that we have stayed in before although the only thing wrong was that the room we had, had got a bath with shower attachments for the taps if we had known this before we booked we would have asked for a room with a shower otherwise great. We met Dave the next morning as we arrived late, the breakfast is cooked to order so you may have to wait a while for Wendy to cook it but well worth the wait there is cereal or fresh fruit to tempt your taste buds while you wait, also you are only a short walk away from Beers beach, pubs & a few essential shops & gift shops or you can catch the bus to nearby towns from the bus stop across the road very convienient if you dont feel like driving

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were planning to go to Sidmouth to see the Tour of Britain stage to Haytor on Friday and on Wednesday, not able to get accommodation at Sidmouth, we found this super accommodation in Beer at 10.30pm. The email was answered promptly and we confirmed we would arrive on Thursday. The property was attractive with flowers and the welcome was warm and friendly. Our room was spotless and the bed very comfortable, breakfast was good (including my gluten-free bread) and Wendy and Dave were excellent hosts, who actually served our breakfast early so that we could get into Sidmouth on the Friday morning. I would have no problem recommending this b/b, and would stay there again when in the area, which is a quieter but relaxing part of Devon.

Room Tip: Our double room No.7 was overlooking the road but with the windows open there was no noise problem.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ForceTranquille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We wanted to have a night away for our anniversary and we were delighted that we chose Colebrooke House. The welcome from Dave was spontaneous and friendly. Rooms are spotless and well equipped with modern fittings and equipment. The house is well situated being on the Main Street leading down to the beach. Close to eateries and pubs and of course the shops. Big bonus is you get a free car park permit for the large pay and display car park nearby.

Breakfast was substantial and well cooked and from good fresh produce. Thank you Wendy and Dave for a delightfull B&B experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DariusMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

fabulous stay at dave and wendys b/b couldnt fault it rooms are impeccable breakfast and hospitality really really great been a few times and beer is just like a picture postcard about 8 eating places to choose from and the food there is excellent too will definiately go back

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went the first time to Beer and were very lucky to stay at Wendy & Dave's small and cosy retreat. The hosts are very friendly and helpful in every respect, our room was tidy, clean and nicely furnished. We enjoyed it very much. The breakfast is great, it is freshly prepared according to individual likings. Free parking is available just around the corner. Our hosts know the town and surroundings very well and were able to give valuable hints as to where to go and what to see... We would indeed come back a second time and can very much recommend Colebrook House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having tried other B&B's in the area over the last ten years we will definitely return to this one for our annual week in this lovely seaside village. Dave & Wendy, the owners, are lovely people. Dave takes the breakfast orders and gives us our daily weather forecast while Wendy toils away in the kitchen, producing great food at record breaking speed. Our room couldn't have been better - it was a super triple with a double bed for me and my husband and single bed for our friend which was tucked away around the corner so had a little privacy. The lovely fluffy towels are changed frequently and we loved the seagull and sailing boat ornaments. All in all, a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecily221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
359 reviews
6.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colebrooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colebrooke House

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Price Range: $102 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Local family run,very clean & spacious B&B,with a relaxed atmosphere & close to the beach. Free parking & wi fi. A warm & friendly welcome awaits you at ColebrookeHouse where our aim is to give our guests an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Colebrooke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colebrooke House Beer, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing