We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to stay”
Review of Durham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durham House
Ranked #3 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Durham House; the room was clean and bright and had good facilities. The only minor difficulty was finding space for large suitcases, as we were moving on for a longer holiday afterwards. Breakfasts were fantastic! The English breakfast was perfectly cooked and not at all greasy and there were plenty of other choices including cinnamon french toast with fresh fruit and maple syrup, eggs benedict, and croissants, all of which were equally delicious. Service was efficient and friendly. The parking system worked fine. although the public car park was very busy in the middle of the day, but we always managed to find a space. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
125
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We also stayed when the owners were away arriving for one night on Sunday 29th June and although the place was left in the care of 'youngsters' we couldn't fault it.
Our bags had arrived before us and had been taken upstairs
We had a double room which wasn't en-suite but had a private shower and toilet down the corridor this was reflected in the price £60 b&b and we were told of this in advance. We were walking 60 miles of the coastal path and this was the cheapest and nicest place we stayed - spotlessly clean very tasteful décor and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed, for two nights, at Durham House, a bed and breakfast establishment at the top of Fore Street, Beer. We had booked well in advance and they knew that we were two elderly ladies.
When we arrived, there was nobody at home.
We let ourselves in the front door and eventually discovered a message, addressed to us, which had been blue-tacked to the newel. The proprietors had gone off to America and left the place in charge of some youngsters.
Students, I would guess.
We struggled up the long staircase and along the narrow passage-way with our luggage to find our rooms.
The rooms were clean enough and comfortably furnished except that there was nowhere to rest our suitcases so I moved the tea-tray and placed my case on top of the chest of drawers. The next day, while we were out, the case was placed on the floor and the tea-tray put back in its place.
No doubt they will, one day, find what it’s like to be arthritic and have knees that no longer bend!
My shower didn’t work but was quickly put right.
Breakfast was available from 8.30 - 9.15am and was good. I recommend the toasted cinnamon muffins.
I settled the bill with a cheque and, four days later, I received a phone call to say that they had lost the cheque and would I send another one?
I think I’ll wait to see if it turns up. We were charged £70 per person per night for a double room with single occupancy.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Neesargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartandShell, Owner at Durham House, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
I was so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Durham House and can only apologise sincerely if your visit failed to meet expectations, as your review on Trip Advisor details.
We very rarely leave the guest house during the busy season but unfortunately due to a family bereavement we went to the States at the last-minute so sincerely apologise if we did not have time to make the necessary preparations to make your stay completely hassle-free.
Claire, who we left in charge, is a graduate in her mid-20s who has worked for us and several other guest houses in the village for several months. We feel she did a brilliant job in our absence, under very difficult circumstances, and can only apologise if your visit failed to meet expectations. Claire was joined by local chef Grant in the kitchen, as well as our normal team of housekeepers who work so hard to keep Durham House spic and span.
It was very unfortunate that there was no one around to welcome you personally on arrival - we do try to be here when guests arrive but cannot always guarantee this, especially when we do not have specific arrival times. With regard to the problem with the shower, we were surprised to hear there was anything wrong as both double en suites in the rooms you had have had brand new Mira showers installed this spring but understand it was just that the pull switch was not turned on. And with regard to moving your suitcase from the top of the chest of drawers, I am really sorry if this caused you any problems but unfortunately the antique pine furniture tends to get scratched if cases are placed on top of it so we prefer to keep them on the floor - I am really sorry this made life difficult for you.
On a positive note, we have managed to locate your cheque so as you say there is no need to send another payment.
Again we can only apologise for any disappointment you experienced with your visit - we are so sorry that it did not meet expectations.
Kind regards
Martin and Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We (2 adults and a 12 yr old) unexpectedly stayed here when previous arrangements did not go ahead at another hotel, it was lucky for us! Durham House is a very pleasant and clean B&B, great views, with friendly but not obtrusive hosts. Great breakfast and comfortable beds. Yes the rooms are a little small but on par with many other B&B's across UK, but the positives make up for it! Beer is a beautiful place to stay and would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptrio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We found Durham House to be just as their website says and really enjoyed our two night stay there. We were lucky also to have a parking permit so were able to leave the car in the car park all the visit. Durham House is ideally placed in Beer and the information they put in the room on the area and places to eat was really helpful. We had a newly refurbished room and everything was fresh and clean and included toiletries in the ensuite, something which one doesn't usually get in a B & B and which helps lift Durham House out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed just two nights, and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Read the previous comment about the 'missing' hosts and nothing could be further from the truth. Not that we needed them to be there at every move to look after us, both Martin & Shelley were really friendly and very helpful, not intrusive just there when you needed them and clearly taking a pride in their work. Car Parking can be a little awkward - up the road or pay & display which might not suit everyone. Bed was a comfy double. Room a little small but everything there, TV, en suite, nice tea tray. Two central heating thermostatic radiators to be as hot/cold as you could wish for, and french windows too. You can come and go as you please. Shops are on your doorstep, bus stops/routes nearby. The breakfasts were the highlight. Eggs benedict were just to die for. I have not had such a sublime experience over beakfast since the USA. The egg was perfectly soft and the prime bacon cooked just crispy but still moist and tender - I could go on. Full English was close behind with hash browns, mushrooms, sausage and the works. All just so very well cooked. Value for money was superb. If we had a little grumble it was just the shower being a bit under powered, and a shower cubicle hard to move in & no bath, but that was nitpicking and we were generously proprtioned! If you are prepared to put up with just a few minor negatives you have the trappings of a very good hotel in a cosy room, all for B&B prices. Add a beautiful village and the sea in walking distance, a few good pubs and you could really believe you had gone to heaven. No hesitation in returning, and we hope we do soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lj2740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartandShell, Owner at Durham House, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Many thanks for writing such a great review of your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Durham House and the breakfasts! I also wanted to let you know that the shower in the room that you stayed is currently being taken out and replaced with a larger one - in keeping with showers in other rooms. Thanks again for submitting your review and Shelley and I look forward to welcoming you back to Durham House in the future. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banburyuk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed here 2 nights for a birthday weekend. Picked after reading the reviews. Great, convenient, clean property. We had the room that previous reviewers had commented upon regarding the miniscule ensuite with less than powerful shower! Yes, this was a pain, as was the louvre door which enabled you to hear (and see) your beloved using the toilet! (Perhaps not ideal for those on a 1st weekend away with the love of your life).
However, I feel that this is one of the rooms yet to be updated and otherwise this was a great place to stay. Very cheery young girl serves you breakfast, delicious I may add. We only saw our host on leaving day, where we had to track him down to give payment. On the one hand, very trusting as we did not pay any deposit, on the other, a little strange as a guest in their home....
Would recommend and stay again but perhaps with a slightly more modern bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wifeoftommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
0.0 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colebrooke House
Colebrooke House
#2 of 9 in Beer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#6 of 9 in Beer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pebbles B & B
Pebbles B & B
#4 of 25 in Seaton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham House

Property: Durham House
Address: Durham House Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful bed and breakfast accommodation in the heart of the idyllic fishing village of Beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Durham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham House Beer, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing