We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We shall return”
Review of Anchor Inn Beer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Inn Beer
Ranked #6 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“We shall return”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Anchor. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. The whole place was warm and welcoming. Beer is a delightful little village and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: A seaview room is an added bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdwatcherhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    101
    38
    20
    15
See reviews for
53
201
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Having only to travel a short distance, its unbelievable to realise whats on your doorstep. Food good, accommodation great, setting outstanding, staff (and I mean all staff) superb. If I had one complaint its that we couldnt stay longer. From the first greeting to the final farewell, full of smiles and going that bit extra extra to deliver. Would recommend to anyone, but in particular couples of all ages. My advice would be to deal direct with the hotel, as my only issue came with booking via the parent site (maybe one for you Jim) as it seems to be a generic site for all their premises and doesnt do The Anchor justice as it has its own special menu and and is a level above what you expect when you arrive, which is in no means detrimental to the description listed, its just better - also if booking online there was a slight software hitch, which left the 'extras' being different to what was expected - no fault of the Anchor by the way, and I cant tremember your name young lady, but you know who you are, and JIm you should ask, couldnt do enough, quicker to rectify this - Super experience thanks to all :)

Room Tip: We stayed room 4 top floor, cosy, warm with ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are all so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agios Nikolaos, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We really had an excellent time during Christmas and New Year holidays. The room was excellent with stunning view. We really enjoyed amazing breakfast and the variety of different options for lunch and dinner.
Last but not least people were lovely, helpful and carrying.
We will not forget exceptional service and ambiance on New Year Eve. Fireworks just made it perfect!!!
Enjoyed all foot paths to the nearest towns and really managed to let go of daily routine and gain some stamina.
We will definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nkls_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your Christmas break with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have been to many old english inns but I can say this was the best , good food and very clean everywhere .The staff go the extra mile at all times (well done) especially Anna . Would recommend to all my freinds and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your feed back myself and the team are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This Pub/Hotel is located at the lower end of Beer High Street, right by the harbour. It is a really lovely location, and just a very short stroll down the hill to the water's edge. The hotel is clean and smart and the rooms are comfortable. Most, if not all, rooms have a sea view. The bathrooms are modern and clean, and plenty of fluffy white towels are provided. Tea and coffee facilities are provided in the room and a good wi-fi signal is available free of charge. The pub and restaurant has several seating areas, and has a pleasant 'local pub' atmosphere. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Beer is a very busy village in summer, but out of season is a very pleasant place to visit, with some lovely coastal walks right on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a good sea view, room 5 is one of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripperUK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your feed back, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Booked a stay at the Anchor in Beer, as my husband had got a business trip down in the area.
I knew the village from holidays there as a youngster, and thought it was about time we revisited!
The staff were marvellous, the room was lovely, quite spacious with a nice sea view. We ate in the restaurant, and the food was beautiful.
Breakfast was plentiful, and the creamy porridge was a real winner!
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawny2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, the team and I are so glad you enjoyed everything with your stay and we will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Ok I admit it we have been coming here for many years and I have kept stom about this unspoilt haven in North Devon,It's set on the hill over looking the beach where you can hire self drive boats or even do some chartered deep sea fishing. Old fashioned cafes supply any thing from breakfast to cream teas.
It's just beautiful, the high street has really good restaurants, including seafood and a cracking Indian. The Anchor Inn restaurant is very good, offering great locally sourced produce and top seafood, lunch time why not just sit outside in the garden which is on the cliff over looking the beach and enjoy a crab sandwich, what more could you ask for.
This is not a swanky glass and steel hotel it's not plush, the facilities are lacking in some areas because of its wonderful location, by this I mean no hotel parking,no pool, no lifts and not every room has its own bathroom, it's a pub old style (although not small) clean nicely furnished and very comfortable for reasonable money with great food and wonderful hospitality.
We came back from a trip to South Africa where swanky hotels were the order of the day but after a while it gets on your nerves, the artificial tugging of the forelock, filling your cup up every 5 seconds etc etc so this hotel is run like a tight ship but you never see the crew running around, the rooms are cleaned breakfast is ready flowers are out, its as if ninja warriors are at work.
We often request the room with out its own bathroom ensuite (it's just 10' across the landing) because of its views. I don't really care if I have to dash across the landing in my best PJ's I feel sorry for the unfortunate passing fellow guest but I'm sure with the correct lengthy therapy they will make a partial recovery.
My final comment and sincere thanks go to the proprietor Jim and his very trustworthy staff, I stupidly left a gold bracelet that my wife had made for me, in my room when we checked out, it had fallen on the floor. On the way home I realised it was missing and called the Hotel, they had a been given the bracelet, the room service found it and no problem they would mail it to me ASAP .
The Royal Mail managed to lose it then sent it to a holding point and then eventually back to the hotel, this took weeks of chasing. Eventually Jim had to send it again and success, customer service beyond the call.
Go enjoy this hotel be sure to book in advance or and keep it a secrete.

Room Tip: Room with out ensuite the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stingclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, myself and the team are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
1.7 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
628 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
429 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
280 reviews
6.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Beer

Property: Anchor Inn Beer
Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Inn Beer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchor Inn Beer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Beer Hotel Beer
Anchor Inn Beer Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing