We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jurassic Coastal Path Treat”
Review of Anchor Inn Beer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Inn Beer
Ranked #6 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Jurassic Coastal Path Treat”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Walking the Jurassic Coastal Path to Lyme through the Undercliff and needing a bed for the night the wonderful Anchor Inn had a room. Thank you! Great staff, quality room with a harbour view and excellent breakfast before setting off for another glorious days hike in the sun to Sidmouth.

Beer is an exceptionally good old fashioned English seaside town, with a wonderfully well run beach, gardens and places to explore. Definitely a place to enjoy returning to.

Room Tip: Front is best though there is a beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    94
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
51
193
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

lovely hotel in a lovely location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The large room we had overlooked the beach and was clean. The issue for me was the parking there was non at the Anchor itself you had to use the main pay and display park a few meters away. all in all it was very pleasant stay in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haydn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about what a lovely time you had at the Anchor Inn. Myself and the team are very grateful and look forward to your next visit to Beer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

not a 4 star hotel but room was fine with nice sea view(many do not have sea views).Had dinner but this was really poor,with no care shown.Breakfast was however fine and worth having.In general a nice position near beach but eat out,not in the pub

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and can assure you that all points made have been addressed. All Our rooms have sea view and would hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here and really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a fantastic position overlooking the sea. The staff were welcoming and the food was very good. There is a lovely beer garden to sit in, if and when summer arrives! Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pewter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, General Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Pewter Cheltenham,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us what a lovely time you had at the Anchor Inn. The team and I are very grateful and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Absolutely LOVE this place! The location is amazing on the top of the approach to the beach. There are always interesting things to see and people to talk to. The hotel is so friendly and cosy (three real fires going when we were there over the weekend) and the food is superb with many wonderful fish dishes on the menu. The staff are friendly, courteous and efficient. The rooms are lovely with sea view and comfortable beds. Love it - have been coming here for forty five years but now it is the best it has ever been under new management. (For those who want to know: there is no swimming pool or children's entertainment but hey you have the beach and the great fresh air and nothing else is needed!) A little piece of heaven they call Beer but shhh don't tell everyone or they will all want to come!

Room Tip: The hotel is quite old so the stairs are very steep - there are two floors so if you have difficulty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londoner350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you posted on Trip advisor. The management and all the team are very grateful and it is with comments like these that inspire us here at the Anchor to make every guests stay memorable. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had been waiting for some time for a special deal for B & B - and the wait was worthwhile. A good room (N° 7) at the end of the top floor..no noise from people going past late at night (outside or inside!) nor any noise from the downstairs bar and restaurant.

Staff on reception, in the restaurant and the bar all very friendly and helpful.

The view from the bedroom was as good as we had hoped for. A large comfortable bed, decent sized wordrobe and a good sized shower and w.c. No bath, but that was not a problem. There were two upholstered chairs and a table in the window area - ideal for watching the world go by.

Breakfast was excellent. Fresh fruit, yogurt, juices and cereals on a serve yourself basis. Then a wide choice of cooked items, including the expected "full English", but also kippers, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, eggs benedict etc etc. All freshly prepared.

We also used the restaurant in the evening and the quality of food was just as good.

I believe there is a new Management team here - congratulations all round!

Room Tip: Only seven rooms and I believe they all have sea views - so no need to worry about not getting a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kule Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind and detailed report on our hotel. You are correct there is a new management team in place and we are elated that you enjoyed your stay enough to comment on trip advisor. We have also given your feedback to the kitchen and they were most pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Warm welcome on arrival, stayed in their feature room overlooking the sea, well appointed, clean and very comfortable (well worth the climb up the steep staircase. Unlike other Old English Inns this one went to great lengths to cook their own food taking advantage of the range of sea food available. Recommend the skate wings, the dessert menu was small but made up for minimal choice in size..........wished we had shared a pud! Whilst acknowledging the stay was "out of season" the room took on a cosy feel at night, and a good nights sleep was had with the ocassional sound of lapping sea water. Breakfast was cooked to order and was well presented. Staff very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. We will return. Would also recommend the Devon Cream Team at the Captains Table just up above from the hotel.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a harbour / sea view and are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annjam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colebrooke House
Colebrooke House
#2 of 9 in Beer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Beer

Property: Anchor Inn Beer
Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Inn Beer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchor Inn Beer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Beer Hotel Beer
Anchor Inn Beer Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing