We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome in a traditional old pub”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Heytesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived on Friday 1st November to a brilliant firework display. The landlord gave us a really warm and friendly welcome and this continued throughout the weekend from all the staff. Our room was very comfortable and the food was excellent. It was an ideal location for our visit to Stourhead and we would certainly stay there again. Liz and Chris Stamenkovic

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 157 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed in the family room for two nights whilst visiting the area for a family wedding. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. Martin and co, were very helpful in storing our 17 month old's food and cutlery in the kitchen as well as providing an excellent menu for both small and big people! The breakfast on both days was excellent and really set us up for the days ahead. The garden was a great place for our toddler to run about and play.
Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area, the staff will do their best to make your stay as easy and comfortable as possible!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a week day lunch here. After a friendly greeting we decided to stay for food. The menu provided plenty of choice to suit all tastes. We had a soup of the day and a prawn cocktail for starters followed by a lasagne and a jacket potato with chilli. All arrived in good time, freshly cooked and of a high standard, tasting home cooked. Excellent value considering the standard. This pub is not far off the beaten track from many walks in the area and is definitely worth making a detour for. I believe it features in a 2014 good beer guide too. Most enjoyable, we will visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valashby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Returning to the UK from overseas for a family wedding, The Red Lion proved a very good choice for our family to meet before attending the wedding in the next village the following day. Martin and his family were most hospitable and welcomed us warmly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and were very good value for money. After a very long day travelling, the evening meal was excellent and the friendly atmosphere in the pub rounded off a tiring day. The hearty full English breakfast was excellent with the best home cooked food. Overall, not pretentious but good value for money and certainly worth considering if you are looking for relaxed village accommodation, together with good pub food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Driving along the A36 from Southampton to Bristol my friends and I were feeing quite peckish and in need of a decent pint and some decent grub. But this was at 7pm on a Sunday, and being strangers to the area, the chances of finding both, and in one place, were remote. Resigning ourselves to a drive thru in Warminster we came to the roundabout at the start of the by-pass with a road leading down to Heytesbury. Nothing ventured, nothing gained we drove down to discover The Red Lion, 750 metres from the junction. Not only a fantastic pint of beer but the kitchen was open until 9pm and with a full menu and amazingly priced. Most meals, which were all freshly cooked with home made chips were under a tenner. A real locals pub at locals prices and we were made to feel very welcome. So if you're nearing Warminster, feeling hungry and need of a break and refreshment drive into Heytesbury. The Red Lion is just down on the right. The council have refused to allow the landlord to place a sign post up, so you'll just have to trust me it's there.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank dave3293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just had a very enjoyable overnight stay here. Our room was nicely furnished and decorated with an extremely comfortable bed. All the staff were very friendly and the home cooked food was very good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst helping to relocate a relative from Warminster. Martin and his family really helped to make a tough time far more bare-able, from the warmest of welcomes and the very comfortable, clean rooms, to the great home cooked dinner and hearty breakfast, our stay was faultless. On our first morning we had to leave early so would have missed breakfast (8-9) When this became apparent they immediately offered to start breakfast an hour early so we could all eat, fantastic service.

I noticed some reviews here comparing the food at The Red Lion less favourably with the Angel just down the street. I have been eating at the Angel for over 10 years, and it is consistently excellent, but it is a very different proposition to the the Red Lion. The Angel is top end fine dining, with prices and reputation to match, so the team at the Red Lion have quite sensibly not set up to compete, but to compliment. The food I had at the Red Lion was very well cooked and presented, great value, and most importantly fresh and genuinely home cooked (not that frozen catering crap so many pubs serve up). They even asked how I would like the mash with my Sausage and Mash (creamed or with mustard), the sausages are from a local butcher and were also very good. This sort of attention to detail runs throughout the whole business, and coupled with the friendly staff, really made my stay. I would highly recommend the Red Lion to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samf1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heytesbury
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
622 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#8 of 24 in Warminster
294 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#14 of 24 in Warminster
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#5 of 24 in Warminster
215 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Weymouth Arms
The Weymouth Arms
#4 of 24 in Warminster
154 reviews
3.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: 42A High Street, Heytesbury, Warminster BA12 0EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster > Heytesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heytesbury
Price Range: $84 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional country pub with home cooked pub food, we have a wood fire set in the middle of the bar and offer a good selection of real ales and lagers at a reasonable price. Although we don't have a separate restaurant our guests are welcome to sit in front of the open fire and dine with us. We are known for our excellent friendly service and welcome everyone here. We have 4 letting rooms that are very clean and spacious, our showers are gravity fed so as long as you have a little patience for the water to get hot , they are fine, but if in doubt we are always here to help. Look forward as always to meeting you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Heytesbury
Red Lion Heytesbury
Heytesbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing