We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people and great food”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Heytesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great people and great food”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Really nice people and great food. The rooms were comfortable too. I had heard the hot water didn't work here but it was fine. You just had to let the tap run for a few minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire2983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    44
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at the Red Lion. We stayed in the family room and found it very comfortable, and the breakfasts were really delicious. Very friendly owners I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

At last, the Red Lion has someone who cares.
The beer is well kept and one is guaranteed to be local
The food is very good, a small menu but well put together and the meal we had recently was extremely good
There is a good selection of very moderately priced red and white wines
The owner and staff are friendly and helpful
The rooms are fairly priced
The garden is pleasant and runs down to a river and is large enough for outdoor functions like beer festivals
There is a childrens play area
There is parking behind the pub for a dozen cars
If you're close by and in search of a pub/rooms I don't think ou could do much better than drop in on Mike and his family

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I came to the pub on Saturday evening with my boyfriend who lives close by and had a lovely time! The food was brilliant. Very great value for money. I will definitely come here again and have something to eat. The atmosphere is really chilled and welcoming and the staff are very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here in august for 4 nights and had a lovely stay, all the staff were very helpful.
Food was good traditional pub grub we ate here 3 out of the four nights. We tried the pub down the road the Angel and found it over priced and unfriendly.
We are coming back to the area next year and hope we can stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbob666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

A friend and I recently spent a month at the Penney Cottage in Heytesbury, Wiltshire, UK, and we had the experience of a lifetime. We found the people charming and always wanting to help ensure that we saw the most we possibly could see, even inviting us into their homes for tea.
As one can expect, we frequented the two pubs in Heytesbury quite often, and we cannot say enough about The Red Lion. First, the food was excellent, and we managed to eat nearly everything on their menu during the course of a month! Secondly, Everyone there was friendly and welcoming, from owner Nick to server Tracey to Chef Mike - when requested, they prepared food made-to-order. Favorites included the veggie pasta, salads, eggs and Wiltshire ham, Ploughman's sandwich, & banger's and mash.
We felt we had become "family" there and hope that future visitors will try the Red Lion!
Sadly my iPad won't allow importing photos!

Room Tip: We did not stay here but heard other guests commenting on its cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrycox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

POSITIVES - Clean - Car parking facilities.
NEGATIVES - The initial greeting was lacklustre to say the least. Despite the mandatory warning above the bathroom taps about HOT water we had to bring to the management's attention that there was NO hot water available. We were not the only guests to flag this up. The pub food was a classic case of maximising profit at minimum cost - £8.50 for basic shop bought economy frozen fare is simply not on. The pub lacked any sort of atmosphere and if it wasn't for the fact that we were tired from our journey then we would have chosen to eat our evening meal elsewhere. The breakfast was adequate but average without any effort to provide fresh fruit as an alternative to the limited selection of unimaginative cereals. OK to use as a simple B+B stopover but not if you are looking for good quality home cooked food.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heytesbury
1.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
845 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#7 of 24 in Warminster
240 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Weymouth Arms
The Weymouth Arms
#4 of 24 in Warminster
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
192 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#5 of 24 in Warminster
192 reviews
3.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: 42A High Street, Heytesbury, Warminster BA12 0EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster > Heytesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heytesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional country pub with home cooked pub food, we have a wood fire set in the middle of the bar and offer a good selection of real ales and lagers at a reasonable price. Although we don't have a separate restaurant our guests are welcome to sit in front of the open fire and dine with us. We are known for our excellent friendly service and welcome everyone here. We have 4 letting rooms that are very clean and spacious, our showers are gravity fed so as long as you have a little patience for the water to get hot , they are fine, but if in doubt we are always here to help. Look forward as always to meeting you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Heytesbury
Red Lion Heytesbury
Heytesbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing