We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under New Management”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Heytesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

At last, the Red Lion has someone who cares.
The beer is well kept and one is guaranteed to be local
The food is very good, a small menu but well put together and the meal we had recently was extremely good
There is a good selection of very moderately priced red and white wines
The owner and staff are friendly and helpful
The rooms are fairly priced
The garden is pleasant and runs down to a river and is large enough for outdoor functions like beer festivals
There is a childrens play area
There is parking behind the pub for a dozen cars
If you're close by and in search of a pub/rooms I don't think ou could do much better than drop in on Mike and his family

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 158 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

I came to the pub on Saturday evening with my boyfriend who lives close by and had a lovely time! The food was brilliant. Very great value for money. I will definitely come here again and have something to eat. The atmosphere is really chilled and welcoming and the staff are very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here in august for 4 nights and had a lovely stay, all the staff were very helpful.
Food was good traditional pub grub we ate here 3 out of the four nights. We tried the pub down the road the Angel and found it over priced and unfriendly.
We are coming back to the area next year and hope we can stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbob666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

A friend and I recently spent a month at the Penney Cottage in Heytesbury, Wiltshire, UK, and we had the experience of a lifetime. We found the people charming and always wanting to help ensure that we saw the most we possibly could see, even inviting us into their homes for tea.
As one can expect, we frequented the two pubs in Heytesbury quite often, and we cannot say enough about The Red Lion. First, the food was excellent, and we managed to eat nearly everything on their menu during the course of a month! Secondly, Everyone there was friendly and welcoming, from owner Nick to server Tracey to Chef Mike - when requested, they prepared food made-to-order. Favorites included the veggie pasta, salads, eggs and Wiltshire ham, Ploughman's sandwich, & banger's and mash.
We felt we had become "family" there and hope that future visitors will try the Red Lion!
Sadly my iPad won't allow importing photos!

Room Tip: We did not stay here but heard other guests commenting on its cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherrycox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

POSITIVES - Clean - Car parking facilities.
NEGATIVES - The initial greeting was lacklustre to say the least. Despite the mandatory warning above the bathroom taps about HOT water we had to bring to the management's attention that there was NO hot water available. We were not the only guests to flag this up. The pub food was a classic case of maximising profit at minimum cost - £8.50 for basic shop bought economy frozen fare is simply not on. The pub lacked any sort of atmosphere and if it wasn't for the fact that we were tired from our journey then we would have chosen to eat our evening meal elsewhere. The breakfast was adequate but average without any effort to provide fresh fruit as an alternative to the limited selection of unimaginative cereals. OK to use as a simple B+B stopover but not if you are looking for good quality home cooked food.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runningw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Excellent customer service, helpful friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. The room was a twin, the bed I slept in was comfortable, the room was clean and the shower good. Plenty of tea coffee and biscuits etc. Breakfast was excellent and the evening menu was ample.
The restaurant was closed on the Sunday I was there but the manager helpfully gave me details and directions to a nearby restaurant which was excellent as well
Would definitely use again if I was in the area on business

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theknightsthatgonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed two nights for a weekend in Longleat. The hotel is very close to the safari park and has one family room which, unusually, contains 4 beds (a double & three singles). There is freeview and a DVD player in the room. This is a small property and service is fairly personal.
Overall the room is very good and we appreciated the fact we could all be in one room. The only downsides were a less than gushing shower and the lack of a mixer tap on the washbasin which, when combined with really hot water, was not the best arrangement.
Breakfast was good and the lady serving took a delight in meeting the guests. The only downsides here were that, given teh small number of guests, the kitchen seemed to struggle a little and the cutlery was not always very clean.
The food in the pub was mostly frozen & re-heated but was adequete.
The atmosphere in the bar was quiet & pleasant.
Generally, the property needs some upkeep in certain areas - specifically the bar and the garden - maybe this is planned as some parts had been re-furbished already.

Room Tip: If you have a family of 5 book the family room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heytesbury
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
627 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#8 of 24 in Warminster
301 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#15 of 24 in Warminster
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#4 of 24 in Warminster
217 reviews
3.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
338 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: 42A High Street, Heytesbury, Warminster BA12 0EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster > Heytesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heytesbury
Price Range: $82 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional country pub with home cooked pub food, we have a wood fire set in the middle of the bar and offer a good selection of real ales and lagers at a reasonable price. Although we don't have a separate restaurant our guests are welcome to sit in front of the open fire and dine with us. We are known for our excellent friendly service and welcome everyone here. We have 4 letting rooms that are very clean and spacious, our showers are gravity fed so as long as you have a little patience for the water to get hot , they are fine, but if in doubt we are always here to help. Look forward as always to meeting you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Heytesbury
Red Lion Heytesbury
Heytesbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing