We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Red Lion Pub Rocks!”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Heytesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Red Lion Pub Rocks!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

A friend and I recently spent a month at the Penney Cottage in Heytesbury, Wiltshire, UK, and we had the experience of a lifetime. We found the people charming and always wanting to help ensure that we saw the most we possibly could see, even inviting us into their homes for tea.
As one can expect, we frequented the two pubs in Heytesbury quite often, and we cannot say enough about The Red Lion. First, the food was excellent, and we managed to eat nearly everything on their menu during the course of a month! Secondly, Everyone there was friendly and welcoming, from owner Nick to server Tracey to Chef Mike - when requested, they prepared food made-to-order. Favorites included the veggie pasta, salads, eggs and Wiltshire ham, Ploughman's sandwich, & banger's and mash.
We felt we had become "family" there and hope that future visitors will try the Red Lion!
Sadly my iPad won't allow importing photos!

Room Tip: We did not stay here but heard other guests commenting on its cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrycox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    43
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

POSITIVES - Clean - Car parking facilities.
NEGATIVES - The initial greeting was lacklustre to say the least. Despite the mandatory warning above the bathroom taps about HOT water we had to bring to the management's attention that there was NO hot water available. We were not the only guests to flag this up. The pub food was a classic case of maximising profit at minimum cost - £8.50 for basic shop bought economy frozen fare is simply not on. The pub lacked any sort of atmosphere and if it wasn't for the fact that we were tired from our journey then we would have chosen to eat our evening meal elsewhere. The breakfast was adequate but average without any effort to provide fresh fruit as an alternative to the limited selection of unimaginative cereals. OK to use as a simple B+B stopover but not if you are looking for good quality home cooked food.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Excellent customer service, helpful friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. The room was a twin, the bed I slept in was comfortable, the room was clean and the shower good. Plenty of tea coffee and biscuits etc. Breakfast was excellent and the evening menu was ample.
The restaurant was closed on the Sunday I was there but the manager helpfully gave me details and directions to a nearby restaurant which was excellent as well
Would definitely use again if I was in the area on business

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theknightsthatgonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver, Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed two nights for a weekend in Longleat. The hotel is very close to the safari park and has one family room which, unusually, contains 4 beds (a double & three singles). There is freeview and a DVD player in the room. This is a small property and service is fairly personal.
Overall the room is very good and we appreciated the fact we could all be in one room. The only downsides were a less than gushing shower and the lack of a mixer tap on the washbasin which, when combined with really hot water, was not the best arrangement.
Breakfast was good and the lady serving took a delight in meeting the guests. The only downsides here were that, given teh small number of guests, the kitchen seemed to struggle a little and the cutlery was not always very clean.
The food in the pub was mostly frozen & re-heated but was adequete.
The atmosphere in the bar was quiet & pleasant.
Generally, the property needs some upkeep in certain areas - specifically the bar and the garden - maybe this is planned as some parts had been re-furbished already.

Room Tip: If you have a family of 5 book the family room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed for one night at the Red Lion after a visit to Longleat. A quite village pub, it offers excellent value. The room was a good size and very clean. We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening, which was fine and the breakfast was also very good. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Represented excellent value and would return. Would also recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Place was empty at noon except us and one other guest.
We were NOT staying here just eating. It has to be said that for £8.50 for ham egg and chips where the chips were value frozen chips and the ham (Although Wiltshire) could have costed not much more then £1.50 to buy, was a vast waste of money. My wife's burger was as much of a let down too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Easy to find and in a good location for exploring Wiltshire, Dorset, Somerset borders. We were greeted in the bar by a rather confused young man who didn't know what the date was, then having found our booking he took us upstairs but was unsure of which room we were in. The room was clean but small. We had arrived at about 7:15 on a Thursday evening and as the put served food we went down after settling in. The bar was empty and rather tired looking. The food when it arrived was plentiful but could at best be described as 'pub grub'. After a not great night's sleep, the bed was not very comfortable, we went down for breakfast, served in the 'breakfast room' at the back of the building. It was very good and set us up for a busy day being tourists. Didn't bother to eat in the pub the second night; went down to the other end of the village to The Angel food and atmosphere there were very good! As for the Red Lion, well good value for Money we paid £60.00 per night for B&B but probably wouldn't make a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heytesbury
1.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Weymouth Arms
The Weymouth Arms
#4 of 24 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#5 of 24 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#8 of 24 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: 42A High Street, Heytesbury, Warminster BA12 0EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster > Heytesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heytesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional country pub with home cooked pub food, we have a wood fire set in the middle of the bar and offer a good selection of real ales and lagers at a reasonable price. Although we don't have a separate restaurant our guests are welcome to sit in front of the open fire and dine with us. We are known for our excellent friendly service and welcome everyone here. We have 4 letting rooms that are very clean and spacious, our showers are gravity fed so as long as you have a little patience for the water to get hot , they are fine, but if in doubt we are always here to help. Look forward as always to meeting you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Heytesbury
Red Lion Heytesbury
Heytesbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing