We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great place”

The Angel Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Heytesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $58
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a great place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

we have been to this pub on several ocassions, as a couple, family and even for a childrens birthday party and on every ocassion we have felt welcome and well cared for, they seem to be able to take everything in their stride and make everyone feel welcome, we have eaten both in the bar area and in the restaurant and both are great experiences, whether it is for a simple pub meal or something more they do it all well, we will certainly go back again, and although it is not the cheapest in the area it is still value for money, we will certainly be back

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelsavvy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    69
    24
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely steaks - for hearty appetites only!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wonderful food and service - portion sizes very generous and did defeat us. Would recomment skipping a starter if you like desert (or vice versa). We had an early table so the ambiance was initially a little quiet but it soon became very busy and had a lovely buzz.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarwickAvenue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Angel”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

A really good evening at busy Christmas time, we were a foursome and were extremely well looked after and I am particularly hard to feed being wheat free and lactose intolerant! I usually have to pick and choose but not here, they were very accomodating and helpful about ingredients the waitresses knew their stuff. Lovely meal good choices and everything served beautifully. Can't fault it and will certainly be back. We have been several times before but not for a while and I think everything has improved in the last year. The bar was busy, but they were efficient and we did not wait for drinks , as we were dining they offered us our table straight away which was nice as the bar area was noisy. The welcome was professional not frosty as a previous review stated.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pennorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Angle dining experience”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We recently went to this pub for for a Christmas party. The quality of the food was superb with a lovely variety of meals to choose from. The food arrived at the table all together, was hot and presentation was to a high standard. The layout of the table was good, although putting one table for two people in the same room seemed a bit bizarre, and clearly the couple dining at that table felt a little uncomfortable.

The waitress staff worked efficiently throughout the whole evening and were polite.

However, what I do feel marred the evening was the extremely frosty welcome we received from the Bar Manager. There was no welcome, friendly smile or even a hello - it's the simple things that count.

This is a shame, as the quality of the food was so good. However, based on this experience, I will not be returning and neither would I particularly recommend The Angle as I feel that it is important to be welcomed when you go out to a pub/restaurant, rather than be made to feel as if we were an inconvenience!

Reading the other reviews, perhaps it was because it was a party and they prefer smaller groups, who knows!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahSomerset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly with great staff!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This pub serves excellent food we have never had a bad experience here. The starters are great and you can share them. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they have a good choice of wine. We always recommend it to our friends and take our own guests here when we don't want to cook ourselves!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angel Coaching Inn also viewed

Warminster, Wiltshire
Heytesbury, Warminster
 
Warminster, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Angel Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing