We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great meal”
Review of The Bath Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bath Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Crockerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were staying at the nearby Crockerton House for our visit to Longleat and was recommended this pub for our evening meal.
A lovely place with good atmosphere, there weren't many eating in but there were people in the bar area enjoying themselves. Good to see the place busy on a Monday evening.
We didn't order starters but went straight to mains and dessert. Our only minor complaint was that we were given some complimentary bread but this came out right before our mains and given the small size of the tables we struggled to fit everything on. It would have been nice for the bread to come out a bit earlier.
The food was very nice, with myself having the mixed grill and my partner the burger. All well cooked and not overdone.
Service was great, apart from the bread issue and we would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

This pub has a reputation for it's sticky beef dish. So we tried it, for the first time, on a September Saturday evening. It was busy, so were glad we booked at this rural location. The owner chef was in the bar area when we arrived, but no real acknowledgement or greeting by him.......However the bar and waiting staff were on the ball. We had starters of crab salad and goats cheese and we both had the sticky beef accompanied by soft onion mash and veg. All good and appetising, but it was quite expensive for what was really just good pub grub.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScenerySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We attended a wedding dinner this weekend. The staff were superb, very attentive and brilliantly organised. Mass catering is always tricky but the Bath Arms pulled it off with aplomb. Great food, precisely cooked and served at exactly the right temperature. My mackerel starter was fresh and clean. Salmon main was well judged although I was rather envious of the people with sticky beef. Maybe another trip to Crockerton required!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank LoveFoodWithFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have had lunch here on three occasions and always been treated to very good food. A recent meal with four others was no exception. I had crab mayonnaise - rich, 'crabby' and delicious together with a slow roasted shoulder of lamb which came in a huge portion with rather too many vegetables, my only criticism. A decent Rioja went well with the lamb. Including coffee and service, the meal came to about £28 a head. Service, by smart young ladies in long white aprons was attentive but not overpowering. No one felt it necessary to tell us the lamb's name or the provenance of the carrots.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Starkover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited The Bath Arms we ate here a few months back with friends and had a lovely meal, we don't pre-book either.
We went again this weekend, again we didn't pre-book and had a lovely meal
The food was great (they do like their 'sticky' sauce) the pub is really nice with friendly staff
We will be going again for sure

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I recently stayed here whilst visiting longleat with my partner and 2 year old son. The room was fantastic, all we needed and more. We has a brill evening meal, the food was lovely to go with good atmosphere and polite service. Our breakfast was just as good. This is the 2nd time I've stayed here and will be returning. Massive thanks to The Bath Arms for making our stay do enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sorry this review is long overdue. Wedding reception on 5 Jan in pub and a marquee out back. Service was fantastic, food was awesome and the price was very reasonable indeed. What's more, Dean was so laid back during the planning of it all that it made the whole event less stressful for us (well, me the bride!). If you are looking for a country location for a chilled out, fun, unpretentious wedding reception with great food and brilliant service then look no further. Sadly they only have 2 rooms which is a shame because both rooms are decorated very nicely and tastefully. Thanks Dean and the team, from Chris and Toni

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bath Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Arms

Address: Clay Street, Crockerton BA12 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Crockerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crockerton
Price Range: $105 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored country inn in a pretty Wiltshire village, with two fantastic suites. The Bath Arms offers romantic weekending or comfortable executive overnighting. The restaurant offers Great British food in a light and airy dining room. Local ales, roaring fires and great service. Baked Mushroom Welsh Rarebit, Loin of Pork Chop with Black Pudding and Parsnip Puree or Bath Arms Fishcake with Cornish Crab and Broad Beans are a few of the delights that await you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bath Arms Crockerton Hotel Crockerton
The Bath Arms Crockerton, Wiltshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing