We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great But Tired”
Review of The Bath Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crockerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bath Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Crockerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Another great day at the Bath Arms. A top selection of fine local ales, great atmosphere with fantastic company. Friends that have never been before we're all very impressed. I was over joyed that the signature Sticky Beef went down a treat, however they all agreed the old dog is looking a bit tired and needs refreshed!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for The Bath Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 144 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a really good honest, comfortable pub that serves fabulous food using imaginatively prepared quality produce. It has two huge contemporary styled bedrooms with super king sized sleigh beds and walk in showers. The breakfast was outstanding and worth a special mention. Excellent service from the staff, who were enormously friendly and welcoming. We will certainly be returning.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank yaynay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a find! We first visited The Bath Arms for lunch with friends in January 2012, days after they had booked it as the venue for their January 2013 wedding reception, and were highly impressed with the standard of food and the general ambience of the pub. Returning for a 3 day stay for the wedding itself was pure indulgence.

Two rooms - 'Left' and 'Right' - are both extremely well appointed with super king sized beds, a leather settee, more than adequate hanging / storage and plenty of space should there be a requirement to put a Z-bed down etc. The brickwork of the former fireplaces are exposed giving the rooms a warm and rustic feel. The bathrooms are spacious with a sizable walk-in shower and heated granite towel rails.

Inside the pub, the warmth of a fire combines with stonework and wood to create a most inviting atmosphere. Local brewery cask ales compliment a comprehensive wine list but it is the standard of cuisine produced by resident Chef Proprietor Dean that will prompt you to return. Do not miss the Sticky Beef main or if staying overnight, the selection of juices, croissants and full English breakfast presented delightfully amidst a selection of croissants, cereals and juices. The staff are first-rate, friendly and engaging. It was a real pleasure to share a late evening beer with all of them when the evening drew to a close.

For the wedding itself, drinks and innovative canapes were served in the main bar area before guests sat down to the wedding breakfast in a well appointed marquee attached to the rear of the pub. Great food and some terrific wines were delivered by warm, hospitable staff who brought a smile to proceedings with their positive attitude throughout. Engaging Dean in conversation quickly establishes where that drive to excel comes from. All in all, a real gem nestled in the Wiltshire countryside.

Room Tip: Both the rooms available are excellent with wifi throughout.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Second visit here, a great friendly pub and near to Shearwater lakes (good place to walk off a hearty meal!)

The staff were really friendly to welcome us in on a cold night. There was a real sense of pride in the appearance of the restaurant, evident from the way the tables were set and the waitresses were busy polishing glasses. The staff were friendly and attentive throughout.

The food here was fabulous, I measure a good meal by asking could I cook it at home? In this case definitely no. I'm not sure how the bread was baked but I've never tasted any like it.
The main course was accompanied with perfectly cooked veg (rare for pub food!) All ingredients were obviously high quality and prepared with style.

Finally, value for money was great when compared with other pub grub, they could have charged more! (Leave them a good tip!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesirelamd1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The pub itself is a bit tired / 80's ish but you cannot fault either the service from all of the staff or the food. It was amazing. Great choice - high class menu full of taste. Would def use again if came back to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ChunkyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

After spending a lovely day in Bath, We headed for Crockerton. On arrival at the Bath Arms we were confronted by a lovely village guesthouse / pub. We were greeted by a pleasant young man, who showed us to our room or should I say suite! The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. This room had a real American feel, big bed, big shower and big TV - all good. We had provisional booked a table at the restaurant after being recommended by a friend, it didn't disappoint. The menu was very interesting, very traditional but somewhat different. The food, wine and service was first class. On retiring to the bar area we sampled yet another fantastic bottle of wine served by the same pleasant and attentive young men. We had a pleasant conversation with the owner / chef our evening was fulfilled and we didn't think it could get any better. "Breakfast" OMG!!!! My husband and I had a fantastic night and will be returning.

Room Tip: There is only two rooms the Left or Right which makes you stay that extra personal, we stayed in the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelaque S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A lovely old place. Very large bedroom and bathroom. Nicely furnished. The 6ft bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfasts delicious and evening menu was quite varied and meals very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. We used it as a base for visiting Longleat. The Bath Arms is just off the main road passing through Crockerton and the countryside around there is lovely. Plenty of other places to visit. We enjoyed it very much and will definitely return at some time.

Room Tip: Just 2 rooms named left and right
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamDavSalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crockerton
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
594 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
865 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#1 of 3 in Horningsham
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Botany Camping
Botany Camping
#2 of 5 in Warminster
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Arms

Address: Clay Street, Crockerton BA12 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Crockerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crockerton
Price Range: $101 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored country inn in a pretty Wiltshire village, with two fantastic suites. The Bath Arms offers romantic weekending or comfortable executive overnighting. The restaurant offers Great British food in a light and airy dining room. Local ales, roaring fires and great service. Baked Mushroom Welsh Rarebit, Loin of Pork Chop with Black Pudding and Parsnip Puree or Bath Arms Fishcake with Cornish Crab and Broad Beans are a few of the delights that await you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bath Arms Crockerton Hotel Crockerton
The Bath Arms Crockerton, Wiltshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing