We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As lovely as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradise In Portugal
Certificate of Excellence
Frome
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As lovely as ever”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

It had been 16 years since we last spent time at Quinta do Barranco da Estrada and it did not disappoint. Frank and Daniella were perfect hosts. The food, views and company were excellent and we hope not to leave it so long before our next visit.

Room Tip: Lovely rustic rooms with wonderfully views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
158
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Feeling very lucky to have been able to visit the Quinta for a 2nd time, having loved it so much 2 years ago. Great to be back as it gets better and better. So glad Harry the parrot is still entertaining us! Everything else as wonderful as ever - just the place for peace and quiet with the beautiful gardens and stunning lakeside views. Always fun and interesting to chat with other guests at meal-times. Frank and Daniela, with family and staff, looking after us so kindly. We thank you all, see you soon!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PenguinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Blissfully peaceful, but the warmest possible welcome at the end of 4km of bumpy track. Superb location, and utterly charming knowledgeable (bird life and the first world war) eccentric host, Frank, who has put 26 years into building this place and its well deserved reputation.

Daniella, his (Austrian, not as I expected, Portuguese) wife and the lovely, usefully sane one of the partnership is a very good cook, and goes well out of her way to make you comfortable. Thank you, Daniella.

The eating is en famille: all guests round a long table, giving rise to interesting and enjoyable multinational discussions. Memorable, special, very different and already beckoning us back.

Room Tip: Rooms are not huge or luxurious, but the beds are very comfortable, and the shower (most important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanilla99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here as part of a driving tour and the place is a wonderful oasis - lush landscaped gardens with fabulous views of - and access to - the beautiful lake.
Frank and Daniela and their family are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The food is great, too, which is just as well because the remoteness of the location means there are few other options. We shared the dining room with some vegetarians and visitors of many nationalities who all seemed impressed with whatever Daniela offered. Exploring the local countryside, kayaking, stargazing, or just relaxing in a beautiful place - this was an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PianoPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This for us was a trip back to the Alentejo after 35 years absence.
What a wonderful return.
Unspoilt countryside, unique accommodation with fantastic views, birds in all directions and a guy who takes you to see them at 5am in the morning! A lake of your own to swim and sail in and fresh home made food to die for. Frank, Daniella and family welcomed us to their home and didn't stop spoiling us until we left. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Totally brilliant Frank and Daniella are fantastic hosts in a beautiful environment. This is a special place far from the madding crowd.
Lovely food and company. Don't go please as we want to keep this for ourselves and to many people going will be difficult.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howellmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A Beautiful Quinta with just a few rooms in a gorgeous remote setting with amazing gardens and views over the lake. We enjoyed the Lovely dinners and breakfasts, and enjoyed eating with Frank, Danielle and their family and the other guests each evening (quite a new experience on holiday for us, but enjoyed it very much)
My husband is a keen birder, so we took the options of a days birding with Frank which was FANTASTIC. He was extremely knowledgable and very good company, and went out of his way to give him a fantastic day's birding which included Little and Great Bustards, Great Spotted Cuckoo, Calandra Lark, and many others. He also realised I wasn't so keen on the birds myself, but still went out of his way to make sure that I enjoyed the day as well.
All in all a lovely place to stay, and highly recommended for anyone who wants to spend a few days chilling out in beautiful, peaceful part of Portugal with very fine hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara a Velha
24.0 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
276 reviews
18.5 mi away
Macdonald Monchique Resort & Spa
16.4 mi away
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
264 reviews
18.5 mi away
Herdade do Touril
Herdade do Touril
#1 of 12 in Zambujeira do Mar
366 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quinta Do Chocalhinho
Quinta Do Chocalhinho
#2 of 27 in Odemira
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise In Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise In Portugal

Property: Paradise In Portugal
Address: Quinta do Barranco da Estrada, Santa Clara a Velha 7665-880, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Santa Clara a Velha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara a Velha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise In Portugal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of the Quinta is a small, intimate, holiday retreat for peace and relaxation. It boasts a blend of traditional hospitality, "International home-cooking" cuisine and a friendly atmosphere with excellent, friendly service.Set in a beautiful lakeside location, the Quinta is surrounded by unspoiled countryside with a wide variety of wildlife and rare birds in its gardens and surrounding countryside. In short it's Paradise in Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Paradise In Portugal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Barranco Da Estrada Hotel Santa Clara a Velha
Paradise In Portugal Santa Clara a Velha, Alentejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing