We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oscar Suites & Village
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Breakfast wasn't very nice. Food was quite basic. And you have no chance of knowing what some of the food is, because they don't have labels. They may have 5 variations of tzatziki (or something that looks like that), but you need to ask what they are. And the staff are normally so bus, you don't want to ask. I pointed out that it would be a good idea to have labels, and they said it was a great idea, and that they hope to put labels on the next day. But they never did. Though they did keep saying it was a great idea all week.

Breakfast times are also very strict. 0730 - 0930. Try making a piece of toast at 0928, then looking to butter it at 0930. No, you can't do that. They take the butter at 0930, and they just won't let you have it. If you've just finished your breakfast and you fancy a coffee, and it's just gone 0930, don't expect them to let you have milk in it. No, breakfast has finished. No milk. Understand they have rules, but to be that inflexible is just stupid. This happened to us on the Monday morning, and we vowed never to spend any more money in the hotel for the whole week. And we didn't.

The cooked breakfasts made me feel a bit squeamish. The eggs always looked a bit too sloppy. None of it looked really appetizing, so I didn't try much. The cheese and tomato on toast was nice, but there were only 2 pieces of it left. Even though it was only 0900, they didn't bother making any more. They probably wanted us to eat the snotty eggs.

The pool table was 2 euros per game. Never saw anybody play on it all week. if it was 1 euro, then it would get a few plays.

Most of the staff are really nice and friendly, but I think the management could do with using a bit of common sense. The staff would bend over backwards to help you if they could, but they always looked a bit too busy. I think they were just understaffed in general. The beach bar would open about 1100, close for lunch for an hour, open again, and then close for the day about 1500.

Swimming pool was lovely. Normally there were sun loungers available, but towards the end of the week, it was hard to get one. There were towels all over them straight after breakfast, even though people didn't bother using them until 1100 - 1200. The hotel didn't seem to have a policy of encouraging people not to do that. If they did, needless to say, it wasn't enforced.

The rooms were quite nice as well. No complaints there. Fresh bedding and towels quite often. Cleaned and bins emptied often. Kitchen has fridge, microwave and 2 rings. Beds were comfortable. Air con was good. TV was fine, but no English channels.

The WiFi was very poor. It seemed to work in the room on the first day. But from the second day onwards, you had to go and sit by the pool to get a signal. I did mention this to the manageress, she said she'd check, but guess what... nothing was done.

Never tried to have an evening meal there. If it was anything like the breakfast...

Location was good. Right in between Agia Marina and Platanias. Plenty of choice of restaurants, and the beach was only about 3-4 min walk. Plenty of supermarkets, bars, shops and entertainment all close by. Bus stop right outside, with regular buses to Chania town (takes about 30 minutes).

Having said all that, we had a great holiday. We were self catering and were happy to chill by the pool in the day, and go out to eat at night. It's a good hotel with good facilities, I just think they could do with looking after their guests a little bit better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 436 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Me and my husband stayed at Oscar suites and village for our honeymoon in the end of mai 2014. The hotel is like new. The beds are very nice and the rooms are clean and cosy.
The staff is extremely friendly and realy welcoming and Dimitri the hotels owner truly did all in his power to make us feel special and at home.. it´s like home away from home to stay there, par exelans at Oscar suites and village :)
The gardens surrounding the hotel are beautiful and the location of the hotel is fab, just cross a street in front of the hotel and you are at the beach and just a few minutes walk to restaurants and night life.
The restaurant at the hotel, Valentino, is very nice and the the food is soo good. We recommend the Sesar salad :) ..and the breakfast is also very nice :) .. so fresh and fullfilling.

We will definetly be back to Oscar suites and village since we have now fallen in love with Crete ;)

Room Tip: Room 138 had a great veuwe over the upper pool area.. and the sun on its balcany in the end of the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Iris Bjork H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris K, General Manager at Oscar Suites & Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Thank you so much for your review, Iris. It was truly a pleasure to have you and Johannes here at Oscar Suites & Village and I am very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. You are welcome "home" any time :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Oscar Suites and Village. It was our first time in the west of Crete and for a beach holiday this ticked every box. The accommodation is modern, roomy and spotless with a lovely atmosphere amongst lots of flowers. There are two pools with nice bars and plenty of sun beds. The staff were very friendly and keen to assist. The location is great with Platanias a short 10 minute walk away with lots of nice tavernas/restaurants nearby (we liked Olive Tree and EAP) and some good bars (CafeCafe was good). Exploring the old town in Chania was a highlight as was going to Falarnassa beach and lunch at Captain Nikolas fish taverna by the small harbour. Some tips - there are plenty of car hire firms in Agia Marina so there are deals to be had and some beach bars offer free sun beds to their customers. Also for taxi transfers we used taxi4crete - €36 each way to/from airport and very friendly with nice roomy Mercedes. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris K, General Manager at Oscar Suites & Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Thank you for your time to write a review of your experience with Oscar Suites & Village and the surrounding area. We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Absolutely everything about our stay was targeted at a restful relaxing stay. The beds were super comfortable (and we have slept in many beds in Greece to compare). The rtest of the rooms are fantastic, having been recently refurbished to a very high standard and cleaned daily. The pool area although small was perfect for the size of the accommodation and was never over crowded, and there wer always sufficient sunbeds without the usual bunfight. The grouds were well tended and colourful.All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Location could not have been better, many shops, tavernas and bars within short walking distance. The beach was literally across the road and Platanias centre approx 500 metres. There is a bus stop outside the hotel into Chania and across the road coming back so you ask for the Oscar studios stop on the way back.
Finally a visit to Taverna Pirgos is a must for a fantastic meal in a really friendly atmosphere

Room Tip: All rooms are great but ones overlooking the pool are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank thegreatgardini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris K, General Manager at Oscar Suites & Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

We are truly happy to hear that you had a good time while visiting Oscar Suites & Village. There are certainly many nice places to see in the area with delicious food around every corner. It also pleases us to hear that you were satisfied with the sleeping quality of the hotel with our new Coconut mattresses, pillows and duvets.
All the best to you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a wonderfull week in Oscar in June 2014. The hotel has a perfect localization,very close to the beach and tawernas, shops, the bus to Chania and other directions stops just in the front of the hotel (bus stop no. 17, approx 30 minutes from Chania). We had guaranteed,free wifi and A/C with no time limits and tasty breakfast, as in the offer. There is a nice pool with adequate size to the number of guests, the apartments are surrounded with banana trees, flowers, full of green. It's very clean. The studio apartment, we've had was fully furnished,looked like new with a nice spacy bathroom/shower with a hairdryer. The small kitchenette had some basic equipment. There is a new flat Phillips plasma TV with the possibility to plug the USB in, but the channels offer is rather poor - but I didin't go to Crete to look at the TV.There was a possibility to rent safety box in the room with extra pay. The staff and the Manager were very nice and ready to help. I highly recommend Oscar Suites and Village!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris K, General Manager at Oscar Suites & Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Anna, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Oscar Suites & Village and for recommending our hotel to future guests. We are very pleased to hear that you found your stay here comfortable. All the best to you. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Oh my god we went here for dinner whilst the food was ok the service was a joke - our waiter ( it could have been his first day on the job) did not have a clue what the kitchen were offering every question u asked he had to run off to the kitchen to ask - y not take the order then go to the kitchen and then come back if their is a problem. He lent on the table to take the order rather than stand up straight and proud. We finished our meal and it took the owner of the holt to tell him to come clear our plates after 15 mins - we were not asked if we wanted desert. I appreciate island life is slow but this took the piss I would not go back here. Also it looks really bad for what I assume is the owner to sit at a table with friend talking whilst his customers r having a v bad experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris K, General Manager at Oscar Suites & Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to tell you that we always stribe for perfection and we settle with only the best to ensure the satisfaction of our guests and visitors, although we did in fact have a couple of days in that period to hire a new waiter in our restaurant, and it is very unfortunate that you did not have a satisfying experience while dining here.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future to give you a pleasant dining experience while visiting Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Five girls stayed at Oscar we had two rooms for what we payed was well pleased very clean and spacious ,there is two pools very clean and sun loungers were comfy ,the staff were brill very pleasant they even printed our Ryanair vouchers out and arranged our transfers that's what I call service with a smile no bother to staff , loved the area to get around to visit places hope to stay here in the future

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank caroldawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris K, General Manager at Oscar Suites & Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2015

Thank you so much for your review. We truly treasure your kind words.
All the best to you, and take care :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.9 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
439 reviews
103.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
33 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vergina Beach Hotel
Vergina Beach Hotel
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
118 reviews
37 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Suites & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Suites & Village

Address: Agia Marina, Agia Marina, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range: $87 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscar Suites & Village 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oscar Suites & Village is a family hotel near the beach in Agia Marina - Platanias, on the north coast of Crete. Crete is the largest island in Greece and is home to the first civilization in Europe. Oscar Suites & Village hotel is situated just outside Chania, arguably the nicest town in Crete and an excellent base from which to discover the rest of this marvelous historical island. Oscar Suites & Village was completely renovated as a green hotel in 2013, making the facilities energy efficient by using eco-friendly materials. The hotel's two traditional building complexes are surrounded by colorful gardens and exotic trees. The hotel is near the beautiful Agia Marina sandy beach, and the two hotel swimming pools and two children pools make it ideal for families. Oscar Suites & Village also features an Italian pasta & grill restaurant and an up to date gym. The Oscar Suites & Village Hotel's studios, one bedroom apartments & two-bedroom apartments in Agia Marina, Chania all feature fully equipped kitchenettes ideal for a self-catering holiday, and every room offers a unique garden or sea view. Oscar Suites & Village is just a small walk away from the villages of Agia Marina and Platanias where you will find shops, tavernas, nightlife, beach bars and a sandy beach facing the endless horizon of the Aegean Sea. Car rentals, free private parking and airport transfer are available upon request. A bus stop is situated right outside the hotel. Pools Oscar Suites & Village is an Agia Marina Chania hotel with two swimming pools ideal for relaxing and unwinding. Each swimming pool also features a children's pool at the side, as well as a nearby playground to keep younger guests entertained and happy, making this the perfect hotel for families of all ages. To keep you cool under the sun, the Oscar Suites & Village Platanias hotel pool bar offers refreshments and cocktails to enjoy by the pool, as well as light snacks for a bit of sustenance in-between laps of the pool. Valentino pasta & grill Whether you choose us for a quick lunch with your friends or a dinner for that special occasion, we promise to make your stay magical by serving a new experience of tastes and gastronomic delights in a unique environment with striking architecture.Our top priority and passion is to offer a huge variety of mouth-watering flavours that will deliver both temptation and surprise. For us, it is a necessity to use only the finest quality & purest products of the region in our cooking to guarantee absolute satisfaction. Gym The Oscar Suites & Village Gym features all the very latest modern workout equipment. It's the perfect place for guests who want to stay active during their holiday and keep up with their fitness regime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oscar Suites & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Suites & Village Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing