We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is definatelly not a 5 star hotel”
Review of Iolida Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iolida Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2010

In general the hotel is not a 5 star as advertised.
The good things about the hotel

Premises are new (2009) Rooms are Clean,good sea with sand,close to markets and fun areas,private parking, good for people who love alcohol - cheep drinks and nobody care how much noise you make!!!!

the Bad things about the hotel
Chicken house is located next to the hotel smell is terrible !!!!Noisy pool bar, pool water is filthy, food could be better for 1250 euro per week, air-condition system lucks performance,Personel is not experienced (weeping the tables for food remainings with their bare hands!!!) and sometimes they dont pay attention to your comments or needs.
Their motive and that was made clear to us WE CANT PLEASE THEM ALL
Yes But You Still Have To Try.......

Generally its not a 5 star hotel and should not be advertised like this.Part of this responsibility is for the travel agency VERSUS too.
I hope you will in improove soon You dont get my money for another time for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sv1dkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 310 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2010

I was in this hottel like one mounth ago with my family and had a great time. There is very good beach and very good service in the hottel. We was out for food and try some restaurants like Mythos, Raeti, Cactus and some others but they was just OK till to check LOTTOS, coz they have very near foods like our in Sweden. Was for shopping one day in Chania and i like it a lot, is very good town... I coming back next summer.... Malin Swenska

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drenaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We lived in the new part at the upper side of the road. Great view, nice rooms (great bathroom!), and great pool area. The upper pool was nice and quiet, and You could always find free sunbeds. Satisfactory cleaning, and extremely helpful staff all the way!
What was NOT satisfactory was the airconditioning. It is shut down from 17:30 - 21:30 which is unbearable when there are around 40 degrees outside and you just return from the beach/pool! If they need to shut it down they should do it at a time when people are out of their rooms - mid day... The A/C did not provide sufficiently cold air either. I don't think we ever managed to reach below 28 degrees no matter how cool we tried to programme it.
Except from that we had a great stay, and I would absolutely consider going back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
3  Thank LKL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is a very nice hotel! It's one of the few exceptions were the website is inferior to the reality. Especially the new wing is very classy and modern and very close to the beach while quiet. The rooms are very big and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dstavr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We arrived at Iolida Beach Hotel very early in the morning with a group of people to participate in a bridge tournament held in a kretan village. Although the hotel knew our arrival ( the ship is arriving around 6 in the morning) and we had an agreement to be offered breakfast, the restaurant was closed, no coffy was provided and we had to wait for an our and a half for the restaurant to open.(Our rooms were not ready). When that happened, we were charged for the breakfast. In our attempt to complain, the manager himself declared " If you wan a free breakfast, you must pay for the previous night".
That was not the end of it.
The breakfast was unacceptable. No fresh bread, nor any Cretan dishes,( kalitsounia, staka, witch is a Cretan butter), but they offered Italian honey and jam, when the Cretan honey is notoriously fine in quality. Every morning when entering the restaurant, someone blocked your way asking your room number. They were expecting thieves to barge in? Anyway, it felt hostile.
At the beach restaurant they served pizzas, burgers, spaghetti and sandwiches. Not one Cretan dish or product, not even Cretan cheese.
The cleaning ladies started banging there brooms very early in the morning. My friend complained about it in the reception desk and the girl responded : "if you do not like it here, you can pay your bill and leave". By the way, the reception "was out of Crete maps", the hole of our stay (6 days). When asked about the internet, we found they charge 5 euros per our and we know it is free...
I must say for the record, that the rooms were clean and spacious (although the complimentary bath products were not replenished if you did not ask for it) and the location nice (though crowded).
The feeling remained, that all the staff and management were oriented to take the maximum of our money, providing the minimum of service.
In a hard time for Greece we expected high services and hospitality. It is really hard for me to post this review in an international site, about a hotel of my own country. But I must. Mind you all, there are many-many nice hotels and people who run them in Greece.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anima_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The hotel is very nice with wonderfull pools nice beach in front of it and an incredible staff that was very friendly and professional. The breakfast and dinner was very tasty and rich and also very fresh salads and fruit every day. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are huge with a wonderfull view. Thanks to everybody at the hotel for a great week in fantastic Chania.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matheo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank TomekTomek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.3 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#7 of 31 in Agia Marina
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#10 of 31 in Agia Marina
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#15 of 111 in Chania Town
553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
436 reviews
1.5 mi away
Panorama Hotel - Chania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iolida Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iolida Beach Hotel

Address: Agia Marina, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#6 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range: $58 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iolida Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iolida Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iolida Beach Hotel Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing