We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value for a beach holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iolida Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iolida Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great value for a beach holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Iolida has a slightly strange set up, straddling a road although their is a bridge taking you from the main area to the beach and restaurant. The room I stayed is was huge with a kitchen and balcony overlooking the sea. The staff were very helpful, parking and free, high speed wi-fi were included. 30 minutes from Chania airport and 15 from Chania it is slightly away from the action at Chania although their are plenty of local shops and tavernas. Breakfast was served at the beach bar and was simple but typical for local hotels.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    87
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
95
85
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Iolida star, the sister hotel to Iolida beach hotel. The room was nice and clean, we had a little kitchen so we could make coffee in the evening etc. The view was amazing! The hotel is not front row to the beach but still a really nice location. Breakfast at sister hotel was nice. We have been in Agia Marina before and this is the best hotel so far. The only remark I have is that the hotel have alot of stairs so if you have a disability talk to staff before you book.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaSofiaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had an overall great experience at IOLIDA Beach Hotel.
We received the best value for money accommodation, ever, as we were also unexpectantly upgraded from a standard studio to the only studio with private pool, overlooking the public pool. The studio was excellent, as it was very clean and provided all the required amenities (a/c in sitting area and bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, refrigerator, safe, flat satellite tv, free WI-FI, hairdryer, bathrobes, slippers and more).
The hotel staff was in general friendly and helpful but our check-in and check-out receptionist (same person) and the housemaid were exceptional.
The hotel restaurant offers above average quality and variety of food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) but certainly it does not earn 5-stars, except from the sea view.
The location is very good as it is very close to the beach and near to shops, restaurants, supermarkets car-rentals, taxi and bus service, etc.

Room Tip: Good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked the hotel from otel.com for a long weekend in august 13.We knew about the existance of two hotels(iolida beach and village) so we booked a seaview apartment at Iolida BEACH hotel. Upon arrival at the hotel, the receptionist informed as that our room was on the 9th floor on the building on the other side of the street aproximately 300m from the beach.The receptionist with a patronising look said"its well known that the beach part of the hotel is not available for booking by individuals as it is booked by a tour operator for the whole season(all inclusive stay)". The beach view from our room was partly blocked by the freestanding elevator shaft and was messed by the uglyness of the buildings between our room and the sea.
Apart from the false advertising as a Beach hotel(meaning bordering the beach) the room was excellent, as was the service.The food from the menu was good but Breakfast was basic and unimaginative.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charalambos d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

On of the best hotels in Crete, great value for money, great hospitality and fasilities, and most important: the stuff is amazing!!
We warmly recommend to anyone who is look for an affordable luxuriant vacation

Room Tip: Sea view to see sunsets is crucial
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilanit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked the hotel from Hotel.gr for 5 days in June 2013. From both the hotel's website and the hotel.gr's, it claims as a resort "a few steps away" from the beach. We love to be able to walk into the beach from our hotel in "a few steps". Hence, paid extra to reserve a "sea-view" room.

Well, this turned out to be a trap. Once we arrived, we were told that our room was assigned to another building across a busy street. The room was 1513. Once we got in, we have a view of many rooftops and a bit ocean blue far away. Even worse, a big palm tree blocks most of it. We went back to the reception desk (which is in the actual building near the beach) asked if we can change to a real "sea view" room and truly near the beach. We were shocked to hear that all the online bookings will be assigned to the building across the street. Only through certain travel agents, you will have a room "a few steps away from the hotel". Well, then should the wording " a few steps away" be removed from all online booking websites?

After we called the hotel.gr. They finally agreed to settle us in a unblocked sea-view room but still in the building across the street. This happened right after they told us the hotel was fully booked and there is nothing that they can do.

The nightmare is still not over. When we checked out in the early morning, the front desk kept my credit card and did not return to me with the charge receipt. We were in a rush to catch the early boat to Santorini and did not realized it until we wanted to use the credit card to check in the hotel in Santorini. We called them. They first told us that would not be possible and there were no credit card left. Then, finally find my credit card on their desk. I asked them if they can send the card to my hotel. They agreed and promised to have it delivered in the early of 2nd day afternoon. As this is an very important card, we waited and wasted the whole 2nd day afternoon. The card was not delivered! At the noon of the day after, we finally received our card. They charged us 13 euro for the delivery although admitting it is their fault. We have been traveled to many hotels in the world. The experience with Iolida Beach is eye-opening and will absolutely on the top of our "do not go there" list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have seen on the pictures, and some comments, that there is a mix up between Iolida Beach Hotel and Iolida Village. Iolida Beach hotel is situated on the beach, Iolida Village on the other side of the road.
According to their website Iolida Beach is a 5 star hotel. According to my opinion it could maybe be a 4 star hotel. The Lobby is in a modern design, the rooms quite strict, witch I like. But I did not get a feeling for Greece, I felt I could be in any country and that’s a pity.
I did not eat there; I made my own breakfast (the room had a efficient small pantry) so I don’t know anything about the quality of the food. Lobby bar was closed; the beech-bar was open until about 5 in the afternoon. The pool looked okay with sun beds, but why stay there when you have the beach just in front of the hotel!
You can walk for hours on the beach, to Platanis and beyond. Some of the stretches are covered with small stones (like gravel) but here in front of the hotel it’s mostly sand. If I go back to Agia Marina and Crete I will not chose this hotel again because the lack of Greek ambience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HerrSvensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.8 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#7 of 32 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#9 of 32 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 32 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel - Chania
1.7 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 23 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iolida Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iolida Beach Hotel

Property: Iolida Beach Hotel
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#6 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iolida Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Iolida Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iolida Beach Hotel Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing