We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joan and Sancta Marina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Joan and Sancta Marina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very nice staff, friendly, patience. Reception desk was very helpfull with advice for trips..Nice a la carte dinner. Friendly entertainment people. I was feeling at home from the first moment when I was arriving.

Room Tip: Bood a room at sea side, when you don' like to hear the traffic on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank Joan_Stallaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    206
    79
    24
    15
See reviews for
176
190
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Friendly staff, nice beach and in a good place. Also the prices are very good. The staff in pool bar (which we were staying) were very friendly and help us with many informations about the area that we asked. Also the breakfast was great and a la cart restaurant is great.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Dimis89,

Thank you very much for wonderful review and for all of you kind words.

The satisfaction of our guests is the first priority of the management and the staff of our Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit at Crete.

Best regards,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed for 11 days at the Santa Marina Beach in Aghia Marina. The buffet for breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are good but if you have the opportunity book a dinner at their a la carte restaurant.
The atmosphere, the service and the food are just fantastic.

Room Tip: Small rooms but everything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMos1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear PMos 1903

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are really proud to read that you have enjoyed our served food and our Al a carte restaurant that much. Taking the advantage, we would like to inform that all our served dishes are based to Cretan and International cuisine.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

20 years ago we went 4 years in a row to Crete and everytime we stayed in Santa Marina Beach Hotel. This year we decided to go back to this hotel because of the excellent experience we had in the past. And again, after all this time, it felt like coming home. The staff and personnel received us in a very friendly way, the accomodation was excellent. Our stay was all inclusive. The food was excellent and everyday, the choice was very varied. One evening, we ate à la carte in the hotel. The food was of a very high quality, and the personnel at the restaurant were highly qualified and gave us excellent advise about the food and the wine (with special thanks to Hara and Eftihis). Also many thanks to all personnel of the hotel for giving us a splendid holiday :-).
We will be back next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philippemerveille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear philippemerveille,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for all of your kind words.

It was a really pleasure for us to welcome you again after all these years.
Furthermore, we are really proud to read that you felt like your home at our Hotel, and that you enjoyed all of our facilities during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one week, and we took the all-inclusive option.
All the meals and most of the drinks were included, and we were quite satisfied about it.
The staff is very helpful, nice and polite, always with a smile on their faces.
We took the "garden view" room (actually it was "car parking view", but it was not a big deal for us) which is big enough. Bathroom is big enough too. Small issue: the closet is very small.
We always found the room very clean, with new towels everyday (you can also choose not to change them for being environment-friendly).
Food quality is excellent, and the staff of the restaurant is very nice and polite.
You can enjoy the sun both at the swimming pool (but you must go there very early, otherwise you're not gonna find any available chair), or at the beach, where you get chairs and umbrella for a very small fee.
The hotel is in a good position, it is surrounded by shops, markets and pubs, and it's quite close to Chania city and other beautiful beaches, such as Elafonisi, Falasarna and Balos.
During the day you can refresh yourself at the beach bar, and if you don't want to go out at night, you can still enjoy some nice drinks at the main bar.
Finally, we would like to say a big thanks to all the staff, but especially to Giannis, Eftihis, Manousos, Xara and Filio, for always being friendly, and for spending time chatting with us, and giving us good advises about the places to visit.
See you next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Azzurra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Azzurra C,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review!

We are very grateful to people like you who seem to appreciate our hotels' hospitality.

We are quite confident that we will have the chance to see you again in one of your next visits!

Our best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

The hotel rooms are rather tired with a tiny, chipped bath. The hotel is in a good location with some rooms right on the beach and others next to a pool reached by a tunnel under a road. Service was good although the hotel is mostly full of package full board guests so meal times can be very busy. Cleaning of the rooms was not particularly thorough. It was annoying that the hotel charged for wi-fi when most hotels and cafes in Chania offer free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear J L,
Thank you very much for your review.

Regarding your comment for our hotel’s rooms, we are very proud to inform you that our property is one of the 1st hotels in the area of Aghia Marina and one of the oldest resorts in Chania prefecture. Through the years there have been many renovations with the most recent to be in 2007 (interior) and in 2012 (exterior). Additionally, the property is adding new refurbishments and is being modernised every season. However, it is a big property and this process is taking time to get accomplished as it is being done partially.
We are really proud to hear that you found our services very good as it is one of our main targets to preserve it on a high level. Please accept our apologies if you had an unfortunate incidence of cleanliness in your room, however we are convinced to state that they are being cleaned in detail and the feedback scores on their hygiene is very high.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Spent seven days on an all-inclusive deal. This hotel is four stars but only really deserves three. The staff are brilliant and very attentive. The beds and towels are changed every day and the rooms are kept very clean. The baths are tiny and are only useful for standing in whilst showering. The hotel overall is dated and could really do with a refurbishing and updating. The food is of a satisfactory standard but is let down by a hot plate that isn't! The food is never hot irrespective of what meal you attend or what time you intend to eat. Cold fried eggs and cold chips etc are not at all value for money! Paid 15 Euros for what I expected to be free wifi, and had to stand on the balcony to receive internet. Air conditioning is ineffective.
Overall, staff helpful and attentive but food not hot enough.

Room Tip: avoid all-inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Peter F,

Thank you very much for taking time to review us on tripadvisor.

In regards to your comment of the hotel being dated, we can guarantee that there have been many renovations and developments trough the years up to the recent days of its operation. We are very proud to operate one of the 1st hotels Aghia Marina and one of the oldest resorts in Chania prefecture (built in 1978). In a big property such as Santa Marina Beach, the renovations are being done partially and the hotel is being modernized step by step.

The food temperature is being checked various times during the buffet service; however, the management team has already been alerted about your notice.

Generally the air conditioning units are regularly checked and maintained for their effective functioning. However, we would like to have the chance to further check your room’s air conditioning if you could let us know about your experience.

Finally, we really appreciate all the compliments you mention for our staff and the cleanliness level of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at our Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#4 of 22 in Stalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Beach Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Address: Aghia Marina Beach, Agia Marina, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Beach Chania
Santa Marina Beach Hotel Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing