We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice - and living up to expectations as a 4 star ressort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Lyngby, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice - and living up to expectations as a 4 star ressort”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed a week, 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Udsides are friendly staff, nice food, nice sandy beach and cosy surroundings. Downside? Be aware that the hotel is located next to the main coast road. We took half board which is nice and easy. Hotel is recommendable for a relaxing family beach variation with good opportunities for tours e.g. to Chania.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christensen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Christensen25,

Thank you very much for taking time to comment on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoy your stay in our Santa Marina Beach Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    209
    79
    24
    15
See reviews for
179
193
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

-Good location,
-sandy beach,
-tasty food and a lot of it,
-staff speaks good English,
-the reception is very helpful
-clean rooms,
-great atmosphere by the bar, if there is a stool than take a seat. If you have the luck to be served by Eftihis and Stavros don't move anywhere and you will surely have a great and funny evening.
-opposite the hotel a bus stop,
-hotel cooperates with a car rental company (the cheapest one we found)
-lot of shops around
-in the evenings it is a quiet place, but when someone starts to dance they immediately make room for the dance floor, dim the lights and turn up the music,
-plenty of friendly cats around,
-near the air port,
-15 minutes by bus to Chania

Room Tip: The best are the rooms on the second and above floors with the view of the sea. Although the rooms b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarek Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jarek Z

Thank you very much for your excellent scoring review on Tripadvisor.

Your review is great and you describe plainly your experience of your stay in our Santa Marina Beach Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel in the future.

Best regards

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recommend Santa Maria Hotel for those who want to spend a lovely holiday. The location is only 8 km to Chania. It has got beautiful beach with a nice sand and there are no stones. The food is simply fantastic and it varies from day to day. The hotel is clean (room service and fresh towels every day). The hotel staff is really helpful and cares for its customers, they work really hard to make everything work on the higest level. In the evening fora pleasant atmosphere are responsibles barmans in the main bar, especially Eftihis and Stavros who are always charming and make best drinks in the world :) with all colurs of the rainbow included. They create fantstic atmosphere around bar. Special thanks for you guys! Izabela

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izabela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Izabela,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We are really proud when our guests have a pleasant stay in our Santa Marina Beach Hotel.

The management and the staff of our hotel are always doing their best to provide a high level of services to all of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel on your next trip at Crete.

Best regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshman In England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I think the title says it all. An hotel that advertises itself as 4 star but the accommodation in the beach front part of the hotel can only be described as dire. It is old, sparsely furnished and in some bath rooms, if you are tall, you cannot stand up straight and certainly not if standing to take a shower in the one metre long bath. It is a hand shower, but try sitting down to use the hand shower.
The hotel website does not show that the pool is in another complex across a busy main road which is crossed by either traffic dodging on the main Chania road or using the hotels tunnel from the car park. The tunnel leads from the old beach front hotel where the dining facilities are to the new complex and not the beach directly. You have to go down some 25 steps into the tunnel and up another 25 to exit the road tunnel. No good unless you are a fully mobile guest.
WE had a beach front hotel but could not see the beachor sea because of trees that had grown up above the 1st floor level.
There is a nice terrace area with grass inlaid and plenty of seating although much like the hotel beach sunbeds is not in the best condition. Breakfast food is acceptable and can be taken on the terrace alongside the beach and the view is lovely from the terrace front.
The sunbeds are insufficient in number and many are old and broken. If you want a sunbed you need to put your towels down before 7am.The beach is not really cleaned as with other good hotels and if you are a smoker you would hunt for a beach ashtray. Hence many cigarette ends can be found in the sand. The location of the beachfront hotel complex is hard to beat, but the better accommodation is across the road and that means the tunnel or the road if you want your breakfast, the bar or the beach. The beach has many life guard stations and these are needed if the wind gets up only slightly. The water is shallow but big waves build quickly so if you do go here, obey the life guards if you want to be safe.
Would we go back? the answer is yes, BUT not to this hotel,which is the worst we have stayed in and we are luck enough to holiday regularly. I would just finish by saying two more things...be careful this hotel over books, but if you do go you will find the staff cannot be more helpful. Nice people.

Room Tip: If you want to beach front room have the 3rd or 4th floor rooms booked.the balconies on all floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Abercwmboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Ambercwmboi,

Thank you very much for taking time to comment on Tripadvisor.

Firstly, we would like to inform you that the Santa Marina Beach Hotel is a certified 4 star Hotel according the Greek National Tourism Organization.

In reference to your comment that in our website that we do not mention where the pool is, we would like to just copy the following text from our website:

''The hotel is separated into two structures; the beach complex and the pool complex, with a combined total of 188 accommodation units.

At the beach complex, the 24 hour reception and lobby area is spacious, airy and fresh. It has several sitting areas including a warm and cozy fireplace lounge, internet corner and main bar. The main restaurant (buffet) and its outdoor seating areas are steps from the sea. The exclusive Azzuro a la carte restaurant, outdoor bar and children’s playground also enjoy this prime location.

At the pool complex you can swim and sun bathe on beautifully green grounds surrounding the large swimming pool (separate children’s swimming pool) and pool bar. The fitness room is also housed within the pool complex.definitely memntion that the hotel is in two different complex.Secondly, regarding your comment for the tunnel, we woule like to notice that is has been built for safety reasons. You can go from one part of the hotel to another without come out of the hotel area at all. However, the rooms for people with mobility problems are at the main part of the hotel, so they do not need to come across the tunnel if they want to go to the restaurant or at the bar.''

So, from the above we realise that is clearly written there and anybody can read it in advance.

regarding your comment about the tunnel, it has been built for safety reasons as it connects the hotel and our guests can easily pass from the one complex to the other without having to cross the busy main road. However, the rooms for people with mobility problems are at the beach complex of the hotel and these people are being allocated there, so they do not need to come across the tunnel if they want to go to the restaurant or at the bar.

In reference to the trees comment, we would like to inform you that the tree trimming period is at the spring. During this period we are take care of all of the trees around the hotel area and we are also trimming them.

We would like once again to thank you about your review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just returned from the lovely Santa Marina Hotel. For the second time during the season we came there with the family. Why we returned the same hotel? The location is good, the hotel is not big and not small, and the food is various and durable, rooms are clean and beach is long. But first of all the staff makes the place really worthy to come over and over again. All the requests were addressed timely, managers always observing how the staff works and take decision immediately if situation requires. Waiters in the restaurant are supper attentive, friendly and proactive, even the end of the season didn’t kill their ability to smile. Special respect to Artemis. As for entertainment. The only one guy Omar takes care of everything but he is everywhere day and night. Doing aqua gym in the morning, gathering team for beach volleyball, mixing here and there with all the guests regardless of age or nationality. And if you come to the poolside in the evening, be prepared for naughty contests or a crazy disco. Also in the end of the season, when not so many young people are around, come to the main bar, Omar and bartenders (dancing, making cocktails and flirting like hell at the same time )))will cheer you up both if you 20 or 50 y.old. Well done!
All in all, a good hotel with lots of choice to eat and have fun around it. But first of all the staff! Awesome. Thank you, guys! Have good rest and see you next year.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids and spend sufficient time in the room, have a look at Orion mesonettas and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva_Shvedova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Shvedova,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

The best reward for the management and the staff is the satisfaction of our guests; that we realise from your review, it seems that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Santa Marina Beach Hotel next year.
Best regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Superb hotel! 50m from beautiful sandy beach with long the shallow sea entry; sunbeds and parasols available;
Great place for families with children includes playground, great animations and animators (thank you Alexandra!!) for children.
3 swimming pools available incl. 2 small ones great for kids.
Lots of animations for adults too (incl. sports, game plays, shows, dancing and other entertainments).
There is a bus stop next to hotel that takes you to Heraklion in 15min (from there you can catch a ride to Knossos in another 15min);
You can wind/kite surf on windy days (these are the only bad days for small children since the wind causes quite a waves that prevent them from swimming in the sea).
I heard in July/August the there are more windy days - a lot less in September - so you should set the best term depending on what you prefer or what you want to do.
Lots of attractions in the neighborhood too like restaurants, tourist shops, playgrounds for children (some with child keepers); Many cheap car rentals;
Generally hotel itself is marvelous!! Hotel staff is very nice and helpful, room are cleaned every day; bed sheets are changed every 2 days (although they can change it for you every time you ask);
I have never tasted better food!! Congratulations and thanks to cook staff!
Although 90% of hotel guests are French the hotel staff speaks English and German too.
I honestly recommend the hotel both for families/couples with or without children.
Everybody can find something for himself there!
Our 2yo daughter (as well as her parents) did not want to come back home!!
Wish we could stay longer.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view are nice and quiet. Rooms with swimming pools view may be quite noisy on so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariusz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in September which was quite a surprise as we had booked the Santa Marina Plazza just a short walk away, for the reason that we wanted an adults only hotel that would be a quiet and more relaxing place, and because it had fantastic reviews. Due to an error by the travel agent, or so we were told? we were booked into the Santa Marina Beach by mistake. (Not a good start to our holiday), and we could not get into the Plazza because it was fully booked. I have to say that rumors of overbooking in both hotels were common.

Anyway we had no option but to stay and were put in a small room right at the back of the complex over the road. This was a small, dark and not particularly nice room, with two bunk beds as well as two singles, that was clearly not good for a couple. We complained straight away and to their credit our room was changed to a much better pool view room.

The hotel is generally very clean but it is split between two complex's, which are joined by a tunnel under a busy and sometimes noisy road. The pool area is quite large and clean and there is a small bar. In the main complex it is again very clean, and the real positive was the staff, who are all really fantastic, friendly and helpful.

This part of the hotel is right on the beach front and you eat your meals outside, if you wish, in a lovely area overlooking the sea. All very nice. However the hotel is very basic and in need of a revamp in places. The beach is not the cleanest and you have to pay 5 euros a day for the use of two sun loungers, that's if you can get one as many people get up early and put towels on them just like the bad old days in Spain.

The food in the hotel was generally OK. A very good selection both at breakfast and in the evening. We were not all inclusive so I cannot comment on the food at other times of the day. Although there was some hot freshly cooked food,most of the cooked dishes were often cold and not particularly good, although the salads and sweets were excellent. Be warned if it rains and everyone is inside eating it is chaos and very very noisy.

There were a lot of small children there even in mid September. Not that I have any issue with children, but if you want peace and quiet this may not be for you.

Overall this hotel is in my opinion no where near a 4 star hotel, more like a 3 star. It offers fantastic service from the staff, but is just like going to Spain in the 80's. It is very tired in many areas and is on a busy main road.

The resort itself has the benefit of being only a few kilometers away from Chania, which is a lovely place, but other than that it is a small place on a main road, with a small beach, which is not particularly clean, and a selection of taverna's and shops. We found some great little bars with live music, the best of which was Sebastian's, which also served great food.

Would I go back? probably not as there was nothing there other than Chania to make it an attractive holiday. But I would go back to Crete as it is lovely and the people were amongst the friendliest I have met anywhere on holiday.

I hope this is of help to anyone travelling to this resort and hotel. I have tried to be as honest and fair as I can and appreciate that many people may have a different view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea, which will be the quieter rooms with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Paul P
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

Firstly, on behalf of the Santa Marina Plaza hotel, we would like to mention and clear thing out as there was no booking sent to us from your agent. It is obviously the travel agent error and not of the hotel's and that can certified, as the voucher of your original booking was refered to the Hotel Santa Marina Beach, and not to the Santa Marina Luxury Boutique Hotel. It is quite unfair and we will not accept any responsibility for the misunderstanding between your party and your travel agent's.

Regarding your complain about the room, as you already notice, we did upgrade your room category at no extra charge (which is not common), in order to satisfy your needs and because you had already been inconvenienced by the misunderstanding between you and your travel agent.
Regarding the number of the available sunbeds comment, we would like to mention that it is impossible to put as many sunbeds as the number of our guests, due to limitations on the beach capacity available to the hotel. The beach is being cleaned every day and we try to maintain it clean during the day.
However, it is great to hear that you have enjoyed our hospitality and the facilities of our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Santa Marina beach.
Best regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#4 of 22 in Stalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Beach Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Address: Aghia Marina Beach, Agia Marina, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Santa Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Beach Chania
Santa Marina Beach Hotel Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing