We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived after booking with hotelopia only to be told we were being moved to another hotel due to overbooking. I was not impressed as at no point had anyone emailed me to prewarn me . I was very unhappy which the staff were indifferent about eventually I was told I could have a family room for 1 night then would need to pack and move for second night . I found the room clean but good luck trying to have a shower in particular if you are tall it is so small. Had a terrible night sleep as doors have gaps under them and all the noise from neighbours travels in and their activities. We were given no orientation or instructions re half board . We chose to have our dinner there the first night but arrived around 830pm albeit dinner shuts around 930 and hardly no hot food left only salads , lucky I was not hungry. Had the best service by a waitress named Artemis she was a reprieve to the overall service I had experienced. I went to the reception and waited 15m to talk to the reception who didn't realise I spoke Greek fluently and she persisted to talk to her friend and ignore me . I gave up and we decided to eat and be entertained elsewhere, beach Is lovely but hard to get sunbeds as they seem to be reserved by 6am . We chose to hire chairs two venues down and eat at krikri which was fabulous. The second day when we moved the room was less noisy but smelt and also it appears to cater for Germans and Dutch as all stations on tv are of these regions and also very poor reception on tv . Although normally I would not watch tv I was amazed of the quality. For the price they charge spend your money elsewhere I wish we had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlaKcbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear MarlaKcbay

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

Firstly, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you on the first night. According to your comment about the small amount of food at the buffet, we had never had such a complaint from you either, at the hotel’s maitre, or at the reception desk. However, we would like to inform that we are trying our best in order to refill as fast as possible any empty food at the buffet.

We hope to see you again next year!

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    206
    79
    24
    15
See reviews for
176
190
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights all inclusive in June and I just got round to leaving a review. We arrived at 9:30 pm on a Tuesday and the receptionist Filio (I think) took charge of our luggage and made sure we had dinner straight away. After a mid day flight this was very welcome. Our luggage was quickly moved to our room which was on the other side of the road but still very nice. The underground tunnel connecting the 2 buildings was a safe way to get across both compartments safely.The food at dinner, lunch and breakfast was good, there was good variety of drinks and there was a mix of veg and meat dishes with chips very often. The best thing about this hotel is its location and it is right on the beach. It is about 15-20 minutes drive to Chania, the bus stop is just across the road but after 45 min wait e decided to take a taxi for about 15 euros to Chania. The hotel beach is nice and clean. There were enough sun loungers although we would reserve it as early as breakfast. The beach was spacious and wide compared to the other hotels along the coast where there was only a tiny stretch of sand in front. All in all we had a very good stay, our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable with spacious bathroom. The only thing I would say is that Wifi connection was not working from the room, I had to stay in reception to get a connection. I did speak to reception and they tried to help but without success. As it is at an extra cost this should really be looked into. We also almost missed our included transfer to airport on our last day, although I did speak to receptionist the night before confirming the transfer she did not mention anything about the time the bus might be coming. this was my first all inclusive holiday so was not too sure how it works but would have thought reception would let us know when bus has arrived. It's only when we called reception that we were told the bus is waiting. The transfer is organised by an independent company so the hotel is not responsible but it would be helpful if they can remind guests of the transfer time before they check out. The waiters in the resto were very helpful and polite. All in all the stay was very relaxing and I would definitely return and recommend to all : families, young and old couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nag_hos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We travelled here with an agency for two weeks (June to July), and we were in for a surprise: the very kind hotel receptionist, Filio, announced to us, that we would be receiving an upgrade to a 5-star hotel, due to overbooking within their hotel, which was a dissapointment and a relief.. not being able to stay at your chosen hotel, however you would be upgraded to an even, hopefully, better one.. well, this wasnt the case! We were transferred to Galini Sea View Hotel, which due to their revolting meals, we decided that since we had all-inclusive, we decided to have lunch and dinner at santa marina beach hotel. Here, the food was wonderful, although it did not consist of a large variety of food to choose from. We did not manage to actually spend any night here, however we were highly satisfied with the staff's kindness and the food there. I am not sure if they had Wifi, but they did have three computers, which you had to pay for..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Pete T.

Thank you very much about your time to comment on Tripadvisor.

We apologise for the unlucky event with your booking to our Santa Marina Beach during your arrival. However, we tried to find the best solution to offer you a pleasant stay.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our food and all the services in our Hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you again when you give us a second chance to welcome you in our Santa Marina Beach Hotel!

Best regards
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel was amazing!! I went with my boyfriend for our first holiday in June. We went all inclusive for one week and the food was amazing, there was a lot of variety and always food regardless of the time you went. The hotel was always clean and in a perfect location for both the beach and pool area. The staff made the holiday for us; they were incredibly friendly and more than happy to help with anything. One night we booked a table at the ‘a la carte' restaurant on the beach front which was one of the best experiences, very romantic and nice to be waited on by the friendly staff. I would recommend this holiday to couples, families and groups of all ages.

We would recommend this holiday and we are looking to return to Crete in this hotel again for next year!!

If you like chilled, friendly and romance...this is the place for you!

Room Tip: request a seaview or pool view as this adds to the experience more rather than a ground room with li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma-Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Emma - Paige G

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you enjoy your stay so much.

We look forward to welcoming you again next year!

Best Regards
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent staff and great food. The hotel has rooms on both sides of the road with a tunnel linking the two. Nice sized pool but you can't stand in it as its too deep so no good for none swimmers, but there again there is always the sea to go in. Food is buffet style and always had a good mix of food to pick from. The staff are all welcoming and make an effort to remember you. Road can be a little noisy but after a while you don't notice it. Would stay there again for sure

Room Tip: Get a pool view far better than the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer!

First of all we would like to thank you very much about your excellent rate on Tripadvisor!

The pool has European specifications and there is always a lifeguard to take care about the swimmers safety.

Regarding the noise from the road we would like to mention that it is only observed during the day and when there is high traffic.

We are very happy to hearing from you that you would come and stay again to our Santa Marina Beach and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Best Regards

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent one week in this hotel in May 2013 and I must say it is the best service I ever had for a 4 star hotel ! The team from the hotel is absolutely wonderful, always smiling, trying everything to make you feel good and relax, fixing the small issues, making conversation etc...
Lovely stay, lovely beach, lovely island, great food, great history, definitely a place to go and visit !

Alex & Natasha

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your appreciation to our staff's team!

We would like to inform you that the Management an the staff of our Santa Marina Beach always doing their best to provide our customers a pleasant stay.

About the place, location and the island of Crete everybody can find more information on our web sites at www.giannoulishotels.com.

We always look forward to welcoming you again to our Santa Marina Beach.

Best Regards

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here from May 7 - 14th, 2013 with our two boys 5 1/2 & 7. we had a family room with the all inclusive dinner. The staff are very friendly, accommodating and everyone speaks fluent English. I enjoyed the food as it was a nice variety with a lot of Greek cuisine including nice local cheeses. I would have liked to see more lamb on the menu but thats just cause i love lamb. All the food was fresh with a nice balance of meats and veggies. The room was clean and well kept. You do have to pay to use the in room safe deposit box and the mini bar is not free even with an inclusive package which is rather strange for me. the family room came with a king bed and a bunk bed so room was cramped but we were hardly there except to sleep. The mattresses were hard by North American standards so i was not very comfortable and had a sore back after a week. There is no room service with all inclusive.
The pool is clean and a nice size with a kids pool as well. The beach had lots of deck chairs/loungers but odd thing is you have to pay 2.50 euros a day per chair. That i think is poor on the part of the hotel as we were all inclusive but have to pay for sun loungers. Its more the principal than the amount. The guests should not have to pay for them! the beach was generally clean except for the one time a large black dog came and did his business right in front of the hotel and the owner was no where to be found and no one to pick up the "mess" Not good marketing for hotel i think! To be fair the dog did NOT belong to the hotel. I think it was from an adjacent property. It was really odd to see a lot of stray cats around the outdoor dining area as well.....maybe a Greek thing?
overall, i would stay there again as it is a centrally based property and not far from Chania old town area. There is also a lot of small restaurants and businesses right around the hotel as well.

Room Tip: Ask for further away from elevator. There are two parts to hotel. Family rooms are centred around po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YAnthony03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#4 of 22 in Stalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Beach Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Address: Aghia Marina Beach, Agia Marina, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Beach Chania
Santa Marina Beach Hotel Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing