We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience - some good, some not so good. ”

Almira Beach Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 119 Restaurants in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Top selections of fine meats! Fresh seafood and fish from the Aegean Sea! Large variety of local, Greek and international wines! 3 different craft beer and 30 different bottles of Greek and international microbrewery! Exotic coctails! Live music events in an amazing place! Free sunbeds for our clients!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We looked forward to our dinner at the Almira Beach having checked it out in the daytime and admired the situation, which is lovely. When we arrived we were brought some water, which we wanted, so that was fine. Our starters of Greek salad and courgette balls were delicious. Things started to go a bit pear-shaped with the wine order. This is the first restaurant of many we have found in this area which does not offer local wine by the carafe. I should say we normally pay 7 to 9 euros for a litre and it's always been very good. So we accepted the waiter's offer of bottled wine, which he said was 'local'. Sadly we failed to check on the price (it turned out to be €17). It wasn't local either, unless you consider Halkidiki to be local to Crete! However, it tasted fine. As we were used to buying 1 litre carafes (which lasted our whole evening) the 700 ml was nearly gone by the time we had finished our starters so it was only then that we checked on the price of the wine before committing to another bottle. On hearing it would be another €17 we decided to stick with water (our choice, surely?). This was met with a very sniffy response from the waiter who muttered something like 'you thought it was expensive, did you?' as he walked away. We were left astonished at this dismal customer service as in no way had we been unpleasant or nasty in our manner. Well, yes it was expensive, actually. If you are used to spending €9 isn't €34 a lot more, albeit for more, higher quality wine? Now some good news. The fish kebabs were unusual, fresh and beautifully cooked. They were delicious. My mushroom risotto was tasty but rather salty. As we have a low salt diet at home this may be down to personal preference and so we didn't complain about it, though I left half of it and was drinking water through the night. Then we got some delicious freebies of raki and chocolate cake. In conclusion, all the staff but one were really friendly, the setting was magical and the premises immaculate. Would we go back? No, never. A thoughtless, of the cuff remark by a waiter ruined the evening for us. And, in case he's wondering, yes, we can afford €17 for a bottle of wine. I often spend that and more, but shouldn't it be my money, my choice?

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonter_13, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Almira Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Joy P
We would like to thank you for your visiting,not only because of you good critics and your time but also supporting us financial .
Regarding to the negative experience with our wine.
You were completely right and we apologize.!!!
The waiter should be inform you about the price as he recommend it as it should according to the company’s policy.
We would like also to inform you that we do not serve wine in a decanter because the quality doesn’t respond of the quality standards..
Moreover our store has bottles wines in a extremely good price from 12 euro.
I assure you, that we already work hard in training our staff for handling this situation in a better way and not happening again .
We apologize again and thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 410 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

We had lunch here a couple of times and had Greek or Cretan salads which were fabulous but we made the mistake of coming for dinner and were very disappointed. My daughter and I both had chicken souvlaki which was dry and overcooked.
Service was good but it is not cheap compared with other places where the food was better cooked

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank K433ITchristineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonter_13, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Almira Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2019

Thank you and we are sorry that we didn't satisfy you on your dinner.We hope the next time you will satisfy and we promise that we will try for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

Great place to eat once you get over the fact that its hidden behind the Synka supermarket. In actual fact its right on the beach and they have a shared car park. Food was really good and the night we were there they had a live singer (groan) but who was actually very good with an interesting repertoire. Would definitely suggest adding to the list of restaurants to eat in.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonter_13, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Almira Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Thank very much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

The food is to die for . We had the sharing mix grill and Greek salad , for 2 to share . In all honesty it is too much. Restaurant is newly opened and the decor is amazing . Service is 5 stars.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ramonab191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonter_13, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Almira Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Thank you very much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Dine here when visiting the Agia Marina area. The food is worth it and they have tables on and off the sand. They have clear panes to block off wind gusts without interrupting the view. The service was much better than in the main town. Yes, it's located behind a grocery store. Don't let that worry you. It's right on the beachfront.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank KlubMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leonter_13, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Almira Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thank you very much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almira Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
 
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
 
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Almira Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing