We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel , Excellent staff”
Review of Santa Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Marina Plaza
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2006

Arrived for a seven night stay at the Santa Marina Plaza. The sea view room requested was not available for the first night and the staff were most apologetic. Was shown to a garden view room which was a lovely room but the garden view was not what we had paid for! However, the next day we went into Chania itself and our bags were moved to the sea view room as requested. The view was quite spectacular and was worth getting up early in order to watch the sun rise. The rooms are large and beds are very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and made wine recommendations with the meal and even suggested some supermarket wines to take home and enjoy!! The meals are served buffet style with no portion controls (not a good idea to start a diet whilst there!) I was expecting more Greek food, but I suppose they have to cater for an international market and the food was generally of a high standard. The location of the hotel is directly on the beach and with the sound of the waves crashing on the beach at night it was truly a relaxing holiday! Thank you to all the staff who made it so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank LisaMickeyMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 437 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2006

My wife and I were quite impressed with the Santa Marina Plaza Hotel. Our Sea Front room was spectacular; offering privacy and incredible views. The bed was very comfortable, the room spacious and very clean, and included a large bathroom (by European standards). We also had use of a private balconey where we could enjoy a cool beverage while looking at the view. The only thing that really disappointed us about the hotel, (and it pains us to say this, since we really, really loved the staff) was the air conditioning DID NOT WORK. We asked about this several times, and were told that the maintenance men looked into the problem. But, in reality, the first time we complained, we came back after a day of sight seeing only to find the top blanket had been removed. When we asked again on day two, we returned in the afternoon to find that the bed sheet had been removed as well. Since it was incredibly hot, the lack of adequate air conditioning made our stay really uncomfortable.

We took the full-board option and found the food to be quite good. It was a welcome break from always having to think about where to dine every morning and evening. Granted, I wouldn't want to eat there every day for a week or two, but since we only booked for four nights, we didn't get bored. Hey, don't mis-understand, this is not five-star dining, or even Greek Taverna dining. Remember, since this place caters to tourists, they provide food that tastes more like home for the English, Germans and French. But its solid, tasty, and with a dining room overlooking the pool and the Meditarranean. On top of that, the staff are very friendly and attentive.

The Santa Marina Plaza is about 8 km outside of Chania. Too far to walk, but an easy, inexpensive bus ride into town. Chania was as pretty as we expected, although by the time we arrived, the heat was starting to take its toll. The area around the inner harbor was quite beautiful, though filled with very touristy restaurants and gift shops. You have to get off the beaten path to find anything authentic. Although there are several highly recommended hotels in Chania, we suggest if you are staying in the summer months, you stay at the Santa Marina Plaza, where you at least have a pool, sea breezes, and a little space.

We were surprised to find that Agia Marina was very touristy, with an abundance of hotels. Therefore, the beach along Agia Marina was always busy. However, take our advice: hire a car and drive to some of the other fine beaches along western and southern Crete. Falarsana was perhaps one of our favorite beaches so far in all of our travels to the Mediterranean region. We had an absolutely wonderful day at Falarsana. Check with the staff for other recommendations.

So there you go. If Santa Marina Plaza would just fix their air conditioning, we would give this 5 Stars hands down. Heck, I almost gave them 5 Stars any way just for the staff. They were incredible and to be commended.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank sgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Samaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

My husband and I were originally supposed to stay at their sister hotel but our reservation was messed up. We were very pleased that we were upgraded to this hotel. We loved the room and location. The room was very clean and had a great shower.

The service of the staff was excellent. They were all so friendly and helpful. We were very happy with the breakfast and dinner that was served.

If we return to Crete we would definetly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Wife2Kosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Windsor
15
Reviewed May 31, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2006

24  Thank cstmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank beppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
78.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
2,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#10 of 31 in Agia Marina
571 reviews
83.7 mi away
Silva Beach
Silva Beach
#20 of 172 in Hersonissos
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
562 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Plaza

Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range: $88 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTA MARINA PLAZA Hotel is built at the sun-blessed beach of Aghia Marina, at a mere 8 kilometers from the city of Chania. It’s looking forward to offering to every visitor of the island, an unforgettable stay in one of its 49 luxurious rooms and 2 Junior Suites.All hotel rooms have magnificent view of the sea and are equipped with a Mini-Bar, Air-Conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, two direct dial telephones, wireless internet line, electronic safe, bathroom covered in marble and a hair dryer. In addition to the above, Laundry service, Childcare service, Room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Plaza Hotel Agia Marina
Santa Marina Plaza Chania
Santa Marina Plaza Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing