We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place,great value”
Review of Santa Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Marina Plaza
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place,great value”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I just came back from my short vacation.Stayed in Santa Maria Plaza end of April 2013.Was very quiet and not fully booked.I Get room 318.I was so surprise with this accomodation !Whats a view from terrace.Great offer for B&B customers 10 Euros for dinner was very good,Great food.Staff very friendly and helpful.Very covenient many shops and supermakets around.Definitely reccomend to everyone who preffer luxurios stay.

Room Tip: Room 318 with huge terrace,sunbads and sunshade provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Mr Adam H,

Thank you for reviewing us with an excellent score!

It is really great to hear that you had a wonderful time at Santa Marina Plaza!

We hope that we will see you again in the near future!

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    111
    22
    18
    11
See reviews for
63
260
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned from Santa Marina Plaza and I must say the hotel is spotlessly clean, food is ok, sometimes it is not very warm which I think can be dangerous especially the meat. I would rate this hotel as 4* NOT 5* as I have been to some 5* hotels and this certainly isn't in the 5* bracket. I have worked in catering for years so I know what should be expected from a 5* establishment, now in saying that the al la carte meal was first class. The staff are mostly very nice especially Marina in the dining room she certainly knows her job and does it very well. There seems to be a re-occurring problem of over booking which should not be happening if bookings are being taken and recorded correctly, so lets just say be careful who you book with. I think it is better to book directly with the hotel. I would stay again, the hotel is nice, its quiet, the views are beautiful but the only thing that was really annoying was the amount of beach traders annoying you on the beach it was awful. I know this has nothing to do with the hotel but we were pestered with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccmow777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear ccmow777,

Thank you very much for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel!

According to your notice about the temperature of our served food, the manager and the chef are already alerted, in order to adjust it to the needs of our guests.

Regarding your refer to the beach traders, we would like to inform that the beach does not belong to the hotel, it is although rented by the hotel and we are putting very strong efforts to reduce these incidences.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel on your next visit at Crete.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salo, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is far from lovely Chania old town and harbour and also far from all the fun in Platanias. We visited early October, and Agia Marina was very quiet. If you wanted nightlife, you had to take a bus or cab. One thing I do not understand: why have an outdoor pool that is simply a decoration? The water was icy. And we had a room with a non-view: a roof and a wall, if you really stretched yourself you could spot the sea behind a tree.
The breakfast was nice. And so were the beds.

Room Tip: Do not accept a low number, 01 or 02
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meiju M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Meiju M,

Thank you very much for taking this time to comment us on Tripadvisor.
The location of our Santa Marina Plaza is clearly on our official web site and on any web site that somebody can make a reservation from. It is 8 kilometres or 15 minutes drive to Chania city centre and about 2 kilometresor5 minutes drive to Platanias. We do not believe that is distance can be characterised as to be far. Anyway, we believe that you should choose a hotel to Platanias or into the city of Chania, and this is something that the hotel cannot take any blame of as it was your choice to visit Santa Marina Plaza which is clearly locatd in Aghia Marina.
The outdoor pool is not for a decoration. Any of our guest can swim and they actually do so until today. Maybe the atmosphere temperatures during your stay was not too high as it can be the case in autumn sometimes. Due to this fact, the temperature at water in the pool dropped down. In any case our swimming pool has fresh water and is not advertised as a heated one. So, again you knew about this in advance.

regarding your view from the room it is something that is quite objective. Some guest are requesting from us these rooms on the groundfloor. If you were not totally happy with the room, you could have given us a chance to change it, however we did not receive such an information from your side.

We would like to thank you once again for your comment and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Firstly, I would like to refer you to my review "Perfect Holiday" from my previous visit, 7th to 21st June of this year, please read this prior to continuing.

After reading the above, I can continue,in that, both my wife and I looked forward to a further two weeks holiday at the "Plaza" and we were not disappointed.

On our arrival at the "Plaza", on 20th September, we were greeted by the staff as if we were "old friends", who had been away and had now returned. They were wonderful.

I can only describe the "Plaza" as an "Oasis", for no matter what hassles there are at the front of the hotel, as you walk through the front door's, you walk into a quiet tranquil area with "friends" around you.

On entering our room, it was well presented and had a bottle of wine and fruit on the table to greet us. I must admit, at our request, it was even the same room which we occupied in June.

The meals again were very good, with choices from both Greek and an international cuisine.

The "a la carte" menu was still being served on the beach, which was wonderful, and the selection was superb. I believe that we attended one of the last to be served on the beach for this season.

Although there were many nationalities at the "Plaza" during our stay, their greetings were pleasant, even with the language barrier.

May I yet again, thank the management and "all" of the staff for their personal touches to make this another holiday to remember.

All in all, I can only say that this was another "Perfect Holiday"!!

Penny and Barrie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Barrie S,
Thank you very much for comment again on Tripadvisor.
First of all, we would like to inform you that we are really happy when we are welcoming repeating guests to our Hotel.

The best reward for us is the satisfaction and the pleasure of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel next year.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the service we received. Everyone was so helpful and welcoming and had a positive attitude which seemed so genuine and not fake.
We liked our room which had a lovely garden view and was so near the sea; the sound of the ocean was breathtaking and we had all the privacy we wanted.
We did a lot of walking and found the reception staff great at helping to organise a trip for us.
The cleaner was exceptional at keeping on top of our mess from the hiking.
The location is great with busses in all directions of Western Crete and the sea on your doorstep.
We liked breakfast and dinner; they do a dope roast chicken.
When things go wrong usually my husband writes the hotel review. This time he has got none to say hence I am stepping in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear CCB186338,
Thank you very much for your excellent scoring on Tripadvisor.
It is great to hear that you enjoy your stay and all of the facilities of our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel.
Thank you for all your compliments! We really appreciate it!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel on your next visit at Crete.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Reading the recent reviews I can only say that we agree on the positive reviews: A very nice, quiet and tidy hotel.
A great effort was always shown from the staff to keep the hotel area nice, clean and tidy. This includes the restaurant, the beach area, the pool area and the rooms. The staff was very polite, friendly, helpfull - and smiling. The buffet had a good selection. We had at room with 180 deg seaview - and a spacious balcony. I find the beach to be the best in the area. The hotel is located in an area with a lot of small shops ( majority souvenirs) and cafes/ restaurants. A supermarket is next door. A bus stop is very close - it takes app 30 minutes to go to Chania

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Bodil S,

Thank you very much for your review.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Östersund
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice Clean hotel, Lovely room with with wonderful sea view. The staff was allways helpful and very kind, as a guest you could feel the warm atmospher between the staff. Breakfast and dinnerbuffe had a good selesction and tasted very good. The dinner at the beach was wonderful and magical.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva_Britt_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Eva Britt,

Thank you very much for your wonderful email. We feel very greatful for your recognition.

We wish you a nice winter! Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
78.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
102.1 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#7 of 35 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Plaza

Property: Santa Marina Plaza
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#10 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTA MARINA PLAZA Hotel is built at the sun-blessed beach of Aghia Marina, at a mere 8 kilometers from the city of Chania. It’s looking forward to offering to every visitor of the island, an unforgettable stay in one of its 49 luxurious rooms and 2 Junior Suites.All hotel rooms have magnificent view of the sea and are equipped with a Mini-Bar, Air-Conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, two direct dial telephones, wireless internet line, electronic safe, bathroom covered in marble and a hair dryer. In addition to the above, Laundry service, Childcare service, Room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Plaza Hotel Agia Marina
Santa Marina Plaza Chania
Santa Marina Plaza Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing