We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Santa Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Marina Plaza
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice Clean hotel, Lovely room with with wonderful sea view. The staff was allways helpful and very kind, as a guest you could feel the warm atmospher between the staff. Breakfast and dinnerbuffe had a good selesction and tasted very good. The dinner at the beach was wonderful and magical.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_Britt_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Eva Britt,

Thank you very much for your wonderful email. We feel very greatful for your recognition.

We wish you a nice winter! Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Santa Marina Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 428 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the third time we are visiting Santa Marina Plaza, and it will not be the last time. The hotel is fantastic, all is very clean og the staff is very, very friendly. The hotel is situated near to the sea, and the beach is so excellent as possible. We were at the hotel in two weeks and we loved every day. We really are coming back to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Tone T,

Thanks once again for your visit to our hotel! All of our staff and the management really appreciate your wonderful words!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived at the hotel very late in evening due to flight delays feeling very tired. Were given a lovely welcome at reception and we were very impressed with our room, plus they had left us a salad each and some fruit, which we were very grateful for.
We absolutely loved our week's stay in the hotel. Our room and all of the hotel was exceptionally clean. Our room was a lovely size overlooking the pool and the lovely beach was just a short walk away. Everything was excellent - the service, cleanliness, food and staff. It was also being an adult only hotel very peaceful. We loved the extra touches in our room of bath robes and a kettle for tea and coffee. We would definately stay in the hotel again if we visit Crete.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Shelagh P

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel is the ideal hotel for people who looking for peace and relax holidays.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit at Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel was very clean, staff were friendly, Bedroom was spacious, bathroom was small and in need of updating. Breakfast had a good selection, but evening meals apart from the salad, were poor, also the cost of drinks in restaurant and bar were very expensive, good job there was a supermarket next door,.No entertainment not much to do around Hotel, seemed more like a rest home. most people were not English and did not speak to us, have never come across this before, would not go back to this hotel or Agia marina, did nor realise when booking that this area could be rough, could not swim for 4 days. Had car hire so was able to get around, ,do not try driving into Chania town, ,use the bus, so much graffiti all around.

Room Tip: we had room 111 with full sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We returned,in the early hours of this morning, from a most fantastic 10 days at the Santa Marina Plaza. We are going to the travel agent tomorrow to book again for next year but for 14 days. We could not fault a thing from accommodation, cleanliness,staff( all across the board), food, you name it and it was good! We asked for a sea view and were offered a side sea view, room 101. It was perfect for us. My brother and wife had room 106 and we're equally impressed. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times. The rooms were spotless, the food was plentiful and good choice. We accepted the offer of the special night eating on the beach and it was magical. We arrived extremely late on the first night but a beautiful plate of food and fresh fruit was waiting for us in our rooms. We could not have wished for a better holiday and the cost was extremely reasonable. My brother requested a bed topper which was provided the same day

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Joy K,
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for your kind words.

The management and the staff of our hotel always do their best to provide you a pleasant stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel next year.

Best regards
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having read the reviews on the Santa Marina Plaza, we arrived with high expectations which I'm delighted to report were all realised. This is a compact and charming beach front hotel offering adults a relaxing and comfortable holiday. Sea view and sea/pool view rooms are available, and we were able to sample both as 311 the sea front room we had requested was not available for our first three nights.
However, the sea/pool view room we were given, room 304, was delightful both spacious and well furnished. Also, as we arrived too late for dinner a cold supper had been left in the room for us - a welcome touch!
By way of compensation we were given free drinks with our dinner for three nights and free wifi access for the entire 10 day stay, more than satisfactory!
I must mention the staff at the Santa Marina Plaza. We found EVERY staff member friendly and helpful, from Christos and Elena on reception to Christina, Evi and especially Delia in the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble and if we had any problems or queries they dealt with them immediately.
We will definitely be returning to the Santa Marina Plaza in the future and would not hesitate to recommend this great hotel to our friends.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Dave 410,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
Firstly, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you this reallocation.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel.
The management and the staff always do their best to provide to our guests a high level of services.

We are also thank you very much for your recommendation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Pros -Excellent hotel, exceptionally clean and tidy, all staff are very friendly and excellent at there jobs. A tight ship is run here from cleaners to waiters/waitresses. Lovely pool, excellent food, rooms cleaned every day. Very quiet, slept really well. Right on the beach, sunbeds always free. Had an a la carte meal on the beach which was amazing!! I cannot fault the hotel at all.

Cons - Clientele in September was mainly pensioners which wasn't really for us and nearly all german all of which did not speak to us???We have never come across this before? No entertainment at hotel. Not much around hotel for us to do. Bars didn't play much music. Was very quiet which was possibly because of time of year we went. But we had a great relaxing time anyway.

Room Tip: All rooms are either sea view or side sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hlh19712016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear HlhYork,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, and for your kind words on review.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
According your notice about the area of our Santa Marina Plaza, we would like to inform that it s the ideal for an “Adults Only” hotel. At Platanias area, which is 5 minutes drive from our Hotel, there are plenty of bars and nightclubs.
Thank you very much once again for your excellent score.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
553 reviews
78.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,972 reviews
0.4 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
426 reviews
102.1 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#9 of 35 in Elounda
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Plaza

Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#10 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range: $98 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTA MARINA PLAZA Hotel is built at the sun-blessed beach of Aghia Marina, at a mere 8 kilometers from the city of Chania. It’s looking forward to offering to every visitor of the island, an unforgettable stay in one of its 49 luxurious rooms and 2 Junior Suites.All hotel rooms have magnificent view of the sea and are equipped with a Mini-Bar, Air-Conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, two direct dial telephones, wireless internet line, electronic safe, bathroom covered in marble and a hair dryer. In addition to the above, Laundry service, Childcare service, Room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Santa Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Plaza Hotel Agia Marina
Santa Marina Plaza Chania
Santa Marina Plaza Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing