We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good hotel”
Review of Santa Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Marina Plaza
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a very good hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

we booked this hotel b&b as it is the sister hotel of the cavo spada in Crete and part of the Guanoullis group. we stayed at the cavo spada the week before all inclusive and wanted to eat out in the surrounding restaurants for our second week.

the service is ,as we hoped it would be, excellent.

the hotel itself is advertised as an adult only hotel - and it is to all intents and purposes, but we did see a child at breakfast one morning? the beach area which is very, very nice does cater for the public so you may find families next to you as we did. my only concern about this is that on several occasions guests from the hotel could not access the beach facilities while members of the public - largely guests of the hotel next to it - enjoyed the privacy and peace of a largely adult setting. my only criticism of the beach is area is that many guests drop their cigarette butts into the sand, despite the hotel providing ash trays . it is disgusting and alarming that so many Europeans still smoke! the hotel should consider doing a cherrypick in the morning to counter this poor behaviour of many of its guests. there is a nice grass area facing the sea and we think the hotel should utilise this more by providing parasols here - those around the pool do not provide much shade and are not used that much - why would you with such a fabulous beach front!

the breakfast is superb and the service from all staff is really first class.

the manager and reception staff are always around and very helpful.

we paid for a sea view room and were in room 311 which is one of the best rooms in the hotel.
the bathroom is a little on the small side and a little tired looking but the cleaning was excellent.
the room itself had been freshly painted and the high roof made it appear bigger. again the cleaning was excellent but it may be an idea to remove the remains of squashed mosquitos from the walls and ceilings after guests leave!

our room was not available when we arrived due to a booking issue. we were put in garden room 315 which you cannot book on the hotel website. small wonder! it is disgusting! water damage has left a bad smell, the sink didn't work properly and generally the room was very grubby. we complained and the manager was apologetic and gave us what we asked for - a full refund for one day.

I can understand that a small hotel wants its best rooms booked all the time but its not a good idea to piss off customers who have paid in advance and are paying 190 euros a night for a room!

I believe there have been previous concerns about over bookings?

the bottom line is do not accept a garden room - they need to be gutted or not used at all. they have no place in this hotel.

I don't think we would go back as we were not that impressed with Agia marina as a resort, despite the fact that there are lots of good restaurants. the hotel is however a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: room 315 or on this floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    111
    22
    18
    11
See reviews for
63
260
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As many tourists I have chosen this hotel on tripadvisors’ reviews. I was searching for a place to relax and spend quite holidays so I found the ideal Hotel for couples to stay in!

Me and my husband had two weeks’ vacation in Santa Marina Plaza and I did liked the "adults only" policy (there were no hustling and bustling at all)! We always met a nice smile, warm word and kind assistant from the personnel! We had half board and I must say that the food was very delicious and various all the time (salads, cheese, fresh vegetables, pasta, very tasty meet, lasagna, soup and etc.). Desserts were just fantastic (chocolate cake is something special, mmmm)!!! During our stay we were once allowed to change our dinner at the restaurant for an a la carte visit: a very romantic evening on the beach with sunset, «music» of the sea, wine and again delicious cuisine! Usually we also had lunch at the pool-bar. 20 euro per two persons with drinks and extremely large portions :)! We liked it a lot ! On Fridays we had life saxophone music also in the pool-bar. It was fantasctic and romantic :)!!!
I want also mention the excellent service! My deepest and special THANKS to Marina and Sasha from the pool-bar and to Elena and Emmanuel from reception! I’m very happy to meet so nice, kind and professional people! You are THE BEST! :)
Everything about the hotel is perfect! The beach, swimming-pool area, restaurants, personnel and of course location! There are a lot of cafes, supermarkets, rent services and a fun park with mini-golf nearby. Bus stop to Chania is just 50m from the Hotel, price per person is 1.60 euro (20 min to the city center).
It’s also a great location for visiting Elafonissi beach (a must see place with pink sand and pure blue water, but very windy and also be ready for narrow mountain roads to the beach that can be quite scary, especially in the cabrio car J) and Samaria Gorge with stunning views (15 Km walking in the mountains so be prepared to wear comfortable boots and have some pain in your legs the next day if you are not a good walker), but after long journey you’ll be rewarded an incredible Ionian Sea (we have never seen more transparent and pure water with turquoise color, absolutely unforgetable)
Any tour can be booked directly from the reception. For example, one of our trip we took at the hotel started at 05-45 and we were kindly offered an early continental breakfast at 05-00, special for two of us :)!
During the whole our stay in the Hotel we were surrounded with warm care and kind assistance! It’s like to spend holidays at the best friends place!
I’m sure to say that Santa Marina Plaza is the second home !! ….. near the sea :)
Again many –many thanks to all Santa Marina Plaza team (family :)) and looking forward to see you again!
P.S. Perhaps there are two more things I wish to have in the Hotel. It is wi-fi speed to be a little faster and TV-screen a little wider :), but it’s only my personal preferences :)!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Alla A,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, which we so much enjoyed reading! We appreciate your compliments and we so much look forwaard to welcoming you again! Also special thanks for the beautiful photos that you added! You should consider the perspective of being a photographer :)


Best regards,

The management and the staff team of Santa Marina Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have chosen this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, stayed for 2 weeks, and it is really excellent, value for money. Quiet, and relaxing, ~30 metres to the beach, free sun beds. If you have a half board you are entitled (I believe it’s still the case) for one free A la carte dinner instead of a buffet dinner – take advantage of this opportunity. It’s on the beach: sunset, sea, etc. included. It’s been already mentioned here, probably, the only drawback - no fresh (or at least “not from concentrate”) juices on breakfast, and the coffee was not strong to my taste. (by the way, during the breakfast you have an opportunity to make a “Greek” coffee for yourself – in the hot sand – quite a fun). The beach: I think it has a very lucky location – further to the west could be windy with rather big waves; to the east – the sea is deeper.
We travelled to Falassarna and Elafonisi beaches as well. Haven’t been impressed with the first one – the waves are too high to swim. But the second one is a must – shallow waters, beautiful mountains around. But it’s very windy there, and be ready for narrow mountain roads – it’s fun but can be quite scary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VasyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear VasyaG

Thank you very much for your excellent scoring on Tripadvisor.

The Management and the staff of our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel always doing their best, to offer a pleasant stay to all of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauhava, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in Santa Marina Plaza on 28th June - 5th July 2013. The room was tidy, cool (air conditioning! :D) and the view was awesome. The personnel was friendly and professional, as well in reception as in the restaurant. The food was good (you tend to gain extra weight, because you can't help eating too much ;) The hotel is situated well near the beach, a good place for a morning run. The absence of under 16 year old children makes the pace of life slower and atmosphere quiet and relaxed. A great place to spend a second honeymoon.

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher floors have a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I chose the Santa Marina Plaza Hotel based partly on the Trip Advisor reviews, I would like to say that it was equal or better than we expected.

We stayed for one week 6th/13th July in room 318 and probably had one of the best views available, we had great fun using both pool and beach facilities (enough sun beds for all). The beach area is private to the hotel with free use of the sun beds and parasols for hotel guests. The rooms and public areas are kept very clean and offer a good level of comfort.

There is a laid back feeling to the hotel supported by very attentive and friendly staff who genuinely give their best at all times. Food whether taken at the pool bar / restaurant / or on the beach was always good with many choices available.

The hotel is a bit quiet of an evening but there are plenty of bars along the road outside, some offering the traditional Greek ‘Knees Up’.

One thing worth mentioning is that during conversations with other guests everyone said how pleased they were with the hotel and I think that says it all.
We felt very comfortable about the Santa Marina Plaza Hotel with all that it offers and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear phil19035

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel.

Best Regards

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I have just been on 1 week (28/6-5/7) hollyday at Santa Marina Plaza and know for sure if we should go to Crete for the 4th time it will be to this same hotel. We are so satisfied with everything, the hotel, the room, the staff, the meals, the beach. Thank you Hotel Santa Marina Plaza for a wonderful stay at your hotel, hope to be back. Marianne & Sigbjorn

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Marriane E

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Santa Marina Plaza on your next trip in Crete.

Best Regards

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broendby, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First impression, was not the best - for a luxury hotel we would expect to be greeted by a bellhop to take our luggage - we were not. Second impression was entering our room, and that was a lot better - room was spacious, clean and with direct access to the poolarea through our terrace. Big bathroom with tub.
The room greeted us with a bottle of local wine and fresh fruits, so the missing bellhop in the beginning was less important.
All the rooms have sea or/and pool view.

The hotel is wheelchair-friendly, and is an adult-only hotel, no screaming kids or running around.

The area surrounding the pool was beautiful, right next to the beach where there is comfortable free sunbeds (also comfortable by the pool), You don´t need to go 06:00 in the morning to reserve it.
For 10€ deposit you get towels.
There is also a cabana close to the beach you can rent for 10€ a day, including complimentary fruits, too bad it is not on the beach next to the waterline.

We had half-board while staying, breakfast was good and varied, juice was not the best we have tried, not natural and fresh, bad when the country is full of good ripe fruits. Dinnerbuffet was varied and new dishes every day, lots of cakes, wines were cheap but good. The pool bar serves good and affordable lunch. 6-10 €
One evening we switched the buffet for an A La Carte dinner on the beach, which was a real romantic setting, and even on the beach the food arrived quick and tasted great. They have one cook for buffet and another one for A La Carte.

Staff was extremely serviceminded, and made sure we felt welcome and like home, 5 star staff! Thank you! You did good job.

On friday evening there was entertainment at the hotel, a saxophone player, sounded great and a nice diversity, bar was in the evenings not full, so no time waiting for drinks.

There is a busstop very close to the hotel, which makes it easy to go sightseeing on the island, and tickets are cheap (1,60€ to Chania).
Taxi from the hotel to airport costs 35€

If you're going to Crete - consider staying here - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fru_jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear fru_Jensen

Thank you very much taking time to comment on Tripadvisor and for your wonderful review.

Taking the opportunity form your reference to our A’la Carte Restaurant, we would like to notice that it is located on the beach and our guests can enjoy their diner under the colourful sunset followed by a candlelight atmosphere on a most relaxing and romantic ambiance.

We want to thank you one more time about the beautiful photos that you upload on our profile on tripadvisor.


Best regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
78.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
102.1 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#7 of 35 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Plaza

Property: Santa Marina Plaza
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#10 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTA MARINA PLAZA Hotel is built at the sun-blessed beach of Aghia Marina, at a mere 8 kilometers from the city of Chania. It’s looking forward to offering to every visitor of the island, an unforgettable stay in one of its 49 luxurious rooms and 2 Junior Suites.All hotel rooms have magnificent view of the sea and are equipped with a Mini-Bar, Air-Conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, two direct dial telephones, wireless internet line, electronic safe, bathroom covered in marble and a hair dryer. In addition to the above, Laundry service, Childcare service, Room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Plaza Hotel Agia Marina
Santa Marina Plaza Chania
Santa Marina Plaza Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing