We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So perfect”
Review of Santa Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Marina Plaza
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
REDDITCH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So perfect”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Please go here!

We had a fabulous week.

We had decided to pay the supplement for seafront room and were so pleased ( room 311)
lovely large room with a fabulous balcony which got sun until about 2000 at night.

Service throughout the hotel was faultless

Location couldn't be better literally a stones throw from the hotels own very sandy lovely beach, where sun beds are free for hotel guests.

We stayed half board basis and would definitely recommend you to do the same, we ate one meal a la carte set up on the beach...so romantic, if you have a chance to book do so, sure you will love it.

We didn't hire a car as the local bus service was quite good, plenty of bars and restaurants if you can manage to tear yourself away from the hotel.

We are already planning our return trip..

Paul and Jayne

Room Tip: If you do book for seafront request top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOOBYRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear SCOOBY Reddich

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves that much!

The management and the staff of our Santa Marina Luxury Boutique Hotel, are always doing their best to offer a pleasant stay to our guests!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your return trip!

Best Regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    113
    23
    18
    10
See reviews for
63
267
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for a week a the beginning of June, we chose this as we wanted to walk the Samaria Gorge and then relax on the beach. The hotel arranged the trip for us that better suited our requirements of an early start for the walk, and also cheaper than the Rep`s trip. The staff really put the customer first and the hotel was run from a customer point of view.

Room Tip: We had room 214. Overlooking the sea facing east as the sun comes up. Kept spotlessly clean by the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryLizHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for the great score on Tripadvisor!

Taking the advantage of your notice about our staff, We would like to mention that it is everyones intention to do their best to provide our gests a pleasant stay!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel.

Best Regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Selected this hotel as a special place to celebrate our 40th anniversary in May. Unfortunately, like many before us it would appear, on arrival we were informed that our sea view room was unavailable due to a mix up in bookings.

I've got to say the company accepted full responsibility and the staff were very apologetic about it. They had clearly prepared a planned upgrade at another of their hotels for our arrival and the luxury taxi was laid on for our transfer. It turned out this upgrade to the Cova Spada was not to our liking....very nice hotel but too remote and isolated....and not a supporter of all inclusive. So a suitable alternative was found at Grand Bay Hotel, Kolymbari.

I couldn't help feeling that the Santa Marina was being used to secure bookings / customers in the full knowledge that there was no room at the inn but would be accommodated at one of the company's high standard but less popular hotels. Some might say a clever strategy, others might say deceitful.

Coincidence or whatever, I've got to say I was disappointed. For all the pleasantries and helpfulness that went into re-assigning us, I ended up with a holiday - nice as it was - that I never booked for my 40th anniversary.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank VukaEnzele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear VukaEnzele

First of all we would like to thank you very much for comment on Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologize once again about the mix up in your bookings.

We tried to do our best to find the best solution for you and that is why we have offered you a reallocation in our sister 5 star hotel Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

After your disappointment about the location of Cavo Spada, we offered you a second choice in our Grand Bay Beach Resort which you eventually choose to stay.

We apologize again about the disturbance, and we are looking forward to giving us a chance to redress.

Best Regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Me and my wife and friends discovered this lovely place in september last year. We were so satisfied then, that we decided that we would visit it again. Now we been there again in june, and we can't call it nothing less than our second home. The staff is so friendly and serviceminded. From the cleaning staff to all the people around the reception, breakfast, lunch, dinner to the bartender in the beachbar in the evening.You allways meet a smile and a question of what they can do for you :) The rooms are clean and airy. The food are excellent. The problem is that you cant stay too long here, because of gaining 10 pounds on top of your regulary weight pr week gives a little problem when you coming home.... None of us, would concidered to stay at any other place when we visit Crete. Spesial thanks to Marina for her lovely smile and caring attitude,she is a reason alone to stay her. We are coming back.

Room Tip: Order a room in front against the beach. Quiet (if you like the sound of seawaves), and a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on Tripadvisor which we greatly appreciate!

We are very happy to hear that Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel has given you the feeling of a second home! If we manage to make people feel like this, that on its own gives us a great motivation! The smile to our staff is genuine due to the fact that we have very pleasant guests as you!

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your friends again, as many times as you want!

Best Regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were two weeks at the Santa Marina Plaza at the end of May. This is a highly recommendable hotel for all who search for quite atmosphere for adults and great service . Fantastic and friendly staff ! . Warm hospitality of all employees, we will never forget you.
Great, clean room , and a beautiful view from the terrace.
Excellent breakfast.
The hotel position is right on the beautiful beach, and the beach went on for miles, perfect.
10 points to Santa Marina Plaza and it`s staff, and to Crete !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nasseEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear reviewer!

Thank you very much for your amazing comment on Tripadvisor! You make us all fell fell very special!!!

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here at our Hotel.


We are lookforward to welcoming you again!

Best regards
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have spent one week at the Santa Marina Plaza at the end of May.
At first we noticed that the building looks quite cute and somehow personal. The good thing about this Hotel is the warm hospitality of all the employees, and the beautiful view from the terrace whenever you take your meals.
All in all, this is a beautiful, highly recommendable little Hotel for all who search a rather quite athmosphere and great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anseW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent comment on Tripadvisor.

Take the advantage of your comment we would like to notice that it is always the management and the staff first intention to do our best in order to provide a pleasant stay to our guests

We look forward to meeting you again!

Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived at Santa Marina Plaza after two days of flying and a dubious overnight in Athens, to be pleasantly surprised by this reasonably small, but great resort. Billed as a 'Adults Only' resort, it provided excellent standard rooms, a superb restaurant and a great holiday feel (even though we were working). While this resort is small by comparison to many on the Platanias beach it provided a quality differential in most areas as expected from an Adults hotel. This was most apparent in the service and the food in the restaurant - while our work hours were outside of normal holiday breakfast times, the staff undertook to provide us a FULL buffet breakfast upto 45 minutes prior to normal openning times, with full service, including greek coffee making lessons.
On the business front the only issue with the hotel was the limited internet access, however this was experienced in most areas in Crete. I strongly recommend this hotel to couples and mature families as a place to relax around Chania.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views, however the rooms right on the beach offer the best views - rooms 313 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

Dear reviewer,

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel, and we hope your next visit will be only for holidays


Best Regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
527 reviews
78.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 108 in Chania Town
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
409 reviews
102.1 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#9 of 35 in Elounda
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Plaza

Property: Santa Marina Plaza
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#10 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTA MARINA PLAZA Hotel is built at the sun-blessed beach of Aghia Marina, at a mere 8 kilometers from the city of Chania. It’s looking forward to offering to every visitor of the island, an unforgettable stay in one of its 49 luxurious rooms and 2 Junior Suites.All hotel rooms have magnificent view of the sea and are equipped with a Mini-Bar, Air-Conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, two direct dial telephones, wireless internet line, electronic safe, bathroom covered in marble and a hair dryer. In addition to the above, Laundry service, Childcare service, Room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Plaza Hotel Agia Marina
Santa Marina Plaza Chania
Santa Marina Plaza Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing