We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dias Apartments - What a lovely place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dias Studios & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a studio apartment here from 16.7.13 to 23.7.13 and it was very nice indeed. (See photos) Our room was spacious, very clean and, with one exception, we had no grumbles at all. The one grumble was a minor annoyance and has been mentioned in other reviews on Tripadvisor - the single bed sheets are too small and constantly come untucked. The air conditioning was charged extra, which we had expected, and it was very effective. We certainly needed it. There's also free WiFi in all the rooms, although it isn't always reliable.

The views are pretty, over the pool or the nearby olive grove. The pool is excellent. The bar is well stocked and similar prices to other bars in the village. The staff are lovely, couldn't have been nicer. Each evening, after we had been out for a meal - I'll mention a couple of restaurants in a minute- we gathered with other guests at the pool bar for a chat and a final drink before bed. The atmosphere was lovely. We'll go again.

Agia Marina is just what you might expect of a smallish Greek resort. The old village is pretty, though up a very steep hill. The newer part is less picturesque but has a good range of bars, tavernas and shops. The beach is good, with plenty of sunbeds and lifeguards on duty all day. This is needed because it can get windy and the sea is a bit rough and unpredictable at times. It was great fun for wave jumping but not for swimming or snorkelling. however, we were told by several locals that this was unusual weather for July, more like September, in fact.

There is a lovely view across the bay to a small island and many of the sunbeds are owned by the bars along the beach, so, if you buy food or drinks, you don't have to pay for the sunbeds.

Restaurants.We only went to five because we revisited a couple that we really enjoyed. But we didn't have one bad or overpriced meal the whole week. We paid, on average, 30- 35 Euros for two of us - main course, half litre of wine, water and sometimes a dessert or starter.

The five we went to were -

The Skala, straight across the road from the apartments. Excellent lamb chops and Fouriariko. (Goat in a honey and white wine sauce.) Really nice staff, Ivan and Maria. We went twice.

Caretta Caretta, down on the beach and as romantic as it gets. We took the waiter's recommendation - baked lamb roll- and it was superb. Lean meat in a rich golden sauce. We went there twice too.

The Horiataki, up the hill a little way. Very good food and generous portions but the night we were there, there were a lot of insects and it put me off. I'm sure it's not like that all the time.

Family Taverna Roka, just past the Horiataki. It doesn't look much from the outside but has a huge terrace overlooking the olive groves, with a cooling breeze, which was very welcome the night we were there. The waiters were extremely handsome, as well as being efficient and friendly. Generous food and reasonable prices. They do a menu for 1 at about 11 - 12 Euros, which took some beating. Tsatsiki, Greek Salad and Souvlaki. Brilliant.

Aletri Taverna, across the road from the apartments. Again, good food, generous portions and a lovely atmosphere. It's up a few steps from the road, so you can't see how pretty it is until you get there. Worth a second visit.

This was our firsttime in Agia Marina and we would go back and, what's more, we would go back to the Dias Apartments.

Room Tip: Ground floor roooms don't have the views. The air con is worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magrat7451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We're just back from our 3rd stay at the Dias, stayed from 9-16th July, absolutely brilliant!!! Everywhere is clean, the family is lovely and it's all very relaxed! Maria does a wonderful job at cleaning the rooms and changing beds/towels every other day. Vladimir is the lovely new barman, Manuela and Kostantina at the bar during the day serving food and drinks! We'll definitely be back again next year to catch up with our friends we met on our first visit, Nikki and Barbara! Can't wait!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry8878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just been back to the diaz apartments for the third time and it was just brilliant,last time we went we were downstairs in an apartment which was ok but we prefer to be on 2nd floor so that you also get a nice view.Must mention Maria who cleans the studios she does a really good job and towel change is almost everyday so everything is always fresh,we dont go every year because we like to try something different,but we always come back because we know it works well and aghia marina theirs always something to do and Chania is only a short bus ride away.

Room Tip: i have mentioned the rooms before and our personal preference is a high floor but I dont think you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Been to the Diaz many times over the years family run and very clean throughout. The pool area that we don't bother with is very nice. We prefer the beach as the water down there is lovely very good for those who have kids as the water only gets deep gradually.
We ate mostly at the Horiataki which is up the road from the Diaz. Again family run and plenty on the plates at reasonable (for Greece) rates.
For a quite laid back holiday Id recommend the Diaz

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dereck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed from the 25th June to 9th July 2013 in the same studio on the top floor as last year. Nothing has changed its was just as good as the last two years, friendly staff, the accommodation, the pool and bar area and gardens kept spotlessly clean.
The only thing we noticed was that food prices had slightly gone up in the supermarkets, but restaurant prices were roughly the same.
The weather mostly sunny with temperatures between 35C(95F) and 40C(104F).
Maybe going back next year as friends to see and new places to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed last year august 2012 and it was our second time,we thought we would try the one bedroom apartment as the previous time we had a studio,but the problem was we were on the ground floor and it was dark and dismal as the ground at the back was at a higher level the window to the bedroom was small and to high up to see through.I know that there is one bed. aapartments on the first and second floor which have two balconies,as we had booked almost twelve months in advance we thought we would get one of these as there are much better than ground floor.We probably will go back sometime as they are very good overall and excellent location but will book a studio then we know what were getting

Room Tip: I personally would make sure that if booking a one bed.apt. that its on a higher floor because I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Quiet, relaxing, friendly and clean. Rooms were serviced daily.

Close to beaches and shops. Pool big enough.

Nice town centre

Air conditioning should be standard though. Need bigger bed sheets, they come off mattresses nightly!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Myorangecrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agia Marina hotels
1.3 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
896 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thalassa Beach Resort
Thalassa Beach Resort
#2 of 31 in Agia Marina
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#10 of 31 in Agia Marina
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dias Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dias Studios & Apartments

Address: Nea Kydonias, Agia Marina, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Agia Marina
Price Range: $35 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Dias Studios & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dias Studios & Apartments is a small and friendly hotel which is situated in Agia Marina. The hotel consists comfortable rooms with air-conditioning and safe deposits as well as designed rooms for people with special needs. You can have a swim in our swimming pool and enjoy a snack or drink in our bar by the pool, in a cozy atmosphere. You only need two minutes to get to the nearest beach on foot and ten minutes driving from the city of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dias Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dias Studios & Apartments Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing