We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good simple apartments at the Mirabello/Merabello”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agia Marina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merabello Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good simple apartments at the Mirabello/Merabello”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Just spent a week here at the beginning of October, excellent value as a last minute break.
We were in a 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool with a view out to the island and sea. The accommodation is simple, very clean and well situated if you want to be a little away from the busy main coast road. However it's only a few minutes, or 5 if you stroll, down to the main road with the usual restaurants and supermarkets every few hundred metres. Bus stop to Chania is also conveniently at the bottom of the road.
Basic kitchen with kettle and coffee maker, 1 & 1/2 rings cooker, under counter fridge and all the plates and utensils you need. Air con and safe box are extras but not extortionately priced at 55 and 10 euros for a week.
As already mentioned in other reviews the barman Lefteris is fantastic, his bbq night food is really good.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Netleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    23
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
85
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week at the Mirabello Apartments. We stayed in room number 5. The balcony overlooked the gardens and pool area which a great sea view.

The room was more than satisfactory for our needs. Spacious rooms and the kitchen provided the basic requirements (a hob, fridge/small freezer, sink, kitchen utensils).
The only issue we had with the room was that the towels were only changed once in the week we were there. Although very hot during the day we didn't require the use of the air conditioning as at night a nice breeze was blowing.

The pool area is very clean but very quiet in terms of the number of people using it at any one time. As other reviews have said the guy who works in the pool bar, Lefteris, is great. He can't do enough for you and he told me he doesn't take a day off in the 6 months he works there peak season!! We would have preferred the pool area to be a little busier but if you're there to relax this is the place for you.

The apartments are located at the top of a short hillside walk, approx 2 mins from the main road. There are a hand full to tavernas along the main road and a number of beachside restaurants. The main area of the resort is approx 10-15 mins walk along the main road. The old town is not far and has some very nice tavernas.

Buses run regularly along the main road to Chania and Platanias which offer a more busier resort with greater choice of places to eat and things to do.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but found it a little too quiet. If you are there for the quietness and a relaxing time this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitehotlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed in the Villa, number 3 which looks mostly inland but still a lovely view. No complaints in view of the fact that we paid just over £600 for 2 people/2 weeks - thats a bargain. Good points: peaceful location but minutes from beach/tavernas/shops; lovely pool (although we are not "pool people") and pretty gardens; clean, towels/sheets changed regularly; ample bbq area at villa for all to use; supermarket 50 yds from villa! You need to be mobile as there is a short hill from main road to apts/villa. Bad points: a little dated in the villa - the apts by the pool look more modern; savage prices at pool bar which is why it was empty most of the time (3.5 eu for 500ml beer); not much input from owners (which is not something that would bother us); we did have a prob with the water supply but it was fixed pronto. Places to go: La Rapida beach bar with free beds, looks like its dropped out of the hippy era, chilled! ; La Skala restaurant and the cafe/bar next door, go towards Old Aghia on the same road as the apts and drop down into the village; Gramvousa/Balos boat trip, Elafonisi coach trip - these two are a must along with catching the local bus to Paleochora in the south, a little peace of heaven, it takes 1.5 hours to get there and costs approx 5 eu one way but its worth it. Another hippy hideout that hasn't changed much since the '70s. Visit Chania in the afternoon/evening, its beautiful and I cannot emphasise enough the trip to Elafonisi as the mountains are fantastic. DON'T go on any trips with your tour operator, it will cost you at least a third more than booking locally and they go the same places and have terrific guides. One last thing - shop around for meals/drinks, some places are trying to make a killing. Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SolihullLolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Greeted on our arrival by Kostas the owner. He showed us to our room located in the Villa 100m from the main apartment block. Was very spacious with sea views from every window and large balcony. We stayed a fortnight and the maid visited regularly with fresh linen and towels 6 times or so.

Pool was situated at the main apartment block and proved ideal as it was only used by the residents of Mirabello and was never too busy and seemed very clean. Kostas seemed to show alot of pride in his apartment and area including the Gardens. Nothing was ever too much trouble and he even gave me a lift in his car one afternoon to find a shop open to change my Travellers Cheques.

The pool bar was open all day every day and manned by a top character called LefTherry. He was a great guy and kept us all entertained during the day. Also bringing us fresh Melon and suchlike several times and also played whichever music you like over the speakers.

The Apartments were ideally located in terms of access to Chania and to the many resteruants in the area. Of which I must say the food was excellent wherever we ate.

Anyone who goes here I'd also recommend the Cruise to Gramvousa and Balos island, pretty spectacular.

All in all very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed in villa 1 and it was very spacious with to outside area's were you could sit in the shade. the apartment its self was just what we needed, we went with my sister and her husband - we were never under each others feet as there was so much room. The gardens were lovely and it was just enough away from the main tourist area so nice and quiet and relaxing. The only trouble we had was the mossies even though we took loads of repellent they still managed to get us funny enough they never bit the men (strange that) I quess we were nicer than them.
The pool was just a little way down the road and was never crowded and a lot of the time we had it to ourselves which was great. The little bar and cafe at the pool was always open and Lefterry the barman was very funny and friendly and nothing was to much trouble for him.
We ate out at different places each night and never had a bad meal in any of them we particularly liked the Cactus and went there several times.
We only came back yesterday and want to go back there as it hasn't stopped raining here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We had excellent views of the sea from our balcony which had sun morning and evening but was blissfully cool at mid day. We found the owners friendly although their English was limited however Theo took the trouble to come and wave us all off as we left and he, his brother and father never failed to greet us in English or Greek. Levterry, the lively chap who ran the bar (open from about 9.30-frequently mid-night) spoke excellent English and was very helpful. His Greek salad was the best we had as it was so very fresh.

The gardens were wonderful - full of flowering plants. The pool a little small when all the apartments were full but very pleasant.

Within very easy reach were two supermarkets selling the basics and there were many more on the main road about 5 minutes walk away. It was wonderful to be away from the very busy main road which was tricky to cross. However there was a very good bus service into Chania along this road - every 15 minutes 1.50 euros each way.

The beach was lovely if crowded and was lined by tavernas - it was quite possible to eat somewhere different every day for two weeks.

We really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pritchard52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We had room No 6 which had views over the pool and sea was lovely.Rooms are quite spacious and have plenty of storage for clothes the only down side was there is no toaster supplied.As in must places in Greece the rooms are rather basic and you have to pay for air cond which is EUR55 a week.The pool is lovely and clean and as for the pool bar it was fab its run by a guy called Lefteris who is independant to the hotel and nothing is too much of a problem for him.He is a really lovely guy who works so we very hard.Every now and again he would bring you free melon and greek yogurt etc around the pool.The only thing i would say is that it is quite expensive in Crete and if you are on a budget i would suggest taking stuff with you as that is what a lot of people had done.The beach was very clean lovely sand and the water very clear.There is not really a lot to do at Crete its very quite we found it very relaxing and completly chilled out.We are hoping to go back again in May next year.If you are going there please say hi to Lefteris for us tell him Richard and Ruth will see him next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthieRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.1 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#8 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elotis Suites
Elotis Suites
#16 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merabello Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merabello Apartments

Property: Merabello Apartments
Address: Ioannou Kapodistria & Voukoleos, Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Agia Marina
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mirabello Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Merabello Apartments Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing