We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merabello Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$128
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrion Resort Hotel(Agia Marina)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
CHC Galini Sea View(Agia Marina)
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Eleftheria(Agia Marina)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Folia Apartments(Agia Marina)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vergina Beach Hotel(Agia Marina)(Great Value!)
$167
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iolida Beach Hotel(Agia Marina)(Great Value!)
$95
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Elotis Suites(Agia Marina)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
130
24
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
24
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main blockold villageminute walkbedroom apartmentpool barthe bussurrounding gardensthe gardens and pool areaowner kostastop floorair convery busy main roadapartment was greatolympic websitetwo weeksshower curtaingreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 157 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I booked this accommodation on the strength of the reviews, below. And I was not disappointed.

Most mention the key features which make Merabello a superb choice. So as well as commending Kostas for the upkeep, especially the gardens, and Leftheris - who takes a break from the pool bar only to go for cigarettes - I'll add some stuff which I didn't read about beforehand.

Location: this is on the landward side of the main road, opposite the Alexandra Beach hotel and Santa Marina Plaza. If you look on Google satellite, you can pick out the cemetery immediately to the north. It's also opposite the Ekavi apartments although this is mislocated on Google maps. From the main block where we stayed, it was a gentle three minute walk to the nearest bus stop just to the left as the main road is reached. Bus fare to Chania 1.60 euro. Don't assume you'll squeeze onto the first bus that arrives!

The side road to reach Merabello was surprisingly popular with coaches, but as the pool is raised above the road level, it's not obtrusive. Unfortunately there is a layby behind the main block which two coaches used for overnight parking. And when they start up in the mornings, if you are using the bedrooms on that elevation, you'll notice - they warm up the engines for a good 15 minutes...

There is (free) coded wifi at the pool bar, and this just about extends to the balconies of the main block. My daughter connected to the open wifi at the Ekavi when the signal was weakest.

We had a 1 bed/3 person apartment (room 2), which I thought was well appointed for Greece. Kettle and coffee machine in the kitchen, shower curtain in the bathroom (stuck a couple of pictures alongside this review), plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.

Temperatures were warm - 33 degrees on the shaded pool bar thermometer during the day. There's advertised hire of a/c units and fans, but after acclimatising on the first night, we didn't feel the need to enquire. We were not troubled by mosquitos.

The nearby supermarket has a good bread section (if you get up reasonably early) and comparable prices to the bigger operations in the town. There's plenty of choice to eat in fairly flat surrounds. The beach is no more than six minutes walk away, large, but arranged into sections which have different atmospheres

All in all, it's a smashing location. I can see why people return here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SaddleworthSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just got round to writing a review for the Mirabello, which we visited late June/early July. Booked through the Coop and had the choice of several destinations for an impulsive week away to unwind. On the basis of the good things people wrote on Trip Advisor, we chose the Mirabello, having been to Crete once before (Elounda) and finding it a charming destination.

Every word we read on Trip Advisor is true, this is a wonderful place. The famous Lefty is great fun and looked after us well. His Greek night is one we will never forget. We made made some great friends that we will keep in touch with.

The apartments are spotlessly clean and all overlook the pool and the bay. The pool and bar area are a great place to congregate and meet other people. Because it is a small complex (less than 10 apartments), it is a very personal experience and you tend to get to know the other guests (all from UK) very well. The owner, Kostas, works very hard to keep the gardens in good order and will sort out any problems without fuss.

It is well situated, with a short walk to the main road and easy access by bus to Chania. This is well worth a visit, the harbour is as beautiful as any we've seen. Supermarkets are within very easy reach, as is the lovely sandy beach. It is also within an easy (flat) 10 minute walk of the old town, with an excellent selection of restaurants that not only spoil you with their wonderful food and friendly family service, but also surprise you with their great value for money. We visited Horatikos and Manolis and loved both, but there are others that we are yet to explore.

In terms of excursions, we went on the Land Rover safari. Fantastic, don't miss it!

All in all, there was only one serious problem with the Mirabello and that was that we had to leave and come home. Wish we had booked 2 weeks instead. Next time we will. Would recommend without hesitation and would return like shot!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank crjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Returned to Agia Marina again this year and would like to take this opportunity to say that these apartments are as good as it was last year. Great location, good rooms and lovely people staffing them. See my review from May 2012

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrypoole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went for the week 16th July until the 22nd. This was my 1st time in Crete and it did not dissappoint. The apartments are lovely and clean with great views out to the sea. We stayed in apartment 9 and whilst we were told we had an inland view we looked out over the pool, gardens, bar and out towards the sea. Nothing is too much for the owner or the bar manager should you have a problem. Saturday night the bar manager (Lefty) throws on a big traditional Greek BBQ complete with dancers, get yourselves involved, it really is a great night.

The old town is to the right of the Hotel, the main town of Agia Marina is just a few mins walk either via the old town or by dropping down to the main road and turning left. Plenty of Tavernas can be found in both location all serving good quality food, and plenty of it.

Room Tip: Good views from all rooms, but rooms 7, 8, 9 & 10 are all on the top floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of July and it was fabulous. Great apartments, lovely and clean and great views. Friendly people and nothing was too much trouble. Apartment number 8 has a wonderful view over the pool, gardens and sea. The pool was always clean and ample sunbeds. Beach is only a 5 minute walk and is lovely and sandy. Ample choice of restaurants within easy walking distance. Overall a great holiday and I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews