We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Briiliant Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirabello Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agia Marina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mirabello Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Briiliant Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had two weeks at the Mirabello from 22nd May. It is at the top end of typical Greek accommodation. Our one bedroom apt was spacious, would easily take 3 people with a 3rd bed in the living area, plenty of hanging and drawer space, adequate kitchen facilities and plenty of hot water with a decent shower. The balcony had a pleasant view out over the swimming pool and sea. There is some road noise but nothing major. Costas, the young owner, and the maid keep the place clean and tidy. It is an easy walk down a slight hill to the beach, main road and tavernas, or up into the old town. Turn left out of the place and there is a supermarket 50m away, no probelm carrying water.
If you love Greece/Crete you'll love this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Del-&-Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    23
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
84
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 for one week. Like someone else said, "I wished we had booked an extra week". The rooms were clean, spacious and reasonably well equipped, but what made them special was the fabulous view of the sea and the coast that could be seen from the balconies. The pool and large garden also looked good, but I prefer beaches, and a good local beach was just a short 5 minute walk down a hill that wasn't particularly steep. At night we visited the excellent and good value restaurants of Manolis, Synaxis and Roka in the old village (much more interesting and atmospheric than the establishments on the main drag), which was less than 15 minutes walk away. Didn't make it to Chania itself but that was a 20 minute bus ride away - bus stop at bottom of hill on way to the beach. Finally, do not miss the meeting with the Olympic rep, Sharon, who is extremely knowledgeable about the area

Room Tip: All rooms in the main block are good but the second floor rooms will have the better views. The smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terrypoole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed at the Mirabello apartments through Olympic holidays and the holiday was very cheap. The apartments were very spacious even though I was in a studio room and the view was lovely overlooking the island across the way from Agia Marina. The pool and garden were well kept although I have to say I found the pool guy a bit irritating, very loud and a bit of an attention seeker. Having said that I travelled around the island in a car so didn't spend to much time there. As a base for Western Crete and Hania the location is excellent. Agia Marina itself is a bit over commercialised but if you walk up into the hills off the main road then you're soon in the original village with many more traditional tavernas etc. All in all good accommodation with no problems.

Room Tip: Room 8 had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kdoran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

This place is lovely! It is situated on a hill over-looking the small costal town of Agia [Saint] Marina (about 8 miles from Chania) and is about 10 minutes away from everything you will want to acquire during your stay in Crete. The nearest supermarket is 200M from the front of the main Apt. block (next to the villa) and the main shopping street (the old national road) is about 5 minutes away down a short hill (which was not a problem for my 79 year old mother-in-law). If you want to visit the beach, it will take you about 7 minutes to get there.

Merabello Apts (spelt correctly here!) is kept in superb condition by Kostas (the owner) and the pool bar is managed by Lefteris. Both will provide you with the personal touch when it comes to service - I noticed that Lefteris plays specific types of music depending on the people sitting around the pool! While we were there with my Greek Mother-in-law, he played lovely Greek music, when the kids were in the pool, he played contemporary music - when we left, and Kostas came to the front of the building to see everybody off.

Lefteris is a wonderfully kind man who really made the effort to serve/ entertain my Mother-in-law each day even though he was busy with the many things he had to deal with. Each morning her brought her coffee and spent some time chatting to her – like I said, the personal touch well mastered. He has a great sense of humour as well as a keen political mind so if you want to chat about current affairs, go and see him as he always has time for people.

The property is bordered by 2 small roads that lead to the centre of town/ up to the hills to the side/ at the back of the property and is surrounded by rows of olive trees. Kostas also has a beautiful private garden that he maintains diligently (full of tomatoes, figs and other vegetables) – it really does give a feel of home from home. The apartments themselves are clean and spacious and each of them in the main building has a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. They come with a safe and a/c for hire (alternatively, you can hire a fan if you don’t like a/c).

It is a beautifully quiet place. Apart from the occasional coach delivering tourists, there is hardly a sound (with the exception of the cicadas which come to life when the sun comes up). As there are only a few apartments, the place never seems to be over-crowded and caters for all from babies to adolescents to the elderly. It really was the best self-catering holiday I have been on (in over 30 odd years of travelling).

I have no qualms about recommending this place to anybody that loves the Cretian way of life and self-catering holidays – All of the tavernas we visited served good food at a reasonable price. If you go, visit the harbour in Chania as well as the indoor market there (and the restaurants behind it in the medeval alleyways). It’s a magical place at sunset and in the evenings – the Cretans love to dine in the evenings; they bring their families with them, so you will fell very safe. A taxi there from Ag. Marina costs 12-15 euros each way (there are lots of taxi ‘ranks’ along the road-side in town so finding one is not difficult). Alternatively, you can get the 142 bus into town (costs 2 euros each way).

All-in-all, it was a wonderful holiday (missing it already) and my wife and myself will be visiting Merabello next year as it offers exceptional VFM.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank deschanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

i choose these apartments because i wanted to go to chania and i was on a very (and i mean very) limited budget.The reviews i had read were very good and i totally agree with them.
I went with my two daughters who are 25 and 22 and we just wanted a nice quiet break with every thing within walking distance.
The apartments were exceptionally clean and well furnished,the shower was powerful and the towels were not tiny!
Ihave sent people here since and they have also had a good time

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelagentHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

I was really impressed by the good size of these apartments and the lovely grounds they were set in. A nice pool with bar and friendly bar man ( Lefty). Sheets and towels changed every 3 days and bins emptied every day. Also constant hot water. A good location - not too far from bars and restaurants but near enough to walk to and a pleasant walk to beach/old town and the environs. Would visit again. One apartment bythe pool and we stayed in the villa which was about 2 minutes walk to the main apartment - villa catered for 5 families/couples - lovely lawned area. Worth a visit. About 30 minutes transfer time to airport. 1.60 euros to Chania on bus for single adult.

Room Tip: Upstairs room in villa.For view of sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCHey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We've just returned from another great week at the Mirabello having spent a week there last year around this time. And it'll probably be the first apartments we check next summer as well. The reason? Well, the apartments are a good size, clean, well located ..... and excellent value. If you just want to sit around the pool or on the beach all day, and eat out in the evening (which is what we did most of the time), then it's fine. If you want it as a base to get around western Crete, then that's fine as well. It does what it does well, and at a great price. One minor niggle, though : the noise. As well as the incessant cicadas in July and August, traffic can be a bit noisy at times. (This may be because we were in the room closest the road this year; last year we were the other side of the apartments and I can't remember it being an issue ..... but then I had forgotten the cicadas as well LOL). And, of course, there's Lefteris.

Room Tip: Room #1 is next to the road and traffic noise is noticeable, unlike our room at the other end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.1 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elotis Suites
Elotis Suites
#16 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#7 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabello Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Apartments

Property: Mirabello Apartments
Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Agia Marina
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mirabello Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Mirabello Apartments Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing