We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful landscape, great guide, and horses were well groomed and cared for making for a wonderful morning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Los Suenos Horseback Riding

Vista Los Suenos Horseback Riding
Ranked #4 of 26 things to do in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horseback riding is perhaps one of the best ways to discover the wonders of the rainforest; we have some of the nicest horses and the best views in the area, come and discover nature at its best in our private exclusive 80-acre property. We have 2 great options to choose from:Option #1 This is our signature 3 hour tour. The tour starts at our beautiful Herradura base just 10 minutes from Jaco Beach and Los Suenos area, once you arrive we will get prepared to depart on your journey, to the waterfalls and swimming pools, if you are lucky along the way you will have the opportunity to spot some great wild life such as: Tucans, Scarlet Macaws, White Face Monkeys. Upon arrival to the swimming area we will set up some fresh tropical fruits and water, and you will have some time to hang out and enjoy the waterfalls and natural slide. Duration: 3 hours. Departure Times: 9:00am, 10am, 1:00pm and 2:00pm. What to bring: Water shoes and swimwear , mosquito repellent, long pants, towel, sunscreen, sunglasses and camera. Includes: Bilingual guides, entrance to the Waterfalls, insurance, helmets, fruits and water.Option #2 This is our shorter version of our Horseback Tour, The tour starts at our beautiful Herradura base just 10 minutes from Jaco Beach and Los Suenos area, once you arrive we will get prepared to depart on your journey, this tour will take you to some great mountain trails, if you are lucky along the way you will have the opportunity to spot some great wild life such as: Tucans, Scarlet Macaws, White Face Monkeys. Duration: 1.5 hours. Departure Times: 9:00am, 11am and 1:00pm. What to bring: Long pants, sunscreen, mosquito repellent, sunglasses and camera. Includes: Bilingual guides, insurance, helmets, and water.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful landscape, great guide, and horses were well groomed and cared for making for a wonderful morning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Eli was our guide and truly knew the terrain as well as the wildlife. This was the best ride after Lake Tahoe. The ride into the rainforest was amazing, after tying up the horses we hiked about a half mile directly downhill to the waterfalls and pool. I thought I'd never make it back up the hill BUT Eli's expert tour guide skills took us on a nature tour up the hill which truly made the hike back up the hill much easier stopping occasionally for a teaching moment.

Eli talked about the different homeopathic leaves, bark sharing its medicinal purposes! Amazing The ride back was great with a little trotting along the path, fun!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruready46wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    18
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way Better Than I Planned On”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Horses were in great shape, well groomed, and well cared for. Guides were greatest, very knowledgeable , informative about area and Costa Rica, very fun and caring, concerned to make it the best for us. Pointed out birds, animals and vegetation. Headed right into the mountains on a super maintained trail. The waterfall and pools that we hiked down to were the highlight of my trip. Loved the time we had to play in it and swim in the pools. Friends who had been to Costa Rica before us said they didn't go because they have horses at home, they truly missed out. Hope you get to go and don't miss out. Do take extra pair of water sandals so you can keep your shoes dry for ride and we also strapped our towel onto the back of the saddle. Loved that you could gallop on way back if you wanted.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jungle Spa Horsebackriding Adventure - great fun with kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Do it! This was my daugther's favorite part of our Costa Rica vacation, tied with surfing in Jaco. I (mom) & kids (8 & 11) found the beginning of the ride a bit hot/humid, but quickly recovered in the shade of the jungle canopy, and then the waterfall/swimming holes were all the more refreshing. We had such a great time playing in the water. Our guide was excellent and spoke English well. The short hike up from the waterfall was also nice, as he entertained us with just the right amount of interesting info & tricks using the local plants, and that provided a few natural rest points. He also went above & beyond by giving us extra sunscreen & by taking and emailing pictures. A few tips: wear clothing with good sun protection that you can swim in (okay to ride back damp & no place to change at waterfall). There are clean bathrooms at the start/end of the trip, and the office safely held some items for us during the ride. No need to carry water, as they provided some along with a nice fruit snack at the waterfall. We will definitely do this again next time we're there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank want2behelpful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Horseback Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I live in Costa Rica and brought my son and a few of his friends to ride horses...the tour was amazing!!! The views were breathtaking and the tour guides were incredibly helpful...especially since I was with younger children(12 and 13 year olds). Bottom line is I have only good things to say...definitely an experience not to be passed up!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrayoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and daughters loved this activity...very relaxing and the waterfall was refreshing. Guide was excellent and had outstanding English.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vista Los Suenos Horseback Riding also viewed

Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
 
Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Vista Los Suenos Horseback Riding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing