We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is Paradise !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is Paradise !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We came to this hotel expecting a good hotel and a ugly place specially the beach .
We have been here for 4 days and we don't want to go away from this place.....
Hotel is hard to describe it and be really fair .....service is Fantastic ...there is nothing and I really mean nothing that you ask or wish that they will not get it for you ,from room service to managment they are incredible motivated ,incredible happy and eager to help you in anything you need . we have stayed in many other 5 star hotel world wide like Ritz Carlton ,Hiltons , Penninsula and so on and we have never experience service like the Marriott Los suenos ever before ....some names come to my attention Andres from the pool bar and Karen ...Incredible helpul and always went the extra mile to help us and make sure we had everything we needed....one example of this I am allergic to sea food today when we where having a snack at the pool ..Karen order a ceviche de Mango for me as she notice I could not have sea food !!!!!!!!!!! wow this is service .
everyone we had talk around in the hotel is really happy to work here and I think this is the big difference in the service they provide ,people is happy to work here and highy motivate.
The swimming pool is fantastic , water temperature is just perfect, the kids club is fantastic to keep little ones doing some out doors activities and arts and crafts ..if parents want to relax a little time alone....rooms are nice ,with fantastic ocean views ...the restaurants have really good food and the brekfast buffe is amazing ,really good differnet food ....yummy !!!
The Beach is extremely clean ,it is not white sand and it is not like the beaches in Guanacaste area but it is an ok beach ,clean ,sand is dark ..BUT this hotel is only 45 minutes from san Jose ....( guanacaste is 4 hours or more ) so for us travleing with small kids we wanted a near by beach hotel with kids club ...and we made the correct decision ,this place is paradise I strongly recomend it !

Room Tip: ask for seaview rooms . also main floor rooms are fantastic with exit to the pool area and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IvanainChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana D, General Manager at Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review!!! We are very happy and proud of our staff! We truly think that our associates are the best. We will share your review with our associates, specially with Andres and Karen. Thank you for choosing our resort! We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    574
    168
    67
    37
See reviews for
713
769
52
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Los Suenos Marriott is a True Resort in every sense of the definition. With a friendly staff, an amazing pool, a casino, restaurant options, a golf course, games, and an absolutely ridiculous breakfast buffet the resort is a vacation in itself. You may find yourself content staying on the premises and actually forget that you are visiting one of the coolest tourist places in the world. No wifi in the rooms and restaurants (you could pay $13 a day for it) was frustrating to me. It is also a little father from Jaco beach than we anticipated. The hotel charged us $16 to use their cab service. It cost us $10 on the way back for a taxi. Overall it is really hard to knock this place. It is a really nice place to be.

Room Tip: Ground level has a nice balcony to sit outside. The upper levels have a six inch platform that is us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msacco6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Los Suenos is a beautiful resort we loved it and had no issues from check in to check out. While we are only in the hotel for breakfast and at night the resort provided us with the comfort we needed after returning from a long day of tours and trails through the rainforest. The breakfast was great there was so many options to choose from and all were yummy. We had a resort credit so on our last night we ate dinner at the La Visita and it was amazing too. The servers were very friendly and attentive.

Our room overlooked the rainforrest it was a decent view. The A/C worked great and the water in the shower was hot. I could hear other guest in the room near me but it was just the movement of the chairs on the tile. You can hear people talking in the hall but that was no issues it was usually in the morning when we were already up.

The pools were very clean and beautiful. Near by is the marina which is walking distance and it has other restuarants and shops.

We rented a car and ate off site for lunch and dinner with the exception of one night. The restuarants off site in Jaco were amazing. So many different options that were so so good and affordable.

Overall this resort provided us with the comforts of home. We felt safe and comfortable and I would stay here again. Loved it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The resort is beautiful, with comfortable common rooms and elevators serving all sides of the property. The surrounding area is a wonderfully maintained landscape and feels like a tropical garden. There are several pools, a children's club, golf course, spa and casino. Tours can be booked easily at the tour office. The breakfast is spectacular and served until 11, giving plenty of time for morning walk or swim beforehand. Service was exceptional and the staff was very friendly. The beach doesn't compare to the white sand of Florida, but is still the Pacific and a wonderful backdrop in the view.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We used Marriott points to book our stay here. While we typically stay at smaller, more local hotels, our time here was relaxing and nice! The resort is beautiful, very secure (families with kids or who've not traveled internationally a lot will appreciate this feature!) and offers great amenities like a gym, spa, golf course, restaurants and gorgeous pool!The staff are top notch - professional, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WifewithBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our trip definitely had some highs and lows. First the highs - the resort was beautiful. Like others have said, the beach is not very nice but the pool was spectacular. As we are Marriott reward members, they upgraded us to ocean view rooms which was very nice. Staff friendly.

Now the lows - somewhere between arrival pick up and arriving in our room, our camera bag (including our video camera and camera - with my son's graduation pics on it) came up missing. We blame ourselves for not keeping a closer eye on it so please watch your belongings carefully. Also, the food was very good but expensive. There is a nice path to the marina where we enjoyed "The Hook-up" restaurant. If you don't have a car, plan to spend a lot of money on food. Also, there were no screens on the balcony doors and they advise you to keep them closed due to tropical insects and humidity so the room got very stuffy and stinky. Most ocean view rooms do not have real balconies (only about one foot wide). Not sure why they didn't add real balconies? Also the surrounding area outside the resort is not very nice.

We did the following excursions and here are our thoughts:

1) Manuel Antonio Park with Los Suenos Tours- I had heard so much positive and to be honest, I was a little disappointed. It was very crowded and much smaller than we expected. We also thought it would have more spectacular views. Our guide was very nice and we did see some sloths and monkeys which were cool. The beach was pretty but there were pesky racoons which kept trying to get into my bag - even though I didn't carry any food.

2) My husband and teenage sons ziplined and had a lot of fun - they used Vista Los Suenos Tours.

3) Tortuga Island - We booked Calypso Cruises through Los Suenos Tours. We enjoyed the catamaran ride to the island but the snorkeling wasn't that great (crowded and not that many variety of fish)

4) Costa Rica Waterfall Tours - We booked "The Explorer" and had Will for a guide. Great guy and a lot of fun but we warned it is advertised as easy but I do not agree. You climb a lot of slippery waterfalls and even have to use a couple of ropes to climb. The guide helps you if you are uneasy but it is still not for the faint of heart.

Overall, I gave the resort 4 stars based on the views and the pool. Would I go back to Costa Rica? Probably but would try a different area of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here in late July with 19 other friends and family. The resort is nice if;
1) You like the big resort that feels like you are in the USA.
It does have a remarkable pool for the kids
2) You are not a fan of the beach and ocean.
The beaches are a dirty black sand and the ocean was murky.
3) Know what room you are getting.
Read below
4) You don't mind hearing your neighbors in the room next door like they were in the room with you.
Very thin walls and adjoining room doors allow all sound through.

We reserved a room with a balcony which was on the 4th floor thinking we would sit out and enjoy coffee in the morning or a glass of wine at night. When we got to the room, we had a beautiful view but the balcony is only 12 inches deep. If you want a balcony, be sure to request the "Full Balcony". The first floor rooms also have a full deck where you can walk out to the pool, etc.

Don't get the wrong impression. This is a truly beautiful place. However, it is away from town all by itself so doesn't have the atmosphere of a quaint village that allows you to see what Costa Rica is all about. The Marina Restaurant, The Hook Up has the best food which is a short walk from the resort. Also, opt for the included breakfast. It will save money and it is a great spread.

The casino is a joke. I don't know why they bother. It has the feeling of being in someone's garage playing games like modified Blackjack and 3 card poker with horrible odds.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, be sure to ask for the full balcony. The small one is only 12 inches deep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulverde2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herradura
1.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
24.5 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Property: Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing