We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it and Would Definitely Return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it and Would Definitely Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

May, 2013: We flew into San Jose and took a 45 minute shuttle to reach to the Marriott in Los Suenos. First let me say it is a beautiful setting and property. The hotel has a hacienda/red tile roof feel. Since it is in the rain forest it is very lush with beautiful grassy areas, great pool with beautiful ocean views.

LOBBY
The lobby is beautiful and very big with lots of neat sitting areas. There is also a nice patio off the lobby which overlooks the pool area and you have beautiful views.

ROOMS
When we checked in we were placed in a standard room. The room was comfortable with everything we needed. However, my big disappointment is that MOST of the standard rooms have what is called a 'princess balcony'. Basically you can open your doors, but get literally about one foot on the balcony and nothing else. I was shocked that this hotel was designed this way. You have amazing views with these horrible princess balconies. My suggestion is to secure a room with a FULL balcony when you make your reservation. Because we were so disappointed with the balconies we did ask to get moved to a room with a balcony when one became available. To our surprise, we were moved to a suite with TWO full balconies. As far as I could tell, there were only two suites with full balconies, plus a presidential suite, but you would have to ask when making a reservation. This suite was great...we loved it. It gave us lots of room and if you're a family, the extra room will definitely come in handy. AND, the suite could be adjoined with a standard room next door, also with a balcony. So if we were to go back with our kids, we would definitely get a suite again. Other than the balcony situation, we had no complaints about the rooms...they were very nice. Also, you will want a room on either the 3rd or 4th floor. The lobby is actually on the 2nd floor and if you look out toward the pool you will see that the trees are blocking your view. If you're up on either the 3rd or 4th floor you will be above the trees and you will have a much better view.

POOL
The pool area was great. It's a decent sized hotel, but you don't have endless choices of chairs right next to the pool. However, there is a fabulous, HUGE grass area between the pool and beach with TONS of room to really spread out or accommodate a large group. In fact, we found it so hot right next to the pool on the concrete, but quite lovely in the grass area, as you got a nice breeze on hot days. And, there are lots of trees, so if you want shade you have shade from the trees. If you want to sunbathe, you just have to adjust your chair based on where the sun is. We loved the tree area...it was so wide open. And, our chairs were the first row of chairs on the grassy area, so you were only 10 steps away from the pool. They have wait staff that will bring you drinks and food so it was great.

BEACH
The beach was ok. If you're used to the beautiful white-sand beaches of the Caribbean or Florida, you will not be impressed with these beaches. The water was very nice and warm, but the water is not clear and the sand is dark. Plus, it is a good minute or two walk from the pool to the beach...it is a very wide space to the ocean. Since we were not very impressed with the beach we spent most of our time at the pool area and had a blast.

IGUANAS
We had a great time watching the iguanas that roam freely all over the property. However, if you are at the pool in the grass area, beware that the iguanas WILL take your food right off of your plate, WITH YOU SITTING THERE!! My husband found out the hard way. While he was taking a bite of one 1/2 of his sandwich, the other 1/2 half was snatched off of his plate by an iguana who ran off with it. Needless to say the rest of us were falling off of our chairs laughing as my husband was yelling choice words at the iguana. It was hilarious! Just make sure you "shoo" them away if they get too close.

FOOD
The restaurant selection at the hotel was good, but nothing that was out of this world.

Nuevo Latino - Their "fine dining" restaurant seemed like it was an after-thought as it is in this very small room with tables. We never ate there because there are no open-air tables...it is all inside, and it's tucked away behind the pool. Since we never ate there I have no idea what the food was like.

La Vista Restaurant - This is where we ate most of the time. You can sit inside or outside. It's great for families, has a very nice buffet, very comfortable and the food is very good.

Puesta del Sol Lobby Bar - This is adjacent to the front desk and it's a very neat place. It is a great place to have drinks and appetizers outside on the balcony. You will have beautiful views and it's a fun atmosphere.

Arrecife Bar and Grill - This is AT the pool with 'swim-up' pool seats. It's a fun place with good food and great atmosphere for hanging out by the pool.

CASINO (on the property)
Ok, for anyone who is used to gambling in Vegas, you will be sorely disappointed. First of all, they don't have true Blackjack tables. Only "Rummy" blackjack tables. Meaning, if you get 'blackjack' and the dealer gets 21, you push...you do NOT get paid the Vegas odds. You only get the better odds if you get a rummy (3 5's, 3 8's, etc). We saw about 15 blackjacks and NEVER saw a rummy They do have slots and a bar, however, you do NOT get free drinks. You must pay for each drink. They would get so much more business in the casino of they had true blackjack tables/odds and had a free drink policy. After our experience we never went back and every time we walked by there, the place was void of customers. It was fun to do once, but wouldn't go to it again.

MARINA (off-property, but a very nice walk)
The Los Suenos Marina is a nice 10-minute walk from the Marriott. The walk is on a nice winding path and any of the staff can direct you as to where the brick path begins. While walking you will pass through a lovely tunnel of trees. As you are walking through the tunnel FROM the Marriott TO the Marina make sure you look up when you are almost to the end of the tunnel (closest to the Marina). There is a family of bats that were hanging there when we were there. Once you reach the marina you will be amazed at the amount of beautiful yachts that this marina calls home. There is a private community called the Los Suenos Resort and included in the homes/fees is the marina. Great photo ops if you're into photography. There is a great place to have lunch there called, "The Hookup". It is upstairs with beautiful views of the marina and ocean. Very relaxed and casual with a fun bar and good food. There are also a few shops at the marina in the main courtyard...worth checking them out.

Overall we had a wonderful time and would definitely return to this hotel. The setting, the staff, the pool, etc, were great and we would highly recommend it. We look forward to our next trip there!!

Room Tip: --When making your reservation, be specific in telling them that you want a room with a FULL balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheAZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    572
    168
    67
    37
See reviews for
712
769
52
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
broadlands,va
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our second time in Costa Rica. This time we tried staying in two different hotels. First stay was at the Los Suenos Marriott. Beautiful hotel with a very nice pool and well kept grounds. The staff was very good from the front desk, restaurant staff, bar waiters to the cleaning staff. All of the staff we encountered was friendly and professional. The room we had was very nice. We were upgraded to an ocean view with a balcony because we are Gold card Marriott. So we can not complain about the upgrade but I was disappointed in the bathroom in this level of room. I felt that the prices at this resort were high for where we were. The beach area was disappointing but that is not the fault of the Marriott. The next hotel we stayed at was much more to my taste-the location, the staff and the wild life. We stayed at Hotel Parador near Manuel Antonio. As stated by other people breakfast is included at the Parador at the Los Suenos the breakfast buffett was in the mid $20 pp range. Wi-fi and use of computers were free at Parador and $15 per day at Los Suenos for wi-fi. We saw many more animals at the Parador but did see macaws and parrots at Los Suenos. Los Suenos was lovely but expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vawert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We made the mistake of staying at another resort before this hotel. The fact is that we would have been overwhelmed with the beauty of this location if not for staying at a far more amazing location before Los Suenos Marriott.

This hotel has a good wifi signal to a poor internet connection of 1.5.mbs and they want almost $15 per day for each device you use. You have to pay for breakfast and everything is so expensive (including the tours). This is a great place if you have lots of money that you don't really care about and kids that need to be babysat. I recommend somewhere more local and independent like the first place we stayed. At Hotel Parador the wifi is free, breakfast is included, and tours are about 20% less in price.
Joshua Edward Churchtown

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaChurchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was @ Los Suenos for my brother's wedding, the venue is a very nice place (village, lol) yes! it's huge!! The staff is friendly and helpful but impersonal. The venue sets a relaxing tone, rooms and beds are very comfortable. The restos are really good and the pools are awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaDesmarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just came back from a girls trip and stayed in the Del Mar condos on the property. I booked our condo (which was a 3 bedroom) thru vrbo.com. The grounds, beach club and golf course in this resort are 5 STARS!!!! We enjoyed our stay 100%. We had sandwiches after finishing a round of golf and they were the best sandwiches I have ever had - very delicious!!! We also enjoyed the casino and everyone we met were very friendly and helpful with any questions. I would most definitely recommend this resort for anyone going to this area of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJohnson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Want to stay in a beautiful luxury resort in Costa Rica? One with all the wonderful things that make travel a terrific experience? Then look no farther than the Marriott at Los Suenos on the Pacific Ocean.

The hotel is open air in the public spaces reminiscent of a beautiful hacienda, with beautifully landscaped grounds, winding pools that provide privacy and intimacy, waterfalls from a Roman viaduct, soaring, vaulted ceilings in the lobby, and special amenities like a golf course and casino. At night the grounds are romantically lit for strolls in the moonlight and you can hear the surf lapping at the beach.

Rooms are nicely appointed with large bathrooms, comfortable beds, and luxurious linens.

Best of all, the service was spectacular. Everyone makes you feel welcome and special, from the front desk to the restaurant waitstaff to the housekeepers. The business center is excellent, the restaurants are terrific with wonderful food, dazzling atmosphere, and outstanding service.

This is a place to stay and be pampered.

Room Tip: You can ask for a king bed, but their are no guarantees. A late checkin will get you two queens ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Possibly the best resort Marriott I've seen. The lobby is huge and open, the check-in line is always efficient. The people from the check-in to the room service, the car park valets are all very friendly. The rooms are a good size befitting resort quality place. The pool is a complex maze of passageways that travel under bridges. Those who start at the volley ball side are rewarded by finding the pool bar after the full course. There are several choices of restaurants. The location is near the busy town of Jaco and just south of a handful of parks and adventures. Perfect for those who do not want to travel far from the beach and pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herradura
1.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
24.5 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Property: Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing