We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Premier Marriott Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
275 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Premier Marriott Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in an ocean facing room during the third week of April. This resort is part of the Marriott chain is one of their finer resorts. The hotel has a golf course and casino on site, as well as a restaurant and bar.

The location is roughly an hour south of the capital city of San Jose. The resort is ideally located in Playa Herradura and very close to Jaco (surf city) and the Tarcoles River (lots of American Crocodiles).

The resort has a number of interconnecting pools that can bring a smile to children and adults alike. The ocean in front is beautiful to look at but less desireable than other locations with a short drive.

The front desk attendants are not exactly first class. Our check-in was delayed for over an hour without a valid excuse or an apology. The housekeepers were good but had to be reminded to change the sheets during our stay. The bellmen were very helpful and entertaining.

I would definately return to the resort, as it is close to Manuel Antonio, Dominical and all points south, as well as San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    535
    157
    60
    30
See reviews for
658
706
43
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent 8 wonderful nights at Los Suenos 4/10-4/18. We can't say enough great things about stay. The service was top quality, EVERYONE very friendly and attentive. David at LaVista consistently went out of his way, even when we were not in his section. Adolfo and entire staff at golf course were great, beautiful course!! I would definitely recommend Piko Travel (under the tent on the beach) see Gerald or Valerie. We did the trip to Manuel Antonio National Park, great half day tour. Ronald was our driver great and gave us a lot of information on the area. If you go PLEASE request Danny Garcia as your guide- he was amazing, we saw sloths, monkeys, deer, lizards, iguanas, and a viper. Many of these we never would have even notice just walking through on our own. He is very passionate about his job and it shows! As far as a transfer to and from the airport we strongly recommend Toucan Limo. Please contact Luis and Rosie, extremely nice couple. Our flight was over 2.5 hours late due to an medical emergency on board and an unexpected stop. We were so relieved that Rosie was still waiting for us!! If anyone has any questions I would be more than happy to see if I can help you :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SueRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at this resort 3 times and I feel more relaxed each time! My son married a Costa Rican so Costa Rica is on the agenda for many visits. This resort is family friendly and the service is great. The access from the airport in San Jose is easy and the drive to Manual Antonio National Park is also easy. The people are so friendly and helpful. Near the hotel are many shops and restaurants so you feel like you are in a little village.

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the ocean and the beautiful pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our visit was well above our expectation. We are a frequent stayer at Marriott - first time to Los Suenos. The property is first class - as usual at Marriott - wonderful setting in Herradura (Horseshoe Bay). What stands out is the staff - they did a first class job - from arrival to meals, pool, fitness center - everywhere. Service with a smile and desire to do a first class job.

We spent most of our time enjoying the property - but ventured out to see two National Parks with a private tour guide. We saw Carrara and Manuel Antonio - both very worthwhile.

Susanna Flores works as a concierge of sorts and will arrange activities. We contacted Susanna before our arrival and asked for her guidance in all our daily activity planning - she is a real gem.

If you spend some time at the Arrecife Pool Bar - be sure to see Indalecio Rocha Ibarra - he is full of life and delivers great service. Try the grilled chicken salad pool side for lunch. The food was outstanding in all restaurant facilities.

Finally - if you are going on tour - ask for Adrian Calderon Gonzalez of the Swiss Travel Group (on site tour operator at Los Suenos). He has a degree as a Naturalist and a real passion for sharing the sights and insights of the Costa Rican ecosystem - we had a great day together.

We love the Marriott - own timeshare on Hilton Head, SC - and given the choice - always stay with Marriott. Los Suenos Marriott is a great example of why we choose Marriott.

Room Tip: Ocean View is worthwhile - sunrise and especially sundown - worth the additional cost. The balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This resort has just about everything. This resort also has apartments and villas for rent. Has a nice golf course and a world class marina. Its very well maintained. The pool area is very cool. There many things to do in the nearby areas as well. I will be looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Rene58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great hotel, pools, spa, location. Would go back here every visit. Lots of options during the day, places to relax, swim up bar, kids pool and play area, rafts for rent, view of the ocean. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, one of the best places I have stayed. DId not want to leave this paradise.

Only two minor negatives - there is no 'night life' after dinner other than the view from the upstairs bar. If this place had a night club or dancing, it would be perfect. The casino leaves a lot to be desired. lots of slots, a strange game of 21 with rummy mixed in, roulette, no craps table. So if your looking to visit local attractions, swim at the various pools, eat great food, and crash or have a quite night cap, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher level, better ocean views. Mountain views are nice, but worth paying a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This property commands an amazing location and surround on the Atlantic coast of Costa Rica. It is a well appointed Marriott with amazing grounds, golf, pool (wow) and sea front. It is many things, but it is in no way Costa Rican. Asside the lushness of the hills surrounding, this could have easily been Phoenix, AZ. For our time there the guests were almost exclusively white American. Not even a balanced representation of the US, and certainly unusual for an international high end resort. For fabulous home away from home, this is your place. For 'experience the world', likely not. That said, the resort had a small (maybe 200 person event) conference center that would make for a very controllable but exotic meeting location. Nearest town is Jaco. A fair amount going on there but still highly US influenced. Rain Forrest, Cloud Forrest and volcanoes are far. Service an odly mixed bag for our group. Female staff were very warm, the guys generally less so. Exceptions to both of course. I got the sense that although US tourists seems to be the fuel for this particular resort, that distain is not far from the surface. American TV everywhere and all pricing in $ says it all. This could have been a cruise ship (all be it a very very high end one) for its insulation from the real country of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpatCIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herradura
1.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
24.5 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
3.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Property: Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing