We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

we are staying coco beach quanacaste ...but went down to manuel antonio national park and then met up with relatives at a wedding in los suenos...what a great treat for us a truly a 5 star hotel...and we soaked it all up cool pool and great food with a golf course to boot...if u wanna spoil yourself ...definitely go there...Larry,NYC

Room Tip: we had an ocean view room and it was worth it....great sunset over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    542
    157
    61
    32
See reviews for
665
714
44
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Costa Rica and not knowing what to expect we were pleasantly surprised by this extraordinary hotel property! What a great view! We were in Costa Rica for 10 nights and decided that we didn't want to book a hotel online because we were unsure of what we were getting... Needless to say we spent 8 out of 10 nights at this location (The other 2 nights were spent at this sister hotel the JW Marriott in Guanacaste - which is also gorgeous!). Regardless this hotel is not only a completely gorgeous property but its staff is outstanding! The front desk is very accommodating to your every needs and the fully stocked bar has wonderful and professional bartenders and wait staff! You'll love lounging by their serene pool and gardens which overlooks the beach and sunsets! And you'll enjoy coming back to a clean, spacious, elegantly authentic Costa Rican styled room! Their golf course is very beautiful and full of all different types of Costa Rican wildlife! Last but not least the food served at this Marriott is arguably the best of any hotel we've ever tried and we like 5 star... When we go back to Costa Rica we will be staying at this location!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarai987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGMAN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from this lovely place. Our room was great even had turn down service which is a plus! Loved the decor, the pool and the staff. If you are going for the beach--- don't. The beach is volcanic and not too pretty. The food was better than most hotels ( we did an all inclusive plan)
Beautiful grounds. Small casino -- my husband enjoyed that. 5 days was plenty. Not a lot to do unless you want to travel some distance. Had massage at spa it was awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenbee4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband, college son and I spent a week at this hotel and loved it. Having travelled extensively and stayed at many lovely hotels, castles and villas, we felt that this property had shed the chain hotel atmosphere that afflicts some places. The lobby has a lovely Spanish atmosphere with beautiful views of the ocean, cooling breezes and a pianist on some evenings. The pool is wonderful as it winds among trees and flowers and under bridges. Plenty of lounge chairs are available in small clusters that afford some privacy. [No problem finding a place to sit as the number of lounges seems to exceed the number of guests.] For those avoiding the direct sunlight, many lounge chairs are placed on the tree shaded lawn that separates the pool area from the ocean. The beach is not one for lounging or swimming but the pool compensates for that fact. If one travels to Costa Rica, very probably the various "adventure" trips are high on the list of activities. Accordingly, many people leave for the day on these rafting, hiking, fishing, boating and birding excursions. Returning to the hotel at the end of the day is relaxing. A swim, a cocktail or dinner is most welcome. The fanciest restaurant on the property, "Nuevo Latino," is really very fine. The three of us had excellent dinners there. For breakfast, the menu is extensive. We often chose to eat at the nearby golf club house for breakfast. For location, price, decor and cleanliness, this property deserves high praise.

Room Tip: Double bed rooms do not have two queens--a disappointment. No need to pay for an ocean view because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passport2europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights and loved every minute. Rooms were clean, resort was just the right size and everyone was happy to help us out with anything we needed.

Spent each night at the relatively small casino and the folks there were just as pleasant as the rest of the resort.

Rented a car and enjoyed going into Jaco(Jaco Taco was the best) and also over to Playa Hermosa.

No complaints about on resort dining though we did eat over at the marina three nights, twice at the Hookup which had decent food and cold beer. The pool area had drink specials each day which helped offset the somewhat expensive food we had for lunch. Large grocery store as you turn onto the road to the resort with a pretty good selection of meats, bakery and dry items.

This area is so close to SJO but still far enough away that it does seem secluded and enjoyable.

I know some people complain about the town of Jaco but we really thought it was a great place to hang out with wide beaches and that surfing town feel.

You cannot go wrong staying here for a couple of days!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bainbridge island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel has beautiful grounds, pool and beach. It is in a good area with lots to do. The same high prices you would find at most luxury resorts which was nice to have a car to drive out to local area spots. The staff was friendly and helpful, and they all spoke english really well. We had to keep calling for a wine opener because the housekeeping would take it away each day, and the glasses weren't cleaned. There weren' t bathrobes in the rooms which was strange for this level hotel. They mixed up our reservations and didn't think we were arriving until the next day, fortunately we had a printed confirmation. It still took the front desk about 45 minutes to get us assigned rooms which seemed longer at 1am and three tired kids. We had three rooms since we were traveling with friends and they had put us in different areas of the hotel. So the next day we had to move again to be closer to each other, which was important since the kids were sharing a room.
There is a casino which only takes american dollars in the machines, so its a good place to get rid of the extra coins on your last day.
There is a great breakfast buffet but it was about $35 per person and no champagne. We did it once but with a bunch of teens that don't eat alot it wasn't worth it to do each day. Right across the street from the hotel was a market we could get breakfast burritos and coffee which was great.
None of the negatives would prevent me from staying there, it was just surprising since it isn't what we have experienced with marriotts in the past.
If you are going to go ziplining, go into Jaco and see steve at AXR tours and rentals, he has the best prices on lots of tours. We drove up to the zip lining place at Los suenos and they wanted $65 and he charged $45. The hotel doesn' t have a concierge, they have a tour agency attached which helps organized tours but with additional costs added.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Felt pretty typical of a resort Marriott. Lots of big, muscular architecture and furniture in a vaguely of Spanish Colonial style. The overall feeling is way more Disney than authentically Costa Rican.

Room and restaurants were nice and completely predictable.

Tip: our room was located on the main floor, not far from the porte cochere and bell station, so we heard people coming and going during daylight and early-evening hours.

One rather glaring annoyance: the hideous south-of-the-border style techno music blaring from the poolside restaurant actually drove us back onto the long veranda.

NB: This is a very, very, very family-friendly property. The extensive (and lovely) pool was continuously populated by kids and parents of all ages from about 9AM until dark. If you're looking for a quiet couple's getaway, this is probably not your best choice.

Room Tip: Tip: our room was located on the main floor, not far from the porte cochere and bell station, so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herradura
1.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
24.5 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
4.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Property: Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing