We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful Hotel, But Something's Missing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, But Something's Missing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for 9 days at Los Suenos Marriott and had a very good time. This an upscale property with really good service. Yet there a few things missing with this hotel.
first, the positives:
Absolutely beautiful grounds and excellent pool area. There is a small swim bar, good convenient restaurant and friendly waiters to take your drink orders by the pool.
The entire 1,100 acre property is attractively maintained and very lush.
Every staff member was courteous, helpful and provided good advice.
The room with the balcony had a partial ocean view. I would recommend getting a room with a balcony to be able to sit and enjoy the sun setting on Herradura Bay.
The room is big, comfortable with a good shower and tub.

What we found missing from this resort,
There is no
Marriott concierge at this luxury resort. Every guest service is contracted out to an site travel and tour agency.
We could not find a directory or map of the property. There are four restaurants but we only found three of them. We had a hard time finding the casino which is not connected to the hotel.
Travel to a close by marina with nice restaurants involves a long walk in the dark. The hotel doesn't provide a shuttle service.
You cannot get a cup of coffee after 8 pm because the coffee cafe closes at that time.
There are wild iguana all over the property, especially by the pool area.
Finally, where's the beach? The mud and dirt that exists on he beach area just beyond the hotel property is not what you'd expect at a luxury resort.

Costa Rica is a very beautiful country and offers gorgeous sights and ran forests, The Marriott Los Suenos could use some improvements.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psr707070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    528
    156
    58
    28
See reviews for
641
697
43
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is probably the most beautifully landscaped Marriott property I've stayed at. The grounds are spotless and filled with what look to be native trees and flowers, as well as a large, shaded grassy area with lounges on the way to the beach. The pool is unusual in that it is mostly shallow and winds through seating areas rather than being one central swimming area. Arched walkways over the water provide welcome shade and it was very pleasant to swim. We used the pool quite a bit. There were more than enough lounges, umbrellas and chairs the entire week and the swim up bar is more spacious than most resorts (the drinks were very good). We saw a few people with children and I noticed they have a sandy area for kids and an indoor play room. The property's architecture is quite lovely, with a Spanish influence in style and colors, and the interior common areas are as nice as any I've seen. Our room was a ground floor King with a small patio that we used a lot - note that most of the rooms do not have balconies, so getting a room with a patio was a real treat. The room was large, comfortable and had a very nice bathroom. Everything was in perfect condition and the housekeeper was fantastic. We ate breakfast in the restaurant nearly every day and except for one day, the service there was friendly and fast - the food was good all the time, though pricey as resorts tend to be. We also ordered drinks and food from the outdoor cafe, which was better than other Marriott resort pool dining we've had. The most memorable thing about our stay was the frequent visits from scarlet macaws (they call them Lapas). They are gorgeous and truly spectacular to see. The beach is brown sand, clean, a bit rocky and the waves are small. It is a nice place to walk but at one end it crosses a fresh water brook, so if you don't want to get wet you need to turn around there. If you do cross it, you end up off the resort property at a great spot to watch the sunset in an area of Jaco that has a bar and two restaurants (we ate excellent dinners at Pelicanos there). The marina is a 20-minute walk up the hill and it's interesting to see the boats and talk to the folks who go fishing (from what we learned, the marina boats are substantially more expensive than the boats that go out from Jaco). There are restaurants there but we only ate at the bakery, which was very good. Because my preference is a beach with a long stretch of white sand and big waves, I reluctantly give this resort 4 stars instead of 5. But we will almost certainly stay there again in the future and I recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a room with a balcony or patio, it's worth it. We used our patio a lot an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This resort is beautiful, the staff are nice and the location is great. I stayed here with a friend and had a great time. There is a marina within the resort area with restaurants and shops as well which was nice. It is also close to Jaco which is a cute surf town, especially during the day. Be warned that the resort is expensive (40 dollars for sunscreen?? Come on) which I did not expect but I was okay with it as the standard was high as well (okay... I am still bitter about the sunscreen). Only negative is that there is no concierge but instead a Swiss travel office. The recommends seemed canned as it was more of a sales business than a helpful resource... Pretty brutal for a Marriott and considering the cost but not enough to upset my days by the pool! Note that it is 1.5 hours from the airport but it is a lovely drive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Hammy_Teare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel was simply gorgeous, very relaxing and serene. The pool area is very nice and large enough to explore. The hotel is family friendly. The hotel is right on the beach which is very secluded. There is a Marina that is less than 15 minutes away by foot with small boutique stores.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alesjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I just came back from this hotel after spending the weekend with my husband and our 6 year old, and it was just great. Service is fast and courteous (genuinely) also they try to be always looking to make you feel happy, food was very good (I love seafood and it was super fresh) we love their breakfast buffet which always add more variety AND their kids club have just the right balance for kids to enjoy time on games and spend time with their parents. My daughter was so happy she didn't wanted to head home today (can't blame her, didn't us wanted to come back either) anyway, the experience was so good that I wanted to write today to have it all fresh

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and l visited Costa Rica for the first time and stayed at the Los Suenos. Marriott. We have visited many warm weather vacation spots and decided to try this location for our 30th wedding anniversary. This was the perfect place for a relaxing romantic week. Upon arriving I had to "work" the front desk a bit to get a room with a balcony view. The staff was very accomadating once they realized we were platinum Marriott members. The hotel , dining facilities, pool, spa and fitness center were excellent. The complex is a short walk from a beautiful marina with lots of shops and dining choices. We spent a couple nites visiting Jaco which is a 10 minute taxi ride from the hotel. Lots of restaurant s , clubs and bars if you are looking for nightlife. There are many fun activities such as ziplining, golf and world class sport fishing. A highlight of the trip was catching a mahimahi and having the restaraunt prepare it for dinner. I will say that during the weekdays it was very quiet and relaxing. The weekend was a bit busier with lots of families and kids running around. Also ths beach was not very nice but we didnt mind since the pool complex wrapping thru out the property and had a nice swim up bar. We would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bogeyman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Trip Advisor is a stellar platform for people to express their pleasure (or displeasure in some cases) for hotels and restaurants. I use it as a resource ALL THE TIME! How anyone could possibly criticize the Los Suenos Marriott in Costa Rica is beyond me! What a beautiful property. My husband and I stayed there 5 years ago and, to be honest, I totally expected our second visit to be a bit of disappointment. We suspected that, perhaps, the resort would present itself as being 5 years older and shows some signs of wear and tear. Well, that was not the case. The resort is taken care of with extreme concern about presentation and guest experience. It is beyond lovely in a country filled with beauty.

We actually sat on our deck (multiple times) and saw flocks of scarlet macaws fly by! I do recommend requestling a deck and paying the extra nightly fee for that - it really does enhance the room. The breakfast buffet was outstanding - never had a better one to be honest.

Special thanks to Alexander (Reception), David (La Vista for breakfast) and Melvin (pool bar). What wonderful representatives for the Marriott specificially and Costa Rica in general. Each of these stellar individuals contributed to an amazing vacation for my husband and I. We cannot wait to return to Los Suenos!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Request a balcony or patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herradura
1.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
4.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#4 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
24.5 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Property: Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing