We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding from the moment we arrived!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding from the moment we arrived!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Trip Advisor is a stellar platform for people to express their pleasure (or displeasure in some cases) for hotels and restaurants. I use it as a resource ALL THE TIME! How anyone could possibly criticize the Los Suenos Marriott in Costa Rica is beyond me! What a beautiful property. My husband and I stayed there 5 years ago and, to be honest, I totally expected our second visit to be a bit of disappointment. We suspected that, perhaps, the resort would present itself as being 5 years older and shows some signs of wear and tear. Well, that was not the case. The resort is taken care of with extreme concern about presentation and guest experience. It is beyond lovely in a country filled with beauty.

We actually sat on our deck (multiple times) and saw flocks of scarlet macaws fly by! I do recommend requestling a deck and paying the extra nightly fee for that - it really does enhance the room. The breakfast buffet was outstanding - never had a better one to be honest.

Special thanks to Alexander (Reception), David (La Vista for breakfast) and Melvin (pool bar). What wonderful representatives for the Marriott specificially and Costa Rica in general. Each of these stellar individuals contributed to an amazing vacation for my husband and I. We cannot wait to return to Los Suenos!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Request a balcony or patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    542
    157
    61
    32
See reviews for
665
714
44
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I am from Costa Rica and this is the second time I spent in this hotel. Let me tell you, it is absolutely beautiful! The pool is perfect because you can find shadow at all times. The food is good, although it could improve. The cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel in general is impeccable. The location is perfect and Los Sueños in general is a great place. The gym is very nice and clean. Also, you can safely take long walks outside the hotel and appreciate the beauty. Golf course is great. The only real problem I had was with service, especially at the pool bar, which has good food and good drinks, but lacks in service especially for local tourists. I noticed the difference when they attended international tourists and us. They should improve this. Overall it is a great hotel...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Full service, luxury resort on the ocean. Our room was on the nicer side of average with all the standard amenities (robe, TV, internet, balcony) but felt quick sparse due to the requisite clay/tile finishes. The resort has fabulous pool area with multiple pools/bars. Large beach but not super inviting to sit and sun. The ocean on this side of Costa Rica is quite silty due to volcanic activity. I did not get a chance to golf but there is a golf course beside the resort. Lots of little lizards around to play with. Close to beach/surf town Jaco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WereFromTheBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel, not the condos. The grounds were fantastic. The pool wound around with many beautiful seating areas, and there was wonderfull shade on the green area along the beach. The food was quite good too. Our room was very nice, but not the ocean view our reservation promised, and several in our party had the same issue. The one big drawback, and it was a big one for me, is that there was no balcony to sit in outside the room. That left you sitting in a very nice but ordinary room during any down time. There also were few English language TV stations. The main ones were said to be intermittant, but never were on in our 6 day stay. We watched old sitcoms in English ( Friends and 2 1/2 Men) and had fun practising out Spanish by reading the Spanish subtitles.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Also some people seemed to have had a breakfast included stay.We got a great rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dshpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First off, this trip was in 2001. This was our first time traveling out of the country and was right after 9/11. This was a gift (Bonus) from my employer and no doubt was very expensive. From the moment we arrived on the resort grounds to the minute we landed back in the US was a top notch experience. The grounds are stunning beautiful. Our room overlooked both the ocean and rain forest. The pool is expansive and well thought out. All the restaurants were top notch. Even the pool bar had great food. We did several excursions on this trip to include zip lining, Jaco Beach for a 5 star dinner and to watch the surfers, another 5-6 star restaurant to is known for the beautiful sunset scene. We also took a catamaran out to a private island for a day which was lovely and top notch food. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with both views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcrum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to Los Suenos to have my daughter's wedding. It was an amazing venue! The rooms were nice and a decent size. The pool is beautiful--the beach is not as nice as further south (Manuel Antonio--a must see) or further north (Guanacaste) but the wedding pictures here were incredible, especially when the son was going down! The food in the banquet room was exceptional!! Those who attended this wedding said they have never had such amazing food--and we have to agree! If you are considering a place for your wedding destination, this should be a consideration. The pictures were amazing--whether at the beachfront, on the grounds or in the lobby. We would highly recommend this for a wedding destination.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank got2go2cnewthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAY SHORE
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Los Suenos is a beautiful resort on the Pacific Ocean. The rooms are lovely. The service is excellent. The pool complex is beautiful.
I would give it five stars except the food is at best mediocre. The restaurants are beautiful, but they all sell overpriced, disappointing food.
La Iguana golf course is challenging, but they need a ranger. I don't mind paying top dollar for resort golf, but I do mind being put behind a SIX-SOME. We skipped a hole to jump ahead and found ourselves behind a FIVE-SOME sharing golf clubs. This is unacceptable. We paid top dollar to play & quit two days in a row because of the pathetic pace of play. One ranger could resolve these infractions.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nicer, but at a price. If you don't get a complimentary upgrade, save you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WordlyTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herradura
1.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
24.5 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
4.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Property: Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing