We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fishing!”

Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: COSTA RICA DREAMS SPORTFISHING is the 5 STAR, EXCLUSIVE charter company at the famous Los Suenos Resort and Marina near Jaco Beach. We are the largest owner/operator in Costa Rica offering fishing packages for fishing charters, tortuga island tours, condos and transportation. Fish aboard one of our first class fishing boats from 32' to 50' yachts. We are NOT just a "booking agent".....we actually OWN the boats and the Full Time crews (Captains & Mates) are our permanent employees. All with first class customer service!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Alexander City, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Fishing!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The most professional, well prepared and friendliest charter I have ever experienced! Attention to detail was amazing. This charter was the highlight of my trip to Costa Rica. The owner, captain, and mates all worked very hard for my group to catch fish and have a great time. I can't wait to book with them again.
Thanks!
B.J. Barnett

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJB646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa R, Owner at Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks Ricky! We enjoyed you guys and glad you had a great trip! Glad you guys were able to release those 2 sailfish and take the mahi mahi to eat! See ya next time! Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    7
    3
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Awesome Experience Costa Rica Dreams”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Thanks for making this a trip of a lifetime for my family and I. Manuel and Woody on Wet Ryder were unbelievable. They worked hard and caught us sailfish and even went out of their way to find my kids dolphins and my kids dangled their feet over board and let dolphins touch their feet.
The lunch was great and all the beverages we wanted, I would highly recommended checking out Costa Rica Dreams as Dave has a great staff.

Tom, Karen, Zachary, Taylor and Shelby Stewart

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank t0ms49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa R, Owner at Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Guys and THANK YOU! Reading about some of our clients .... FRIENDS ..... having a great time here just gives us all a big lift knowing we could help in some little way to make your family have a great Spring Break and hopefully some memories that will last for a lifetime!! Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great fishing with Costa Rica Dreams!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

After having fished for billfish in Panama, Guatemala, Hawaii, Mauritius and other places, we decided to try Costa Rica, and booked fishing with Costa Rica Dreams Sport Fishing at Los Suenos.

At our first visit about a year ago we had exciting fishing for Sailfish, and when we started to plan our next fishing trip, there was no doubt where to go: Cost Rica Dreams again.

You are always very well treated by knowledgeable people at the Cost Rica Dreams Reception and at the Dockside.
Everything is very well organized; help with accommodations, transport, welcoming information, etc,

The crews we have fished with have all been very nice people; professional, committed and social. And they work really hard for you.
The boats are equipped with the best tackle, and are always kept clean by the two mates.

The fishing has been great with a lot of Sailfish, but we have also got Marlin and huge Mahi mahi´s.

When we left we were asked if we could give some feedback to Cost Rica Dreams in order for them to improve their operations, but there was nothing we could think about that could have been better…

Also it is great to stay at the Los Suenos Resort, there are a lot of other things to do in addition to the fishing, and many good restaurants within the Resort to choose from as well.

For sure, our next fishing trip will again be to Cost Rica Dreams and Los Suenos.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kurt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa R, Owner at Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Kurt and Anki!!! Thanks much for the great review. All of us here look forward to seeing you guys each year. You are both great fishermen/women and VERY GOOD AT IT! Thanks for the photos of the frozen lakes there in your country of Sweden. I'm sure it was great to get away and enjoy some nice warm days here with calm oceans and hot temps! Let you thaw out at bit! Thanks again and from all of us here......have a great spring and summer in Sweden! Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unbelievable day of fishing............We will be back”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went out on the Los Suenos boat via Costa Rica Dreams. Could not have asked for a better experience and a better day. From the time we arrived, about 20 minutes early, the crew was ready. After grabbing a few pastries and coffee we were off to about 30 miles out. As soon as we got out to the fishing grounds, we spotted the sail of a sailfish out of the water and within 30 minutes of the spotting, we were reeling in our first sailfish of the day. We ended up with 7 for the day and the two of us were wiped out at the end. Many thanks to Captain Leandro and his mates Carlos and Saoul. They worked their tails off to get us fish and to keep us busy all day long. We will be back, most likely during a different fishing season since we can check off our sailfish goal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank relgin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa R, Owner at Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thanks Ron!! Great having you guys down. Those are some GREAT pictures you got! See ya next time for some Rooster and Cubera Snapper fishing maybe!! Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Predator-marlin/sailfish”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent two days (March 4 and 7, 2013) fishing with Predator and had one of the few Mariln (300#+) landed during this 2 week period, including the Billfish Tournament held at Los Suenos. Overall my wife and I landed 3 sailfish (also one not landed) and one marlin as well as multiple jacks/mutton snapper/cubera snapper/wahoo. We will definitely visit Los Suenos again and will fish with Costa Rica Dreams. The boat was stocked with beverages, snacks and warm food for a good lunch, but we had little time to eat- but we're not complaining! Cesar was our guide and is a local with excellent knowledge of the ocean and very good English skills. Our first mate Luis was exceptionally hard working, very efficient when crunch time came in landing a fish and even did a little "dance" to get the fish to bite! He was areal pleasure. We recommend them highly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tortugasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing also viewed

Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
 
Los Suenos, Province of Puntarenas
Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Rica Dreams Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing