We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and good food”
Review of The Hook Up

The Hook Up
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Herradura
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Hook Up, located on the second floor of the Marina Entry Building, boasts one of the country's premier locations, offering patrons a 270-degree panoramic view of the marina, Herradura Bay and the surrounding mountains. This relaxing venue offers a pleasant combination of the old American classics like fish n' chips and global comfort food, including homemade breads, desserts and sauces. The Hook Up is a laid-back environment where you can enjoy a mix of classic rock and Latin pop tunes played over our state-of-the-art stereo system. Major sporting events are displayed on seven televisions located throughout the restaurant, with the most important matches projected onto the video-wall over the bar.
Reviewed January 26, 2019

This bar/restaurant has quite the menu. I decided on a chicken sandwich and wasn't blown away but it was good. My wife loved her tacos and kids liked their food. The location is an awesome view of the marina and not priced like it's overlooking yachts and other high priced boats. Plus, they had the AFC championship on the big screen which was wonderful for an American :) It's worth checking out.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank the_muckster_316
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Los_Suenos_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Hook Up, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2019

Wonderful! If you're looking for a chicken dish, might we recommend the blackened chicken? It's amazing! Or the beef quesadillas if you'd like something lighter...and a different protein. Taco Tuesday is excellent too. The grilled fish is delish. Should we continue? :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 488 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2019 via mobile

Beware, not the place for a fast breakfast before u have to get on the boat. They can only cook one order at a time! Very slow service.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Dodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Los_Suenos_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Hook Up, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2019

We're sorry your breakfast didn't come out as quickly as you would have liked...although we do have a large kitchen and can and do feed large numbers of people. We will look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

If you are staying in Los Suenos, this is an easy spot for a casual meal. I was actually surprised the food was as good as it was. Felt like I could have been in any nice sports bar in the US but it was good!.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 11, 2019

We had this restaurant prepare the mahi mahi we caught in three ways - fried, grilled and blackened. It was deliciously prepared and almost as good the next night when we heated up the leftovers. This is the effortless way to go if you want to savor your catch after a long day of fishing. You can not possibly have it any fresher unless you cook it on the boat. The sides were great also. They also have a beautiful bar with a half price happy hour. Loved this place!!!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank berkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 10, 2019

The Hook Up is a nice location over-looking Los Suenos Marina. The Menu has a large selection of dishes from full meals to wraps and burgers. The food was well presented and tasty, apart from the Sopa Azteca, which was far too spicy. We sent the soup back and the chef managed to tone it down.
The Pecan Pie was delicious.
The Hook Up is not cheap by Costa Rican standards, but the food and location make it worthwhile. We found the service to be very good.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stewart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Los_Suenos_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Hook Up, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2019

We're glad our chef was able to tone the soup down to your liking and that you enjoyed the service. Our main goal is that our guests enjoy BOTH their meal and their service. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hook Up also viewed

Herradura, Jaco District
Herradura, Jaco District
 

Been to The Hook Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.