We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Seafood!”
Review of El Pelicano

El Pelicano
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Seafood!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was one of the best seafood restaurants during my visit to Costa Rica a couple weeks ago. I ordered the Mariscada, and it was HUGE! I shared it with my wife and we both loved it. The staff was very friendly and made us feel right at home. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    139
    32
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I don't get it.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Based on reviews here, we were excited to go. But both our meals were TERRIBLE Everything, including the sides, was either over-cooked or under-cooked.
On a positive note:
* The staff is amazing and kind, very attentive
* Mixed drinks were good.

Go for the location, don't expect great food. Cardumen down the street has the best fresh fish we had by far all week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lararobin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had dinner here one night during a family trip to Costa Rica. We arrived in time for sunset, which was amazing. We dined outside right across a small road from the beach. The food was excellent. Very fresh seafood, properly cooked (e.g., not overcooked). The service was also very good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Recommended for dining”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stopped here for lunch while en route to beaches further south. The restaurant offers fresh fish served in different ways. I had fish tacos which were wonderful. We dined outside to take advantage of the views and sea breezes. Food and service were impeccable. A salad bar and tasty gazpacho were inside in the air conditioned part of the restaurant. A delightful experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yellingdog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Eats!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Close proximity to our hotel, friendly staff, food was great! Has a local flavor and adjacent to the beach! Fishis fresh because it is caught daily! A must eating spot if you desire great eats!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JosephDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pelicano also viewed

Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
 
Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing