We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accommodation in the entire island”
Review of Chez Jerome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Jerome
Ranked #13 of 35 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I really recommend this place!!!We stayed here for 3 night's and were very happy with our

decision.

Jerome is really an excellent host, we had an amazing time thanks to him.

He took the time to show us the entire island and explain us all the history behind the Moais.

The hostel was clean and comfortable and the food was very good. I really recommend to take a

package that includes the food because it is really expensive in this island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mela14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 184 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

nothing but positive things to say about our stay here. we had personalized service, a great pick-up and drop off at the airport, nice tour of downtown on the way in, and help with a car rental which was great! i also liked the location and personality of the place. would stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank namchegompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The tours led by Jerome really made us feel like we had gotten the most out of Easter Island during our short stay. Even though he has performed them countless times, his passion and enthusiasm for the island and its history remains. I also really loved the welcome and departure 'gifts'. The breakfasts were simple but satisfactory as well as the rooms. Note: There was no soap or shampoo provided. If you're looking for a wonderful guide/host while visiting Isla de Pascua then Chez Jerome is the place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aplaseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited Easter Island for 3 days and selected this hotel because of the good reviews and tours available. Transfers are provided and went smoothly. After checking in we got a short tour of the town and they dropped us off there so we could walk around as the weather was wet and not really good for anything else. We took a taxi back to Jerome's after dinner ($5 even though we had been told it would be less. I think they charge more for visitors.)

The rooms are simple and my rating and review is in consideration of properties available on the island. There was a small refrigerator (we used) and microwave (we did not use). We had a double bed and single bed in the room which we used to unpack on. Closet space and cubby holes were provided but you really needed more space to unpack in and the extra bed worked well. No luggage rack so suitcases went on the floor. Lighting was adequate to see in but you really couldn't read at night. The bathroom was small. Hot water was not always available and came and went during the shower. The shower leaked on the floor. No toiletries at all were provided. I found that strange, soap especially. Luckily we had some soap with us and I always carry shampoo and conditioner. 2 fresh bath towels were provided every day. There was only one double hook in the bath to hang them on so they never had a chance to get air and dry. If you wanted to take a shower and use it again it had a slight "wet" smell.

Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, hot water for tea or hot chocolate, a cup of (canned) fruit cocktail, and rolls of ham and cheese. Cereal and milk were available if you wanted it. A wonderful French bread was out for slices and we enjoyed ham and cheese sandwiches every morning. It was good and filled us for the day.

We took a full day tour with Jerome on our second day and it was well worth it. We saw all the major sites and Jerome gave us good information about all of them. It is definitely worth taking one of his tours as you see a lot and don't have to deal with the roads which are bad in some places. Plus you get all the important background info. That night we walked into town for dinner before dark (I would not recommend the walk in the dark) and rented a car after dinner. We used this to get back to Jerome's that evening, to tour the next day and to get us into town for dinner the next evening, returning the car after and getting a taxi back. We liked the location out of town, but close enough to walk.

Free internet was available. Sometimes it didn't work in the room, but you could walk to the reception area and pick up the signal and connect. I had heard it would be like dial-up on the island but was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Chez Jerome for 7 days while we were in Easter Island. I do recommend Chez Jerome. We are Backpacking round the world on a budget and Chez Jerome worked out the best. Jerome is very nice and helpful, made us feel at home and helped out in any way possible.

Pros:
o The rooms as spacious and for the most part well maintained.
o There is a mini fridge and microwave in the room
o We had an issue with the Shower leaking and Jerome made sure to fix it.
o There is a nice patio in front of the room to sit and relax
o Very helpful and useful information about things to do, Jerome also helps organize various tours around the island.
o Hotel is located in a quaint location which is road across from one of the hiking trails and a cave and the ocean. It is beautiful in the night to gaze at the stars and listen to the ocean waves.
o Included Breakfast is decent. Cereal, Bread, Cheese, packaged fruit, Jams, coffee, Tea.

Cons:
o Location. The place is in a nice and quaint location which is kind of away from the main city (all the shopping and eating places). It is about a 20-25 Minutes walk. If you rent a car or a Bike or a Scooter, it is not noticeable. It rains anytime in Easter Island, so walking back and forth is not the best option. Taxis are cheap as well.

Despite the location (only con) I could think of, I am rating it 5 stars because it worked out the best for us. We loved the late night and early morning walks to the ocean. The Customer service was above and beyond. We felt at home and taken care of.

Thanks Chez Jerome !!

Room Tip: Rent a vehicle. Car, Scooter or a Bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

nothing but great words to say.
we made our plans to visit easter island from one day to the other. we contacted jerome and he replied immediately, despite the time difference (we were in europe).
at the arrival he was waiting for us at the airport as he said he would.
at the hotel: the room is big enough for 4 persons (although we were just 2) and it has a nice terrace. clean, comfy, it is worth every penny.
breakfast was included in our price, it was a very good breakfast with all you need for a day of wandering around the island.
as for jerome, he is the perfect host: he goes out of his way to offer his clients the extra detail that we all like and want: he drives you into town, he tries to arrange all your requests and to make you feel at home at the end of the world.
as for excursions: he is a very knowledgeable guide, he makes his tours private ( much better than being in a bus with some 15 other people) he gives a lot of explanations, he has the answer to all your questions and the prices are at same like the others charge for an excursion with 15 people.
to sum up: great holiday, great room and great host, great value for the money.
looking forward to meet him again sometimes in the future.
:)
florin

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank florin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Super nice place, quiet and not too far from the city center.
Jerome is TRULY AMAZING! He will come get you at the airport and bring you there. He even took us to the city on a little tour on the day we arrived. We booked all our tours with him, since they were not expensive and we all left from his place together.
Rooms are clean, breakfast is good.

Really perfect little place :)
STRONGLY recommend!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
2.4 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#9 of 16 in Hanga Roa
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iorana Hotel
Iorana Hotel
#19 of 24 in Easter Island
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Christophe
Cabanas Christophe
#1 of 35 in Hanga Roa
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Atavai Pension
Atavai Pension
#12 of 35 in Hanga Roa
189 reviews
2 mi away
Tekarera Kainga Ora & Kainga Nui
0.8 mi away
Kahina Lodge
Kahina Lodge
#8 of 35 in Hanga Roa
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Jerome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Jerome

Address: correo Central S/N, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range: $73 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Jerome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Jerome Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing