We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable place in good location”
Review of Chez Jerome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Jerome
Ranked #6 of 33 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
303 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Enjoyable place in good location”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited Easter Island for 3 days and selected this hotel because of the good reviews and tours available. Transfers are provided and went smoothly. After checking in we got a short tour of the town and they dropped us off there so we could walk around as the weather was wet and not really good for anything else. We took a taxi back to Jerome's after dinner ($5 even though we had been told it would be less. I think they charge more for visitors.)

The rooms are simple and my rating and review is in consideration of properties available on the island. There was a small refrigerator (we used) and microwave (we did not use). We had a double bed and single bed in the room which we used to unpack on. Closet space and cubby holes were provided but you really needed more space to unpack in and the extra bed worked well. No luggage rack so suitcases went on the floor. Lighting was adequate to see in but you really couldn't read at night. The bathroom was small. Hot water was not always available and came and went during the shower. The shower leaked on the floor. No toiletries at all were provided. I found that strange, soap especially. Luckily we had some soap with us and I always carry shampoo and conditioner. 2 fresh bath towels were provided every day. There was only one double hook in the bath to hang them on so they never had a chance to get air and dry. If you wanted to take a shower and use it again it had a slight "wet" smell.

Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, hot water for tea or hot chocolate, a cup of (canned) fruit cocktail, and rolls of ham and cheese. Cereal and milk were available if you wanted it. A wonderful French bread was out for slices and we enjoyed ham and cheese sandwiches every morning. It was good and filled us for the day.

We took a full day tour with Jerome on our second day and it was well worth it. We saw all the major sites and Jerome gave us good information about all of them. It is definitely worth taking one of his tours as you see a lot and don't have to deal with the roads which are bad in some places. Plus you get all the important background info. That night we walked into town for dinner before dark (I would not recommend the walk in the dark) and rented a car after dinner. We used this to get back to Jerome's that evening, to tour the next day and to get us into town for dinner the next evening, returning the car after and getting a taxi back. We liked the location out of town, but close enough to walk.

Free internet was available. Sometimes it didn't work in the room, but you could walk to the reception area and pick up the signal and connect. I had heard it would be like dial-up on the island but was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    66
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
34
96
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Chez Jerome for 7 days while we were in Easter Island. I do recommend Chez Jerome. We are Backpacking round the world on a budget and Chez Jerome worked out the best. Jerome is very nice and helpful, made us feel at home and helped out in any way possible.

Pros:
o The rooms as spacious and for the most part well maintained.
o There is a mini fridge and microwave in the room
o We had an issue with the Shower leaking and Jerome made sure to fix it.
o There is a nice patio in front of the room to sit and relax
o Very helpful and useful information about things to do, Jerome also helps organize various tours around the island.
o Hotel is located in a quaint location which is road across from one of the hiking trails and a cave and the ocean. It is beautiful in the night to gaze at the stars and listen to the ocean waves.
o Included Breakfast is decent. Cereal, Bread, Cheese, packaged fruit, Jams, coffee, Tea.

Cons:
o Location. The place is in a nice and quaint location which is kind of away from the main city (all the shopping and eating places). It is about a 20-25 Minutes walk. If you rent a car or a Bike or a Scooter, it is not noticeable. It rains anytime in Easter Island, so walking back and forth is not the best option. Taxis are cheap as well.

Despite the location (only con) I could think of, I am rating it 5 stars because it worked out the best for us. We loved the late night and early morning walks to the ocean. The Customer service was above and beyond. We felt at home and taken care of.

Thanks Chez Jerome !!

Room Tip: Rent a vehicle. Car, Scooter or a Bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

nothing but great words to say.
we made our plans to visit easter island from one day to the other. we contacted jerome and he replied immediately, despite the time difference (we were in europe).
at the arrival he was waiting for us at the airport as he said he would.
at the hotel: the room is big enough for 4 persons (although we were just 2) and it has a nice terrace. clean, comfy, it is worth every penny.
breakfast was included in our price, it was a very good breakfast with all you need for a day of wandering around the island.
as for jerome, he is the perfect host: he goes out of his way to offer his clients the extra detail that we all like and want: he drives you into town, he tries to arrange all your requests and to make you feel at home at the end of the world.
as for excursions: he is a very knowledgeable guide, he makes his tours private ( much better than being in a bus with some 15 other people) he gives a lot of explanations, he has the answer to all your questions and the prices are at same like the others charge for an excursion with 15 people.
to sum up: great holiday, great room and great host, great value for the money.
looking forward to meet him again sometimes in the future.
:)
florin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Super nice place, quiet and not too far from the city center.
Jerome is TRULY AMAZING! He will come get you at the airport and bring you there. He even took us to the city on a little tour on the day we arrived. We booked all our tours with him, since they were not expensive and we all left from his place together.
Rooms are clean, breakfast is good.

Really perfect little place :)
STRONGLY recommend!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pichilemu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband (geologist) and I (retired French teacher) just spent a fabulous week Chez Jerome and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Jerome is a talented guide and linguist (speaks fluent French, Spanish and English) and is passionate about the rich history of Easter Island. Unexpected quirks included a clean, freshly painted room with a new memory foam mattress, delicious and beautifully presented dinners (mostly local freshly-caught fish), a wonderful evening dance performance that Jerome's teen-aged daughter performed in, and of course the small, some private, tours of the island. Every night we watched the sunset from right across the street, just above Ana Kai Tangata cave. While there, we snorkeled one day, ate a lot of red tuna ceviche, and totally relaxed amidst the friendly and welcoming Polynesian people on the Island. Great trip throughout!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosiePichilemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This little Bed and Breakfast is probably one of the best budget options on Easter Island. It is run by Jerome (Frenchman) and his family. Rooms are built around a nice garden and each room has a veranda facing the garden. The rooms are not luxurious and could definitely use some fresh paint (you see dead mosquitoes on the ceiling etc.) or refurbishment, but they are perfectly okay. A fan in each room helps to keep temperatures in the room cool when it is hot and humid outside.

The breakfast is taken at a big table together with the other guests and is sufficient, yet not exciting. The best part about this place is really Jerome himself. He has been living on the island for many years and takes guests around on tours which are very informative and fun. Jerome also offers free airport transfers and is flexible when a flight is delayed. He is very knowledgeable and helps with whatever question you may have.

The location of the hotel is a bit outside of town, you walk around 20 minutes into the town centre, which can be a bit long on a hot day, especially when you want to return to the hotel in between. Nearby is the beautiful coastline with a quite spectacular cave.

There is wifi in the hotel, but as everywhere on the island it is a bit slow and sometimes interrupted. Well, you are probably not on Easter Island to spend all day surfing the internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The location is good and near the airport, Jerome met us and took us back 3 days later. The family home is across the road from a historic site and a good vantage point for sunset viewing.
The room was very basic, it would be worth checking which room is available because I think the facilities varied. Our bathroom had a very temperamental shower with intermittent hot water and over all was in need of and up-grade. There was a double bed and a bunk bed, had there been 4 in the room it would have been a very tight fit. The humidity was high after a rain storm and we were glad Jerome could lend us a fan because without window screens or mosquito nets the biting insects were having a feast.
Basic breakfast was provided, juice, local hamburger-type buns, cake with chocolate sauce, jam and coffee.
Internet connection very patchy and slow throughout the island.
Recommend car hire when you get here, it is literally half the price if you hire locally and Jerome will organise it for you when you arrive. If you do not have a car there is a 2k walk into the main street, not great during the storms, but there are a number of interesting places to eat and pass the evening. All prices are high as everything is imported.
The roads can be challenging and a 4x4 is the sensible option to reach some of the sights. The main hazard on the roads are the semi wild horses (more horses than cattle on the island) but some seem in a poor state as they have been left to fend for themselves in a sparse environment.
Jerome is a charming, affable Frenchman with good English who would be happy to give you a tour of the island or to advise on the best way to use the time you have available.
Having seen other Tripadvisor reports we were disappointed with room so check what you will get in advance!

Room Tip: Not Room Six!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.9 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Christophe
Cabanas Christophe
#1 of 33 in Hanga Roa
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atavai Pension
Atavai Pension
#12 of 33 in Hanga Roa
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Jerome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Jerome

Property: Chez Jerome
Address: correo Central S/N, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Jerome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Jerome Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing