We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay... but not much contact with the outside world”
Review of Taura'a Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taura'a Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice stay... but not much contact with the outside world”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The property itself is very nice. The owners are incredibly friendly and will even, as a courtesy, offer to drives us from and to the airport, which is about a 5-7 minute drive. The rooms are nice and spacious - I stayed in a three bed apartment - and they are equipped with a fan, which is rather necessary. Bathrooms are simple - in the sense - that they are quite small. Breakfast was delicious: the juices and omelets made by the owners literally made my day.
However, when you go to the Easter Island you need to remind yourself that you should not expect in any way a 5* hotel, or even a 2* motel for most of America standards. Yes... the owners were nice and treated us with respect, however Easter Island still lags behind the rest of the world when it comes to communication. The wi-fi internet connection in the room was bad in a good day - I could not load my gmail account or Facebook for that matter. Trying to access my college's website was literally impossible and watching Youtube is something that I could only dream of. Also, no TV in the room... which in my case took some getting used to.
All in all, is a nice place to stay - specially compared to the rest of the Easter Island hotels... but do not go there with high expectations. It is a simple family hotel. Also, one advice -- do not say long in the island, you will run out of stuff to do after the 2nd day,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeleM_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Iorana
Thank you for your comments, it is necessary to do some research on your destination specially when you are coming to a place as isolated and unique as Easter island, internet access is painfully slow, and there is not satelite TV coverage on the island.
We have 2 channel 1 in spanish and a local channel in rapanui.
We are having the latest wireless system conected to the hotel .

mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    106
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
80
167
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for 4 days and have a wonderful time. the rooms, while not luxurious, are comfortable and clean. the grounds are very colorful with many types of plants and flowers. Edith and Bill provided a welcoming environment including a Lei greeting at the airport and great breakfasts each morning with fresh juice smoothie and good coffee.
Edith even took us to the airport for our departure because our flight was delayed and she offered to speak with the airport desk personnel to ensure we were taken care of.
The location was also very good and minutes from markets, restaurants, bars and the Kari Kari show. If you're looking for something like the Ritz Carlton this is not it, however, not sure why you would want that on a remote island like this. the Taura'a was perfect for us during our stay at Easter Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotteguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Iorana
Thank you for your wonderfull comment, you are right ; rapanui, is not a resort island, but it is an increible destination with a wonderfull air of mysteries about it.
The people are friendly and helpfull and our staff go out of there way to make sure you experience the best of the island.
Mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a charming family-run B&B. Centrally located in Hanga Roa, it is within walking distance to the souvenir shops, grocery stores, and restaurants. The owners, Edith and Bill, went out of their way to make us feel at home. We were so full from the breakfast every morning that we did not need to "refill" until mid-afternoon. We stayed for three nights and were served different items every morning -- omelettes, crepes, etc. Edith's 7-fruit smoothie is something to die for! As an added touch, each plate was decorated with fresh flowers that she picked from her garden. The WiFi worked perfectly well in our room, which was spacious and clean. Bill is the quintessential "people person" and was extremely generous with his time. We learned so much about the culture and history of the island from him that we had a deeper appreciation of Rapa Nui society. The all-day guided tour is a must. Larry, the guide, is extremely knowledgeable and his love for the island was obvious, and contagious. As I said, this is a family-run B&B. And we felt we were part of the family. So sorry we had to miss Edith and Bill's granddaughter's birthday party!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your very generous comments, people like yourself make it very easy for Edith & I and our staff to look after you, because you are truly apreciative of our effort to accommodate you to the culture of the island, once again thank you.
mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just to add a little perspective to the Moscow review... While we too had noticed the screen off of our window we made little of it, as, we had kept our valuables with us when out of the room. Such precautions are needed, sadly, in today's travel world even in remote parts . I do not know the resolution by the police, as we had checked out before they arrived. With regards to the other complaints, we found the staff pleasant and helpful. Many bed and breakfasts , at least in the US, have no staff on the property in the very late hours., some not after 10pm. Breakfast was abundant, with lovely fruits, fresh bread and omelets, which is typical in the South Pacific.The dining room was nicely appointed, light and airy.Our bedroom was on the older side but was not conspicuously damp. Rapa Nui is however a tropical island, with a tropical climate. Do not be put off of this lovely hotel by the Moscow review. It was a grand place to experience the ambiance of this wonderful island. Even Donald Trump has a bad day:-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GailF6674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much, for your honest opinion of the Hotel, we know our staff do every things possible to make our guest stay on the island enjoyable. It is good advice to let people know they have to be responsible for the personal items, as we always do when we see we have a problem we try to fix it, so now we have a security on working at night which also double to support the guest if they need any assistance, we are also installing security camara, because it is a small island this information would be well knowing., so it should give our guest some peace of mind.
Thank you once again for your inform comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel looks quite nice at a first glance, but the following issues were discovered during our stay. The location of the hotel is worse compared to the competitive hotels for the same price. The breakаsts were scarce and pretty much the same every day. After 4-5pm there was no one at the hotel and its premises from the staff so getting any service and assistance was virtually impossible. In the room it was always damp and hot - no matter if you leave the window open or not. The ceiling fan did not help and plus made a terrible screeching noise. Bugs and lizards were constantly found in the room. Luckily the huge cockroaches spotted in the terrace several times did not get inside. The hairdryer was broken. There were also major problems with sanitary equipment and door locks. Wi-Fi in the room never worked. To cut the long story short the room was little suitable for comfortable living, worn out and should be rated 20-40 bucks per night as a cheap motel. To add insult to injury the same night after I consulted the hotel employee named Tina about the whereabouts of the ATM in Hanga Roa I got my wallet stolen from the room through the window (the mosquito net was broken at night by a thief). Several clues lead to this particular hotel employee, though proving anything for sure is quite hard. Anyway both Tina and hotel manager Mike were very reluctant to cooperate with me in this situation and tried to blame me on the occasion. Only a call to the owner of the hotel made them more cooperative. This disgraceful event was duly reported to the Chilean Police and I have got an appropriate protocol signed by the investigator that it was indeed theft that took place in the Tauraa Hotel. Taking into consideration all that happened I decided to relocate to another much more satisfying hotel. I recommend to avoid Tauraa Hotel as a place with serious issues, poor service and terrible value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank amk2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Iorana , In reply to your comments regarding Tauraa and there staff ,I have made several enqueries on the island including the local police , the piece paper you have fom the court, said you have register a claim for your insurance company. The 2 local police offices who inspected the seen, told us there is absolutly no sign of entry thru the window.

As there is a safe secure box in your room plus 2 bed side tables with draws in them; for your wallet is seem amazing you should leave it on the table, in from of an open window. As for the rest of your comments I will let the guest who were at the hotel at the same time you were there , to answer them in tripadvisor as you have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Taura was the perfect choice. We were warmly greeted by Tina and Miguel upon our arrival which set the tone for the trip. Every morning we had a delicious mango smoothie and a home cooked breakfast that got our day off to a perfect start. Tina and Miguel were so kind and helpful with setting up tours and just providing direction and recommendations for some favorite restaurants. The rooms were simple and cleaned daily. Forget some of the fancier and over priced options in hanga roa..,the Taura is where you want to be!! Thank you again Tina...you were the best!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etbred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Iorana, we are very grateful for your wonderful comments, Bill & I we were not on the island for your stay but, we knew Miguel & Tina would take wonderful care of you.
Mauruuru
Edith & Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We just returned from a 4 day trip to Isla de Pascua and enjoyed every minute of it. I researched all the lodging options and decided on Taura'a Hotel. Again, tripadvisor reviews were correct. This charming hotel. Located on the Main Street in town was perfect. The emails before the trip were answered by the owner Edith and her husband Bill immediately. We were greeting at the airport by Edith's brother (Edith and Bill were on holiday and her sisters and brother were managing the hotel while the owners were gone.) with leis. He gave us a tour ofnthe town, showing us where the best restaurants, banks, pharmacy's, boutiques were located. Then at the main office we were greeted with a wonderful fresh juice drink. The rooms are large, well equipped, plenty of hot water and excellent beds.
Isla de Pascua is a quiet, beach/country destination. Of course it's full of history and mystery, but the Rapa Nui are a wonderful people; kind, friendly, helpful and honest.
We were also fortunate enough to book 2 full day tours through the hotel. Our guide, an Austrialian who has lived on the island for many years and married a local woman, was great. Larry not only knows the island, the history, the Rapa Nui legions, he also provided a realistic view point on everyday life on the island. He went out of his way to provide us with the past, present and future of this enchanting island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emeraldcitytaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we are sorry we did not get to met you but we have a lots of confident of our staff to look after you, it is very important to us that you have a rapanui experience and that is why all of our staff are rapanui.The mistery of the island mean you should live with more question than answer and that is why the tours are so important to us, we are very very please that you enjoy this aspects of your stay on the island.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taura'a Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taura'a Hotel

Property: Taura'a Hotel
Address: Atamu Tekena s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taura'a Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tauraa Hotel, is locate in the center of town, run by rapanui family, we specialice in english speaking guest and also our staff speak french and spanish, the rooms are large,comfortable with private bathrooms,has a fridge,cieling fans,hair dryer,safe beach towel and coffee making facilities in rooms. Close to all amenities and just a short walking to Pea Beach and Tahai the most complete archaeological sites in town, also free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Taura'a Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauraa Hotel Hanga Roa
Taura'a Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing