We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location but....”
Review of Taura'a Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taura'a Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Were picked up and dropped off at the airport which was good and Edith is very welcoming. Breakfast is a bit basic but we were happy with what was on offer - we don't eat muchh breakfast anyway. Didn't do the tours on offer but heard from other gustes they were very good with english speaking guide.
Two points to watch which have both been identiifed by others. The car hire is expensive if you book with the hotel - try Oceanic who are just across the street. We also hasd to pay cash for the car which felt like a scam - we weren't told in advance about this. Also, the cost of the room is calculated in pesos, not dollars althoug I booked via Booking.com in dollars. The rate used is 500 pesos/dollar which is about 18% more than the rate offered in Santiago. So take enough pesos to pay in cash.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank george_bishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 446 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Breakfast is the best feature, which is excellent. The service is pretty good although you do occasionally feel like you are "only a guest" - and requests have to wait their turn. The rooms are very basic and did have a bit of a strange smell that my wife thought smelled like cats urine! If you hire a car through the hotel it's more expensive than going to a local outfitter....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. It is a basic hotel, clean, with very good breakfast. However, the rooms have a very strong mildew smell, which we believe emanates from the mattress (at least). The service was not good. We were not given any information, not even a map - I had to find my own. At breakfast, we had to sit at the same table with other couples (different each day) while the other tables remained empty. This caused discomfort since we were seated at someone's table at the middle of their breakfast. The worst of all was, however, the situation with the rental car. I had communicated several times with the owner of the hotel regarding renting a car - I just wanted info about a rental agency through which I could book the car. The hotel owner suggested they book me a car for 80 USD a day, to which I agreed. This was back in September. When we asked about the car upon our arrival, the owner told me they had not booked the car and there were no cars available, but they could give us one of their cars for 90 USD a day. We had no choice. The car had a half a tank of gas and we were asked to fill it. We filled the entire tank (hard to do otherwise at a gas station on the island which is full service). We also found out that we could have tented a car for $40 on the main street... We were not happy with the whole experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulka56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

its a place to sleep while you are on an amazing trip. almost all the hotels offer the same thing and look the same. its off the main drag so its easy to get to everything but that is probably the best part of it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nartx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms are simple, but spacious and clean. Edith and her entire staff are so friendly & helpful. They are very eager to make sure your stay and visit is everything you wanted. Their breakfast are great; fresh fruits & juice and specially cooked eggs or crepes for you. We did their guided full day tour of the island. It's a full day but great. We also rented a car for a few days directly with them. Edith is able to handle all your trips and dining. The hotel is a perfect location for walking into town for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OverNextHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent stay, rooms are simple but clean & comfortable. Great breakfasts, easy pick-up & departure apart from Lan Chile problems where Edith at the hotel was very helpful. Close to restaurants & shops. Take their Tours, especially with Larry - see separate review.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

For the money, this place is fabulous and the staff couldn't be friendlier. From picking us up at the airport in the middle of the night, when our plane was delayed, to fixing us a lovely breakfast and pointing us in the right direction to everything - we loved our stay! The location is great and you can walk to just about everything you need in town. So grateful to have a lovely choice that didn't break the bank. Great choice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalLove247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#9 of 16 in Hanga Roa
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taura'a Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taura'a Hotel

Address: Atamu Tekena s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range: $158 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taura'a Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tauraa Hotel, is locate in the center of town, run by rapanui family, we specialice in english speaking guest and also our staff speak french and spanish, the rooms are large,comfortable with private bathrooms,has a fridge,cieling fans,hair dryer,safe beach towel and coffee making facilities in rooms. Close to all amenities and just a short walking to Pea Beach and Tahai the most complete archaeological sites in town, also free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Taura'a Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauraa Hotel Hanga Roa
Taura'a Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing