We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and Local” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hare Noi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hare Noi
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh and Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hare Noi for a few days this past July, and had a fabulous time!

The staff are very welcoming, and the philosophy of the hotel is to bring people together. It is set up in 3 or 4 separate units, each of which (I assume) has a common living and dining area and kitchen, with private bedrooms (with bathrooms) going off of that. The decor is a beautiful rustic modern -- concrete floors and white walls, vaulted ceilings and whole eucalyptus trunks. The units are joined by decks and boardwalks, comfortable and funky patio furniture scattered amiably throughout. Fruit trees on the grounds provide fresh local produce, and the on-site restaurant carries on with the theme of fresh and local -- fresh-caught tuna, locally grown sweet potatoes, fish and fruits I'd never even heard of -- it was fabulous!

While we were there, the Hare Noi hosted a wine tasting of Miguel Torres (Chilean) wines. It was free to guests, the wine flowed freely, and music was provided by local musicians! It was a great way to spend an evening after a day of scrambling on volcanoes and beaches, and climbing in and out of caves.

I highly, HIGHLY recommend the Hare Noi!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    43
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
49
110
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the arrival to departure the experience was excellent - the only bug in the ointment may have been the hot coals dinner which was a bit bland. Otherwise the hotel team made an effort to make the stay as homely as possible; breakfasts bought to the patio each morning, an early breakfast for a dawn trip to see sun rise over the moai and friendliness throughout.

Room Tip: Look for the rooms higher up in the property - the hotel is spread over a large area and those rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mld1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

wow. this is a resort with rooms in homes( loving room, kitchen). we counted three separate " homes" and there appeared to be one suite all to itself on the hill. there are only nine rooms total so service is personal. privacy was never a problem. breakfast can be served at your "home" or the restaurnt few steps away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Everything about Hare Noi is outstanding! The staff, the hotel, the rooms, the individualized service...We stayed for three days and had planned to try restaurants in Hanga Roa that had been recommended to us, but ended up eating every meal at the Hare Noi restaurant because they accommodated for food allergies - and the food is REALLY GOOD. The tuna is the best we have ever eaten. Anywhere. They also organized a day tour (with a lunch basket) for us, and the guide, Mario, gave us a comprehensive insight into the Rapa Noi culture - an unforgettable memorable day.
It was a bit of a hike (30 minutes) along the main road to Hanga Roa from the hotel, so I would recommend renting bicycles or a car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GaviotaGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stay at Hare Noi for 12 days. My daughter love it. The experience we had there was amazing. Joanna is the GM. She and her team at Hare Noi, made sure to keep you happy and comfortable since the moment you arrived at the airport. Rooms at each "hare" (house) are fantastic, no matter in which hare you end up. Your service and stay will be outstanding.
I do believe, that most people will agree that hotel foods are not the best...But at Hare Noi Restaurant, FOOD ARE GREAT! my daughter and son love their bacon in the morning. Hare Noi is a Must Stay for you and family.
Rest assured, that your stay will be AWSOME and FUN.
Thanks Jo, Anita, Conni, Victor, Gonzalo, Carmen, Seba, Gigi, Carito y a todo el personal...For a Fun Time! Carmen and John had a good time.
Saludos al Cazuelo...The Hotel Pet.

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Jo, GM will make sure you are place in the right room. Specially with family of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a delightful experience at the Hare Noi...I stayed for 4 days/3 nights, and wish I could have had a longer stay. The staff are professional and friendly. They went out of their way to make me feel special.
- There are 9 rooms/casitas, each offering privacy from the others. Each room has modern amenities, built out with a cozy island feel - earthy colors, multiple balconies, and magnificent views. The exterior is build to fit into the landscape.
- The Hare Noi is also eco-friendly, using solar power to heat the water and provide some electricity.
- The team grows some of its own organic produce (the arugula is incredible), as well as offering many local specialties, such as purple sweet potatoes and miniature pineapples.
- Each day the chef expertly prepared locally-caught fish. One day, I had the pleasure of joining them for the fish cleaning at the ocean, where we had an impromptu meal of sashimi. I will never forget this once in a lifetime experience!
- The hotel offers spa treatments; I enjoyed several and would recommend this to anyone traveling to Easter Island.
- The hotel also connected me with a local guide (Mattea) who showed me the entire island, provided an excellent history of the Moai, Birdman, and other island history. He is at the top my recommendation list for Easter Island tour guides.

I have traveled all my life and have stayed in many resorts and spa hotels. This hotel experience is in my top 5, and will remain there forever. Joanna, thank you and your team for the beautiful memories. I plan to come back again...all the way from Austin Texas.

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful...choose based on the number of people in your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nigths (3 - 6 July 2013) and very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Everything is made very personal, from the moment you walk in till you leave for the airport.
Rooms are fantastic, up a little hill close to the airport. Rest assured, as there is only one flight a day, there is no noise from the airport. It is even an attraction to see the plane land or take off, knowing that this is about the only link to civilisation, far away.
We had room #5, but all rooms up the (little) hill have the same view. The first day, we sat on our terrace with the lovely welcome drink and watched the sunset over the ocean. After that, we gazed at the stars in the sky.
The restaurant is in the middle of the whole area and nicely architected. Meals are prepared to your order, in fact the chef is working right in front of you, could not be more personal. With the open fireplace on, this is a nice setting.
Every morning, a fresh breakfast - made to your order, do not forget to fill in the sheet at the restaurant - is delivered to the living area of your room, which is shared with other guests. As there were no other guests in the other room during our stay, we had the whole house for ourselves.
We really enjoyed our morning coffee talks with Joanna, who manages the hotel perfectly. Although we were well prepared, she gave a lot of extra tips on where and when to go, correct sunrise / sunset locations and timings, what restaurants to visit, local culture, etc, This made our visit even more worthwhile and personalized.
There are tours around, but we recommend renting a car and drive around yourselves. The car was delivered to the little parking area next to our room. The agency also picked up the car in the hotel, could not have been more practical and convenient.
We know there are a few other 5-star hotels on the tiny island, but the personal experience made this a perfect choice for us. As such, we can truly recommend this hotel.
Also our best regards to Joanna and the whole team for making us feel and treat as the Kings of the Island. Please keep up the good work and hopefully you now remember the Belgians as we remember you!

Room Tip: A room up the hill gives the best view on the ocean (and sunset)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvesandheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
4.1 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#6 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare Noi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare Noi

Property: Hare Noi
Address: Av. Hotu Matua S/N, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hare Noi 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hare Noi is located in one of the most exotic destinations of our country: Easter Island. Myth and reality merge in a unique landscape, in which both nature and energy of a culture like no other, give life to the most remote inhabited island in the world. Located 7 minutes from town and with a stunning view of the Rano Kau volcano, the hotel also offers a panoramic view of bay Hanga Roa o Tai and spectacular and exclusive excursions that will make guests to immerse themselves in the history of a unique place filled with ancestral traditions and customs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hare Noi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare Noi Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing