We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good guides (all of them)”

Easter Island Spirit Day Tours
Ranked #3 of 19 Tours in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island-based tour company with 12 years of experience organizing tours of this magical island. Specialists in Private tours, we offer a wide array of stunning and informative tours and hikes, tailor-made to the individual interests and wishes of each of our clients. All of our tours are timed to avoid the large groups and tour buses.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very very good guides (all of them)”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was on the Island in May, with the wet season to arrive. But there was most of the time just sun. I was surprised: by the island (sadly a had a pre booked 2,5 day schedule because of my flights: take at least four days!), the history and by the knowledge of all there guides: James, Christian and Chris. They do not only speak the local language, they love the island and if they have their own opinion about some theory, they declare it. Thanks for the tours, it was really a good time. I learned a lot und if I ever come near to the Island again (which honestly means Santiago de Chile :-)) I will probably take a second look and will also experience more leisure time there or use a rental car additionally to the tours. Thanks again to James, Christian and Chris - Cheers Michael from Germany

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    9
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“excellent tours and guides”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

i just came from easter island with a very memorable and wonderful stay...i took tours A and B with chris as the guide and tours E and F with christian as the guide. all the tours and the guides were exceptional.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wsm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Christian was superb!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Christian surprisingly turned out to be our guide for the first day of our 3-days of previously scheduled private guided tours for my wife and me. Marc Shields of Green Island Tours - with whom we had booked - was unable to handle us due to a weather-created scheduling problem, and at first we were concerned that Christian, as a substitute, would not offer the depth of knowledge or expertise as a guide that Marc's reviews had led us to expect.

Boy, were we wrong to be concerned! Christian is a serious, yet not overbearing guide, with superb knowledge and understanding of the history of the island and its archeological wonders. He is obviously deeply in love with Easter Island and its many-faceted attractions, and has amassed a great deal of information in a relatively short period of time.

Principally employed by Easter Island Spirit tours, Christian's boss is James Grant-Peterkin, the author of A Companion to Easter Island, likely the most authoritative and current source of information about the island. That Mr. Grant-Peterkin (whom we would have liked to meet but unfortunately did not) uses Christian as a member of his guide staff is enough of a testament to Christian's expertise.

Obviously we would heartily recommend this tour company, and would suggest requesting Christian as your guide.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
311 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Easter Island Spirit Tours - Exceed our expectations”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I visited Easter Island on 28-31 March 2014.

We took three tours:

Tour A – The one-day 'classic' Easter Island tour with our guide Chris. Chris is more than a guide he is an active researcher of the Easter Island sites and has met most of the recent key academic researchers. His depth of knowledge is seemingly bottomless. At first it seems too much detail, but during the day long tour all the details start to dovetail together and at a minimum impression of understanding what the Rapa Nui were attempting emerges.
Likely everyone’s favorite stop is the last, walking among the partially buried statues on the side of the hill at the moai quarry.

Tour B – This tour complements Tour A and I believe completes the circuit of Ahu – our guide was Christopher. Christopher is a most personable and engaging guide with a passion for the Rapa Nui culture. He made our stop at the Ahu Vinapu site – which he joking referred to as ‘two piles of rubble’ – very interesting and thought provoking. The most scenic stop was overlooking Rano Kau the Island’s an extinct crater. The immense size of the crater is hidden from view as you approach and when revealed as you reach the rim – a most impressive sight.

Tour F – Sunrise at Ahu Tongariki – This was a most unique experience – perhaps the best way so many generations and cultures remote from the Rapa Nui – for one to have some sense of the awe these statues could inspire. Since we were at the end of March, the sun rose just beyond Poike volcano, but not yet behind the Ahu. Such sunrise photos are a challenge for amateurs, but I noted our guide Chris took many pictures – no doubt trying for one or two ‘keepers.’


If you spend the time and resources to reach isolated Easter Island, you will certainly want the best guided tours of the sites you came so far to visit. Easter Island Spirit Tours will meet and exceed your expectations.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LostLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We arrived on an Oceania cruise ship in early January. Some weeks before we had checked with others on the cruise and Easter Island Spirit tours was recommended by several people.
We booked with James for a two day tour of the island to allow more time to see the sights.
We were in a group of 17 in a small van with Chris Pakarati as our guide. He was one of the best tour guides we have ever had - so interesting and knowledgeable about island history.
He gave captivating presentations and was very willing to answer any questions.
It is such a mysterious island with so many unknowns - and Chris explained different interpretations of the history of each place - all in a very interesting way without becoming bogged down in unnecessary detail. It was an incredibly interesting experience and I would highly recommend taking a tour with this company. I just wish we had been able to stay longer. It an experience that will stay with you for a lifetime.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hamilton44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Easter Island Spirit Day Tours also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Easter Island Spirit Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing