We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The mere fact of being in Easter island, having to absorb the enormous amount of history that is waiting around for you to grab makes your stay a bit stressful, and you want to stay in a quiet hotel there, in order to reflect on the day, read more and plan for the days ahead... For that, the Hangaroa has a bit of everything for everybody, you can spend the evening reading or watching the shows. Room was decent and roomy, with nice views ( for most them)... International or local cuisine with fine chilean wines.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sagittarius111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 535 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Came héroe for my summer vacations.
After a 5 hr flight in Business from SCL, I was not tired.
The hotel has no TV. That night for dinner there was a buffet, we thought it was open to all the public, however there was a group of "gringos" staying in the hotel, the buffet was reserved just for them (felt discriminated in my very own country)
Breakfast was the best of the hotel, the quality of breads, the taste of Omelettes was excellent, however I'd have chosen to use a better butter.
The staff at front desk at that time were 2 very cute ladies that always smiled and tried to be nice, always apologized for the crappy hotel staff.
My bed was partly comfy, think it would be better if they were equipped with box spring instead of the regular wooden beds.
Towels may have been better.
An ambience separator would be nice between the room and the "shower" area.
Never used bar service at this hotel, since it was 2-3x above the prices of the island and I was coming out of surgery.
No wifi in the rooms (terrible considering there is NOTHING to do at the hotel and/or at your room).

Room Tip: Please ask for a room near the lobby and in first line. Rooms near lobby do not have eternal walks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmarin1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in March 2013 and enjoyed the hotel very much. Our room had a great view of the water, and we enjoyed sitting out and enjoying the view every morning before breakfast. Breakfast was fine, with plenty of options; staff was prompt about coffee refills. The hotel was good about providing extra tea bags and bottled water for the room. The staff was also very helpful in setting up a horseback tour along the cliffs. We got towels for the pool without any problem, and the poolside bar was always open for refreshments. The room was great, although the light switches were a bit confusing as to what they turned on. I liked that the roofs were grass, and that the room was eco friendly with a lot of concrete which helped keep it cool.

The walk to town was about 5 minutes, so it was convenient for going out to shop and for meals.
I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwoodruff45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

enjoyed 2 nights while on a quick side trip from Santiago
Rooms are large ad well organized, service is great, food and drinks are as good as any I have had in more than 70 countries-restaurant and wine list excellent

Room Tip: suite facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was a little bit concerned by all the negative reviews that the hotel had in Tripadvisor, but we decided to take the risk. And besides, there aren´t many choices…
But we were surprised by how amazing our stay at Hangaroa Eco Village and Spa turned up to be. We were lucky to travel in rather low season, the weather was still nice, but we avoided the crowds. I think that the occupancy of the hotel was close to 20%, which translated into a very personalized service.
We were spoiled from the very first moment, when we were picked up at the airport. The staff was very attentive, always smiling and trying to make our stay the best possible experience. There were nice little details, like one rainy morning, going out to have breakfast, I noticed that there were umbrellas out of every room door. The hotel manager was always around, greeting us at least once a day and making sure everyone at the hotel was having a good time.
Our room was clean, modern and spacious, everything felt new and there was a complimentary basket filled with treats (snacks, chocolate, a couple of wine bottles) the day we arrived. The room has all the amenities of a 5 star hotel, albeit no tv in the room (we didn’t miss it). There is wi-fi in the lobby.
We chose the Premium Plan, which included all 3 meals and excursions during our stay. The day we had a day-long excursion, the staff eagerly provided us a lunch-box, towels for the beach and umbrellas just in case there was rain.
All the restaurants in the hotel are excellent, we tried every single dish and they were all outstanding. The staff was friendly and nice.
The hotel premises are beautiful, the rooms are in several one- story separate buildings, and the common areas are grouped in another building. We also tried the spa, which was a nice experience too.
The hotel is conveniently located walking distance to the main street in town, in front of the sea.
The hotel works with Mahinatur, and we were very pleased with the excursions we had. We also asked the concierge to help us get seats to a Polynesian dance show, and they got us front row tickets!
All in all, we had an outstanding stay at Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa, and we can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4everNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were treated like royalty from beginning to end. Service was exceptional at the desk, in the room, in the restaurants, on the grounds. The manager approached us whenever he saw us to make sure our needs were cared for.

The hotel is easy walking distance to the town, restaurants, shops, but we chose to take most of our meals in the hotel restaurants and were pleased with food quality and presentation.

Stunning views of the Pacific from our room. Would have liked screens on the doors so that we could have opened them. Plenty of bugs on the Island, but must confess that the one day we did leave the door to the patio open we were not bothered by animals invading us.

Terrific experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is one of the most superior hotels I have ever stayed in and I am a consumate world traveler.

The standard rooms are gigantic. We wer upgraded to the suite that are even more immense!!!

The rooms are styled after the orongo habitations with sod roofs and rounded features, and ecofriendly.... Wind power for outside lights! Gorgeous gorgeous interior rooms with features that remind one of the maoi... Extremely tastefully done.... Ocean views all over the hotel... The rooms in front are best.

The staff and manager are incredibly helpful spending much time with us. Food is superior in the dining room with very reasonable prices.

You can choose all inclusive prices or bed and breakfast. Being independent travelers, we chose bed and breakfast. Breakfast was the best of the tip all over Chili.

This is a five star hotel that also merges with the environment.

Pool area is wonderful as is the spa. The spa looks like Canyon Ranch or Miraval in the U.S... except feels like you are on the beach....

Conference center is incredible.... Set up in the round with audio visiual equipment, and surround sound in the theater that is the best.... Could have an amazing conference here for 120 people. Nobel prize scientists are arriving Monday for a nano science conference.

HIGH HIGH HIGH RECOMMEND.... THE BEST OF THE ISLAND... AND MAYBE OF ALL OF CHILE...

I am a lawyer and well traveled and have stayed in many amazing places... I would spend the extra money for this FOR SURE..... Prices are by the person.... Manager Nicholos Russ is phenemonal.

Also we arrived to an array of wine, chocolates, and other gourment treats free with the room and a free coctail daily. This all came with the bed and breakfast and then the upgrade to the suite...

Room Tip: Rooms in front are closest to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ql1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
5 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 24 in Easter Island
533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Hare Boutik
Hotel Hare Boutik
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#4 of 16 in Hanga Roa
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
314 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#9 of 16 in Hanga Roa
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa

Address: Av. Pont, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range: $460 - $935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa, the newest hotel property on Easter Island located just a 5-minute walk from the island's only town, Hanga Roa. It features 75 elegant and smartly decorated rooms, the Poerava and Kaloa restaurants, the deluxe Manavai Spa, an outdoor swimming pool and its Vaikoa bar, a reading room and excursion center, a 60-person auditorium, and a 300-person conference space for cultural seminars, dance and music presentations or corporate meetings. The Hangaroa sits high on a dramatic, steep-sloped cliff facing the Pacific Ocean, and all guestrooms boast panoramic windows and terraces with sea views. The Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa offers "B&B" rates for lodging and breakfast only, and "Premium" packages that include lodging, excursions and all meals and beverages. Each detail of the hotel's architectural design and functionality is cutting edge. Inspired by the Orongo ceremonial village and site of the island's Bird Man ritual, all of the walls are curved and topped with grass roofs. Theyfavor natural light and landscaping of local flora and fauna that allow the hotel to artfully blend into its natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangaroa Hotel Hanga Roa
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing