We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Petero Atamu
Ranked #22 of 35 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had set my expectations low as far as accommodations in Easter Island after reading many reviews. I'm glad I did because Hostal Petero Atamu, while priced more reasonably than the others I checked, is a basic place to stay. I booked a single room (which actually had two beds) for about $45/night which included a clean bathroom with running hot/cold water, daily maid service, free towels (no soap/shampoo) and a complimentary WiFi (which was very spotty). Free airport pick-up was provided along with decent breakfast. Based on those, I find the hostel is actually worth the money I paid for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dencman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 65 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stopped of at Easter Island on our round-the-world tour. We only stayed a few days and were on a budget.

Hostal Petero Atamu was a fine place to stay. Rooms were clean, staff very friendly, breakfast was OK. Wi-fi was a bit patchy and slow. Shared bathroom was OK. Only downside was a local dog that took to barking through the night.

Its a 5 minute walk into the 'centre' of Hanga Roa and the Hostal will pick you up / drop you off at the airport for your flights.

Not one of the best places we stayed, but its fine for a few days visiting this very special place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great budget place. Breakfast included - though this could be approved by far. Every day it was a slice of bread with cheese or ham and the other days bread and egg. some jam would be lovely - 7 days of egg or cheese is a bit dull. rooms get cleaned every day + fresh towels!! cleaning staff does a great job - but when it came to little questions as where to park our rental car or if we could use their washing mashine we found out that asking the senior of the house is the way to go. We asked for laundry service and were sent to town by the hostess of this hostal - and paid 11.000 pesos - the next day a japanese couple held up their laundry bag and the man of the house showed them where the washing machine was. we felt kinda cheated! We were not allowed to park the car in front of the house despite the pouring rain, but other guests who put their car there on another day were not told to move. Had to ask several times for toilet paper for the shared bathroom. still - excellent accommodatioin, very clean.

Room Tip: all double rooms with shared bathroom are very small, ensuite rooms are in a renovated wing of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliaulr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Perfect for backpackers: Nothing special and quite basic but clean rooms at fair rates and helpful staff. Only real downside is the internet connection which is really slow. But there are internet cafes nearby which offer fast and affordable connections.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived December 26th early morning. It was so welcoming to see other hotels there picking up their guests and giving them leis upon their arrival. Everyone from our plane had already left so we had someone contact the lady from our hostel and after about 3o minutes, someone from the airport was able to track her down and she came and picked us up. She then looked over her list and told us we weren't on it and we actually had to open up our email and show her that indeed we had booked with her hostel. The room was okay and the kitchen space was ample and the breakfast was good as well. The internet was very slow but it was to be expected given that it was an island. The location to town was also good. But after breakfast, there was never any staff available to ask advice or if we needed any help. The lady who ran the place said she could get us a deal on a Jeep but we were given an old Jeep for the same price as a new one - some deal. All in all, if you can find another place to stay for the same price, I would recommend doing so.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasktravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My girlfiend and I had a fabulous stay for 6 nights(which turned into 8 nights due to storm and cancelled flights) The Hostel was comfortable affordable great location and service excellent for such a great deal! $70 a room with private bathroom...($50 with shared bathroom).we had 24 hr access to the kitchen beside our room and a family room was also available...our room was cleaned and fresh towels available every morning...we also enjoyed a continental breakfast between 8.30am-10am every morning.
Free pick-up and drop off to airport was provided by Lori the owner....she even had to do an extra run as our flt cancelled due to storm...and she accomadated us for 2 extra nights with no difficulties...her English was as good as our spainish.!!...which made it easy for communication..and she gave us alot of info on different tours and info on the Island.
We would definitely recommend you to stay here... as a couple or with family....
Had a fantastic vacation
Jose and Davida

Room Tip: room is bigger if you ask for private bathroom shared bathroom smaller rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joemarine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

There aren’t very many things that went right on our stay so this will be a very negative review, pointing out many details that Hostal Petero Atamu doesn’t do very well. Firstly we arrived in the middle of the night, because our flight was 9 hours late, Our full pickup group of 6 people (3 couples) were greeted with 1 flower necklace and the other 2 couples got maps of Easter Island on the day they checked in, we didn’t. We were pissed about the flight and just wanted to go to sleep. We were assigned a room that so moldy that even a person without asthma could feel it. I was travelling with my wife, she has asthma: I went to tell the staff that the room was not good. The lady was very reluctant to change the room and told me that “Oh it’s the air in Easter Island, it’s very moist” – I kept telling her that my wife couldn’t breathe in the room. Finally she agreed to change after saying “I don’t work at this hour” – I have had better service from a dog. We changed to a room with fewer molds, but the sheets were quite moldy and we can still smell it on our clothes 2 days later in Buenos Aires. The breakfast was okay, other than the fact that our stomachs turned the next day thanks to the half-raw omelette. The family also owned some roosters which made our morning worse, waking us up before sunrise. The facilities were horrible. The shower was either burning hot or freezing cold; no way to get something in between and the bathroom was filthy. On our third (and last day), we could see the dead cockroaches from day 1 laying on the bathroom floor. Also, our room was not cleaned even once during our stay. When we arrived we were given 2 towels, but when we were going to take a shower, we noticed that there was someone else’s blood and hair on the towel. The shower curtain was very moldy aswell. The hostel promises a balcony, which we didn’t have, It promises airport shuttle (to and from the airport) – When our flight left in the morning at 7:55, we didn’t get breakfast nor airport dropoff; On top of that we were forced to check-out on the previous day as the lady simply said “I’ll be sleeping when you leave”.
This might seem like a harsh review, but read all of the above and think twice before even considering spending your 50 USD on a moldy time without service. I beg of you, use your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hostel, we saw 2 and both were bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julius_O_O_Julius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hotu Matua
Hotel Hotu Matua
#14 of 16 in Hanga Roa
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residencial y Cabanas Omeke
Residencial y Cabanas Omeke
#28 of 35 in Hanga Roa
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Peretei
Cabanas Peretei
#31 of 62 in Hanga Roa
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Petero Atamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Petero Atamu

Address: Petero Atamu | Isla de Pascua, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range: $59 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Petero Atamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Petero Atamu Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing