We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, quiet place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Honu Nui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honu Nui
Piastów
1 review
“Great views, quiet place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very nice and helpful owner, clean comfortable room, clean bathroom, equipped kitchen. Quite far from the center of Hanga Roa but near museum and the coast. Great views from the terrace, very quiet place. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bartek73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Highly recommended. Excellent location. 5-10 mins walk to the beach. Quiet in a residential area. We were a party of 5 in the 2-bedroom unit. Very basic furnishing. Bathrooms are on the small side. Owner is very helpful and accommodating. On the same site, there are 2 spacious studios which appear to be recently renovated with updated furnishings.

The owner and wife are very nice people.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WhyNotNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spend 15 days at Honu Nui and loved every minute of it.
We stayed in a cottage that had 3 single beds in an open plan room (there are an additional 2 cottages on the property). The kitchen has a gas stove and oven with a fridge freezer (but no microwave). The separate bathroom has a shower, toilet and basin. The cottage is pretty basic but has everything you need and is clean and tidy. There is a communal washing machine and outdoor drying line. The house was cleaned every 4 days with new sheets and towels.
It takes about ½ hour to walk to the centre and you have the option of walking along the coast past several Moai or on the higher roads with the hope of catching a taxi which costs 2000 Pesos.
Miguel could teach most other guest house and resort owners about customer service. He is extremely attentive but doesn’t invade your privacy at all. He is an enormously generous host with a great smile and sense of humour. He has good knowledge of the island and will help you make bookings and kindly took us to and from the centre on many occasions.
On Christmas day Miguel and his wife brought my 9 year old a present, as well as a Christmas cake and a bottle of champagne! We sat and chatted for hours – in broken English and even more broken Spanish.
There is no internet connection at the cottage but we used several internet cafes in the centre and it wasn’t an issue for us.
Overall the setting is great – close enough to the centre if you want to eat out, far enough out to feel private and peaceful. Miguel is so happy and helpful and really makes your stay an absolute pleasure. Honu Nui is a simple place that gives you great pleasure. I would love to stay again!
Thank you Miguel. You are the best host.

Room Tip: There are 2 open plan cottages and 1 2 bedroom cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TouchLightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is an excellent property. Very comfortable, quiet and with great views of the ocean. Walking distance to the coast and museum. Highly recommended. Its owner, Miguel made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. He was extremely helpful in making arrangements to visit different parts of the island, and making sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexAP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our family stayed for 10 nights at the peaceful location of Cabanas Honu Nui in Easter Island and were so happy during our entire stay. There were five us so, so it was important to find a place that was affordable, so we could cook and also have nice outdoor access. Restaurants on the island are very expensive, so having a good kitchen was important to us.
The house is located out of town on a bluff overlooking the sea. It is a large lot with lots of space for the kids to run. It is a five minute walk down to the ocean where you can see the first of the moais that will lead you into town. It is about a 25 minute walk into town, but a peaceful meandering beautiful walk past moais and the beautiful little town cemetery. The house is also less than five minute walk to the museum.
The very first day, Miguel took us to several stores to help us get to know the town and to stock up for the coming week and drove us around town to help us find various things, like ATMs, etc. He was an amazing host. He checked on us daily and brought sweet mangos for us to eat and juice. Whenever he saw us in town, he would stop and offer us a ride or make calls for us if needed.
As far as transportation, we rented a car for three days and were able to see all the tourist sites on the island. We also love to hike and from our cabin, took a hike which was approximately 20 km from the house along the shore to the gorgeous Anakena Beach. We were able to catch a taxi from the beach back into town for about $12 USD. However, Miguel said he would have come to pick us up if we had asked. He was so kind and so accommodating and so was his sweet wife Claudia.
Transport to and from the airport was also included.
We stayed in the two bedroom house which was large and comfortable and there are also two other cabins that are triples with a kitchen and large bathroom.
One tip is that it is helpful to brush up on your Spanish before coming to Easter Island. Knowing the Spanish that we did, made our trip that much more enjoyable.
This is a great place to stay, to take time and relax on the deck, enjoy the sunrises and sunsets and the birds. It is a very quiet and relaxing place.
Their website is www.honunuiisladepascua.com

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tannerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.0 mi away
Mana Nui Inn
Mana Nui Inn
#12 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
0.0 mi away
Manureva Nui Eco Lodge
Manureva Nui Eco Lodge
#12 of 47 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Te Pito Kura
Cabanas Te Pito Kura
#16 of 47 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Vaiora
Cabanas Vaiora
#34 of 84 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Rapa Nui Orito
Cabanas Rapa Nui Orito
#12 of 84 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honu Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu Nui

Property: Honu Nui
Address: Tahai s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2700000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a large site of two ocean view cabins and a house. Equipped for a pleasant stay in Easter Island, Chile.The house is equipped for max. of 5 persons. It offers en suite double room with private bathroom, room, second bathroom, kitchen (with oven, fridge), living room, TV, DVD player, telephone, ceiling fans, outdoor tables, barbecue place.Both cabins have a spacious, fully equipped kitchen (fridge, oven) utensils, dining room, tv, large private bathroom.They have bedding and towels.All are in a great ocean view garden, a large courtyard where children can play without major concerns with the family and enjoy the beautiful scenery by day and a wonderful starry night sky.Steps away from the coast and moai Tahai, near the Museum and just five minutes from downtown by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honu Nui Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing