We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at Kahina!!!!”
Review of Kahina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kahina Lodge
Ranked #7 of 34 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2013

They sell it as a hotel, but it's not even a Hostel. In fact Kahina is a two rooms only built at a family's place. They claim to be a family place but they are not. The site http://www.kahinalodge.com/en/ do not translate the bad infrastructure I found there, as much as the unpolitness treatment we receved from Wallis the owner's husband and the tatoo man called Wallis http://www.wallismaoritattoo.com/. He was very very rude with me and my friends, because we did not washed the dishes we used... but we were never told we needed to wash dishes, and if he had asked politly we would have done it. But after that things just got worse, he kept being fully unpolite and made my week a nightmare. I honestly got really afraid because he seems to be a very violent man, he is not someone you should make a tattoo at all.

Besides that, the place is not clean, and I felt myself trapped the whole week. Like I paid for something and received another.

Simply is not a place to go at all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lzotini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABBYHangaRoa, Propietario at Kahina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

I just want to add some missing information to this post. I'm the owner and for healthy reasons i wasn't at the hostel when this happen.
The name of my place is KAHINA LODGE so i never sold it as a Hotel.(As shown in tripadvisor) the agency that sell the Lodge add on our description..."if you want to get the courtesy transfer contact the hotel".. but i already ask them to delete this because some people may think we are a Hotel.
Even with two rooms we are a Lodge or Hostel if you prefer, we are family size and i think that's what people like,if you read the old comments on tripadvisor ,they like to feel like they are at home with us .
I don't understand why did you find bad structure.We have two big rooms, with big bathroom,bathtube, towels, a large room where you can have breakfast, wi-fi,and a lot of information about the island,and the kitchen.And since two months we have a housekeeping,so everything here is clean.
If you find bugs is normal we are on an island not in the city,even the luxurious hotel here have bugs.
And for the dishes, in every hostel you must wash your dishes except for the breakfast, we serve it and wash it but for the rest we always told you when you arrived that if you use anything you must keept it clean.
And about my husband he told you politely the second day to wash your glasses after he washed them,the third day he ask you to wash your plates glasses and forks but you didn't and is at the third time that you answer unpolitely to him and to our housekeeper,so i don't understand why he was unpolite towards you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

A nice place where to stay ( quite one week there). Simplicity and friendship . Impression to be part of the family. The plce is quiet and well located on the main street but without the noise.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 602rodriguezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank 325marciar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La habitación económica es mucho peor que las otras
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fotografiandoviajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank machacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 16 in Hanga Roa
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
0.2 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahina Lodge

Address: Atamu Tekena S/N, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 3220000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range: $73 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kahina Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're happy to welcome you to the most amazing place on earth: Rapa Nui ! We have a very nice and cosy guesthouse on the main street sourrounded by a beautyful tropical garden -3 rooms(max 2 persons and kids under 4) - All rooms have private bathroom with hot water - All reservation includes the possibility to use the shared kitchen, washing machine shared TV salon - Free transfers included just let us know your flight number, and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Kahina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahina Lodge Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing