We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tabla mista al pil pil”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Kaleta

La Kaleta
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Polynesian, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“tabla mista al pil pil”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

one of the best place to have a dinner at about 19:45 Pm , have a pisco with not so much sugar , talk, think about the impermanence of the happiness , wait up do 20:30 ask for a tabla mista pil pil , with a chilean sauvignon blanc from casablanca terroir or a chilean brut sparkling wine , together with your girl friend and waiting for the sun set

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashoka s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    215
    60
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tasty treat beside the surf”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

La Kaleta's position alone makes it worth a visit. Add good food and friendly, helpful service and it scores high. We had intended to have our first Easter Island evening meal here only to find that it is closed on a Friday. We returned with some reserve for a Saturday lunch. Not overly hungry we asked for just one of their hot mixed meals and two forks! This just wasn't a problem.
Tasty portions of chicken, white tuna, and shrimp in garlic came with a cheese sauce in a portion which was just right for our needs. Some homemade rolls with a fish sauce were very more-ish. Coffee was all right but we never did manage a great coffee during our stay. Crepes came with ice cream and a pureed guava sauce.
But the real magic was to sit at our table at the edge of the port watching the sun shining on breakers that drew more and more surfers. Pretty idyllic.

Helpful?
Thank Retiredtraveller0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unique menu, service in seaside setting”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was curious about this place, it being the last restaurant on the short promenade in Hanga Roa. The menu is on a chalkboard & included very ingenious items like fish ravioli, which was excellent. The young boy waiter at lunch was excellent, so informative and friendly and welcoming as soon as I came in the doorway. The setting is literally right on & above the water's edge which was so clear you could see to the bottom. The view of the ships, the wine, service and food made it a very charming place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinigloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food on Rapa Nui”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent a pleasant 3 1/2 days on Rapa Nui. One of the pleasant surprises was this excellent restaurant. Right on the water it is an excellent place to dine. The views are terrific, service prompt and friendly. Food choice was excellent and we really liked the shrimp curry and the octopus carpacio. The Pisco Sours were refreshing. We ate lunch there twice and highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fish with pineapple cream sauce, who knew?”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Marc of Green Island Tours, took me here for lunch during our tour of the island. We had a great lunch. We both chose a grilled fish dish, mine with pineapple cream sauce, his with mango cream sauce. We both really enjoyed our lunch. The view and sea side open air seating only enhanced the experience. I can highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonetone2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Kaleta also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Easter Island, Chile
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to La Kaleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing